Keager's Quad RE XXX 18 Underfloor IB Build - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 341 Old 06-15-2012, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjaudio View Post

For running a dedicated line the price depends on how easy or difficult it is to get from the panel to the proposed plug. In my last house it was easy and only cost $170 for a dedicated 30amp line but in my new house the run is much more difficult so it will be double that.

Yeah, lots of cutting is going to have to be done. It's not going to be an easy task by any means. From what my "second opinion" told me, a increasing the amperage would mean I need a thicker gauge electrical wire running from the panel to the outlet.

Makes me wish we bought the house with an unfinished basement.

I am kinda of on the fence about it though, because the same guy that quoted me $425 to run the line also was wanting to charge me $135 to change out my kitchen faucet. I took 20minutes today and replaced it myself. Seriously... WTF...

 

popalock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 341 Old 06-15-2012, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Got a electrician to wire my 220. havent put in new amp yet. got the manifold marginally installed, still has gaping holes and needs more bracing. I got it turned on. UN-Believable. This is the first these drivers have been used. they arent even broke in. Just crazy. More later....
keager is offline  
post #183 of 341 Old 06-16-2012, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Here is where I'm at. Manifold is slightly tweaked, but solid. I'm going under the house again to add more straps and to put some kind of support under the magnets. Incredible sound so far. might install my 220v 10000q in the closet today.
C360_2012-06-16-06-33-19.jpg
keager is offline  
post #184 of 341 Old 06-16-2012, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Unboxed the 10000q 220v. triple boxed in perfect condition. plugged it into the new 220v outlet in the closet and comes on. Fans are loud but cannot be heard at all outside of the closet. It came with a monster power cord and a hospital grade 120v style plug. I replaced the plug with a 220v plug. Back to the IB. I don't know how to describe the sound....It's so smooth and effortless and seems more natural. Hard to describe. At the same time it is sooo loud and the whole floor vibrates. Very cool sensation. I wonder how my black widows are enjoying the sound under the house....I think they should take the subtle hint to get out. Anyway, heres a few pics of unboxing etc.
C360_2012-06-16-09-10-44.jpg
C360_2012-06-16-09-10-56.jpg
C360_2012-06-16-09-13-41.jpg
C360_2012-06-16-09-22-14.jpg
C360_2012-06-16-09-35-41.jpg
keager is offline  
post #185 of 341 Old 06-16-2012, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 469
This thread keeps getting better and better. Sounds like you should be complete in no time.

 

popalock is offline  
post #186 of 341 Old 06-16-2012, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I will at least be done with the first manifold and have new amp and mini dsp put in. Might get started building second manifold.
keager is offline  
post #187 of 341 Old 06-17-2012, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I hooked up my mini dsp and used a 1500mah 12v dc power supply. I have it wired to stay on all the time. Is that bad? I have blown the little 1a fuse on the mini dsp twice. Not sure why. It is temporarily sitting on a piece of cardboeard so the bottom of the board doesnt short out. Anybody else have ideas? It is an 8x8. Seemed to work ok yesterday for hours, then when I woke up this a.m., the fuse was blown.
keager is offline  
post #188 of 341 Old 06-17-2012, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I also plugged in my 220v 10000q amp to the new outlet. Not hooked up to a source or speakers and it fires up ok, but every couple minutes or so, a relay clicks, the red light flash very briefly and the fans kick on high for just a second. I emailed Johnson and hope to hear back soon as to if that is normal. I couldn't hook it up to the subs because it uses ONLY speakon terminals for outputs, not binding posts like the 14000. Of course nobody stocks speakons locally. Much of he weekend was spent dealing with "issues" like these. Booooo
keager is offline  
post #189 of 341 Old 06-17-2012, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

I also plugged in my 220v 10000q amp to the new outlet. Not hooked up to a source or speakers and it fires up ok, but every couple minutes or so, a relay clicks, the red light flash very briefly and the fans kick on high for just a second. I emailed Johnson and hope to hear back soon as to if that is normal. I couldn't hook it up to the subs because it uses ONLY speakon terminals for outputs, not binding posts like the 14000. Of course nobody stocks speakons locally. Much of he weekend was spent dealing with "issues" like these. Booooo

Dude, that sucks... One of us should have given you a heads up on the speakon issue.

 

popalock is offline  
post #190 of 341 Old 06-17-2012, 04:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It's all good. I kinda want to hear back from Sanway about what the new amp is doing first. I needed an excuse to order a few other odds and ends from PE.
keager is offline  
post #191 of 341 Old 06-17-2012, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Wow, these drivers seem almost bottomless. Watching the excursion ona bass mechanic album and just when I think its near its max,, a super low note(no hp filter yet) hits and the cone moves another half inch! No aweful sounds, Just alot of air coming out of that hole. It shakes the floor so much that I couldn't take a picture due to vibration. Hope to take measurements soon,
keager is offline  
post #192 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

Wow, these drivers seem almost bottomless. Watching the excursion ona bass mechanic album and just when I think its near its max,, a super low note(no hp filter yet) hits and the cone moves another half inch! No aweful sounds, Just alot of air coming out of that hole. It shakes the floor so much that I couldn't take a picture due to vibration. Hope to take measurements soon,

Isn't that just with one manifold up and running?

Did you mention what you were using to push them currently while you were working out the issues with your 10000Q?

I'm assuming your old FP14K, correct?

 

popalock is offline  
post #193 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 05:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, yes, and yes. Can't imagine it with the second manifold
keager is offline  
post #194 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

Yes, yes, and yes. Can't imagine it with the second manifold

Awesome! Once you get your 10000Q issues resolved, I think you should do some A/B testing with both amps before you let your FP14K go. You got me wondering if it might it be worth getting another 14K if you can see a noticeable benefit from the extra head room when do the comparison testing. Let's hope the 10000Q rocks just as hard for you though. It would suck to make that purchase and upgrade to 220V all for not.

Sounds like you are going to be thrilled with the end result regardless though, especially because you've only heard half of what your new setup is capable of. Exciting stuff man…

 

popalock is offline  
post #195 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 6,832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 507
running the one pair you have going on your single fp14k, how far are you pushing the amp so far? They take the full power of the amp and laugh for more in my sealed orientation, interested on levels of power consumption differences in IB setup such as yours smile.gif

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #196 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well right now there is no hpf and the amp is on a 15a shared circuit with tv, amp for mains, living room etc. Surprisingly i have not blown a breaker. Probably because i have only briefly run test tones. The amp now has the gain at about 1/3. In winisd, with 1200watts each, and no hpf, they will reach xmax. My plan is with the new amp, use a 10hz hpf, and they will barely reach xmax at 2100w. Which is the 10000q maximum 4 ohm rating per channel. It of course has its own 220v 20a circuit. I want to try it, but just seems sierd that the amp flashes lights and fans kick on high radomly with no source or speakers hooked up. Johnson said that was normal for startup, but i dont think he understood that it does it every minute or so when already on. Kind of annoying. I hope he can help. I really need to make a video of the excursion and the resulting violent house shaking.
keager is offline  
post #197 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just stopped by my house for lunch thought, what the hell, and tried plugging in the 220v amp and let it run. It made a very small arc when plugging it in, flipped the switch, the clip lights came on, no fans. Immediately flipped the switch off, then on, and everything came on as normal. It has been running for fifteen minutes perfectly. Hmm. Really wish I had some speak-ons to try it out. Why is Ohio so damn far from Oregon??!! It is a good sign that its not doing the wierd fan-light thing though. Very strange.
keager is offline  
post #198 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

Well right now there is no hpf and the amp is on a 15a shared circuit with tv, amp for mains, living room etc. Surprisingly i have not blown a breaker. Probably because i have only briefly run test tones. The amp now has the gain at about 1/3. In winisd, with 1200watts each, and no hpf, they will reach xmax. My plan is with the new amp, use a 10hz hpf, and they will barely reach xmax at 2100w. Which is the 10000q maximum 4 ohm rating per channel. It of course has its own 220v 20a circuit. I want to try it, but just seems sierd that the amp flashes lights and fans kick on high radomly with no source or speakers hooked up. Johnson said that was normal for startup, but i dont think he understood that it does it every minute or so when already on. Kind of annoying. I hope he can help. I really need to make a video of the excursion and the resulting violent house shaking.


are u sure b/c when i put rexxx into winisd i get 54mm @ 400watts even in a 10x10x10 space it only takes 400watts. i would be very afraid putting them on such high power amps in a ib setup. and then lets say u use some eq mini dsp or audyssey to make it flat to 15hz now u are only able to put in 150 watts before xmax assuming u have no room gain .
cookieattk is online now  
post #199 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookieattk View Post

are u sure b/c when i put rexxx into winisd i get 54mm @ 400watts even in a 10x10x10 space it only takes 400watts. i would be very afraid putting them on such high power amps in a ib setup. and then lets say u use some eq mini dsp or audyssey to make it flat to 15hz now u are only able to put in 150 watts before xmax assuming u have no room gain .

Ill look at it again tonight. I went with 3000 cu ft. I could have made a mistake though. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
keager is offline  
post #200 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 5,069
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 181
I really wouldn't bother with a HPF. Your electronics chain will provide plenty of one below 10Hz already. You probably have almost 12dB an octave just from your electronics. The excursion area to worry about is between 10-20Hz, not below 10Hz. Right at about 1000w will put you near xmax at 10Hz in free air. Don't forget inductance effects, that the suspension tightens up and the BL drops off some by that point as well. All of these will reduce the linearity at the limits some which means more input power is needed real world than winisd tells you.
Ricci is online now  
post #201 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Here are 4 of the RE Audio XXX18 drivers in an IB with 4000 watts total:
"348
desertdome is offline  
post #202 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

Ill look at it again tonight. I went with 3000 cu ft. I could have made a mistake though. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

also take into count that u should only be using 40mm

http://www.data-bass.com/data?page=driver&id=6
cookieattk is online now  
post #203 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well I guess it never hurts to have more amp than needed. I'm sure I will know it when they get to there limit. I had to run a new dedicated circuit anyway, why not 220 and a new amp?! Lol
keager is offline  
post #204 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
If i decide im wasting too much amp, i could sell it and use the xls 5000 i have kickin around here.
keager is offline  
post #205 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 03:28 PM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Surely a pro audio operation in your area can hook you up w/Speak-ons

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is online now  
post #206 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 03:51 PM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by keager View Post

I just stopped by my house for lunch thought, what the hell, and tried plugging in the 220v amp and let it run. It made a very small arc when plugging it in, flipped the switch, the clip lights came on, no fans. Immediately flipped the switch off, then on, and everything came on as normal. It has been running for fifteen minutes perfectly. Hmm. Really wish I had some speak-ons to try it out. Why is Ohio so damn far from Oregon??!! It is a good sign that its not doing the wierd fan-light thing though. Very strange.

So I'm curious how much of an arc,...and the amp mains switch was off?

The fan and lights behavior would be really disconcerting. The feed voltage and amplifier voltage are cool right? It came with a 120v/20a cord cap, right?

These amps represent killer power/$ ratio,... but I'm curious as to if they run 'em in,...their QC in general, or if they're even checked at all. I don't know much about QC, but as with most items such as these, issues crop up early, or not for a long time. So if they run 'em in, they head off many of these issues prior to leaving China.

Still enjoying your updates, I hope you sort all this out,....btw, Dude wink.gif , a couple months ago I pointed out the extra-ordinary amount of power,... just sayin'. But, all said Josh pointed out some important points,...good stuff. So few individuals around these parts have much experience with these drivers. So it's very nice that Josh, one of our most technically adept, driver measuring members,... has spent a good bit of time with them,...exploring their limits, etc.

Best of luck

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is online now  
post #207 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I would not have seen the arc if it werent very dark in the closet. Nothing hooked up but power cord. The cord is huge and did come with a hospital grade 120v 20a plug. I replaced it with a 220v 20a plug.
keager is offline  
post #208 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 3,203
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOH View Post

Surely a pro audio operation in your area can hook you up w/Speak-ons

Whoa yeah, good thinking. Have you tried your local Guitar Center? Seems like they have almost everything I always need.

 

popalock is offline  
post #209 of 341 Old 06-18-2012, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
keager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post

Whoa yeah, good thinking. Have you tried your local Guitar Center? Seems like they have almost everything I always need.
I am in central oregon. The closest place would be a couple hours away. Probably wont have time to mess with it until the weekend anyway. Good thought though...
keager is offline  
post #210 of 341 Old 06-20-2012, 09:54 AM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Guitar Center would work, but G C and "local pro audio operator" aren't necessarily the same thing. Oftentimes a pro audio/sound &light shop sells over the counter,...they'd hook you up. Plus, establishing a decent rapport with an outfit such as that, would be a good alliance to form.

Best of luck
Kevin

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off