assembling an Erich subwoofer flat pack - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 17 Old 07-29-2012, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Im a newbie when it comes to doing wood work stuff. First question, is PL premium a substitute for wood glue? or do i use wood glue and then use PL premium as a caulk and use it to seal places where wood meets and could possibly leak air to the outside of the enclosure?

Want to measure your subwoofers? check out my dummies guide for a step by step process to Room EQ wizard
http://polaraudio.blogspot.com/2012/01/calibration.html
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 07-29-2012, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 133
The way these kits are made I think you need only wood glue for an air tight seal.

I use only wood glue (Titebond original), I don't care for polyurethane glues and the mess that comes with them but they should work as well.

Erich says you can put these together without clamps, just some tape across the joints, I would not recommend that when using PL premium or other polyuethane glues as they expand when curing and tape just won't cut it, so make sure you use clamps.
post #3 of 17 Old 07-29-2012, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

This is the 3.5 cu ft and i think im going to use clamps even if i only use wood glue, i did a test fit and im trying to figure out in what order im going to glue it together, probably back+side+top+bottom

Then maybe the bracing... then the other side, then the front last.

The bracing tends to get "skewed" and fit in not so well, so maybe ill drop the bracing in as a second-to-last-step. Not sure yet. I want to detail my experience so other people like me dont have to have the potential to screw it up when putting it together

Want to measure your subwoofers? check out my dummies guide for a step by step process to Room EQ wizard
post #4 of 17 Old 07-29-2012, 07:17 PM