How to put braces into a subwoofer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2012, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
WagBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So I have most of my subwoofer box completed for my TC sounds lms-R 15"

I was wondering how I should brace my box. I have seen some cool braces with tons of holes cut in them, but I do not have a tool to cut holes easily. What are some other ways I can brace my sub? I attached pictures of it below.


WagBoss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2012, 09:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Your box is already baffled, as the baffle is the panel that the driver mounts on.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
Old 08-02-2012, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Unless maybe you meant ports? Or bracing?
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
Old 08-02-2012, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I think you mean bracing smile.gif

Check the image on this link, it does not need to be circle, any shape that you can cut to allow air to move freely is acceptable.

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_12_3/triad-gold-subwoofer-8-2005-part-1.html

"Baffle" if I am not mistaken is also used to describe a device or panel to direct flow of a substance such as water or for loudspeakers, the panels in a horn loaded enclosure
qguy is online now  
Old 08-03-2012, 06:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by qguy View Post

I think you mean bracing smile.gif
Check the image on this link, it does not need to be circle, any shape that you can cut to allow air to move freely is acceptable.
http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_12_3/triad-gold-subwoofer-8-2005-part-1.html
The scheme shown there gives the least effect using the most material, as most of the bracing is in the corners, where bracing is not required. This scheme gives the greatest effect with the least amount of material:
bracing.jpg

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
WagBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
sorry I meant bracing.
WagBoss is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
WagBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

The scheme shown there gives the least effect using the most material, as most of the bracing is in the corners, where bracing is not required. This scheme gives the greatest effect with the least amount of material:
bracing.jpg

Cool, thanks!

Would it be ok to use pieces of MDF for this application, or should I go out and buy a certain type of wood pole for it?
WagBoss is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 07:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by WagBoss View Post

Cool, thanks!
Would it be ok to use pieces of MDF for this application, or should I go out and buy a certain type of wood pole for it?
You can use just about anything. Dowels give the maximum strength to weight ratio, but that's not a concern with a cab that's not portable.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
dftkell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

You can use just about anything. Dowels give the maximum strength to weight ratio, but that's not a concern with a cab that's not portable.

Bill,
What's the best way to build a sub with dowels for bracing? Do you glue down the dowels to individual walls and then assemble the whole thing and glue it up? Or do you glue together most of the box first and then squeeze in the dowels?
Thanks,
Dan

Little Loft Home Theater
dftkell is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 10:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Assemble the box, drill 1/16 inch deep receiving holes, snap the dowels into place, no fasteners required, just adhesive. If the box is small determine the hole locations and drill them before assembly.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
Old 08-03-2012, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 2,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I used the OCD stick overload method.

Only because I already had a pile of wood cut and milled square.

High Desert Theater - work in progress
Building Bass - Subs

Surrounds - Easy as Pi

Storage - unRAID unDELL

petew is online now  
Old 08-03-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
WagBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Do you guys have a recommendation for cutting the braces? Should they be cut a little larger then the box so they push on it? Or a little shorter and fill the void with glue?
WagBoss is offline  
Old 08-05-2012, 04:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,852
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
nobody replied to you? cut them to fit. if you follow bfm's advice above, you can make them a hair small and use an expanding glue such as pl premium.

making them too large may mess up your cabs geometry and will put excess stress on the seams.

wood bends, so if you are off by a hair don't sweat it, just glue and clamp it. :-)

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
Old 08-12-2012, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Subjga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You look like you got into the same situation I was in.

You have to cut to size so they slide in tighly, and glue into place.

What I did was cut slightly larger (a few mm) and sand by hand until I got the tight fit.
Subjga is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off