DIY Sub time...need help with driver selection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 08-15-2012, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Right now I have a Klipsch KSW-15 sub that I've been using since around 2002 and It's been decent so far, but I'm ready for something new and thinking about the DIY route. Ultimately I'd like to stay in the 15" range at around $200 or less per sub. I've looked at the Dayton HO in a small sealed, but I just don't know what else is out there! Ideally I'd like to stay on the smaller side of the enclosure and would like something sealed or ported as long as it's not huge.

So what suggestions do you have for a driver under $200? Do you think I would see a nice improvement with something like the HO driver versus the KSW?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-15-2012, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
small size and loud = lots of power

If you want the smallest enclosure I'd make it somewhere between 2.5-3.5cft and feed it 500w's of power. Should get down to 20hz before it starts dropping off. Roughly a 21" cube externally.
If you want more output then I'd go ported in the 5cft range with 300w of power and tuned to the low 20's but not sure of the exact port length/size.

With either of those subs you'll see a big difference in that Klipsch sub, especially in sound quality. The biggest reward will be in building it yourself. Sealed is definitely the easiest way to go for a first build.
Old 08-15-2012, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter