AVS Forum banner

Modeling help please. SP4 18" and SSD 18"

2K views 28 replies 7 participants last post by  filtor1 
#1 ·
I am in the planning phases of adding some low end to my existing HT. I have tried to work with WinISD but have never been successful. I am very interested in building a single dual opposed build using one of these drivers. I know they are different but am curious how this translates into a model with different power. If anyone would be willing to help me, I would be grateful.

A little background:

My current equipment;

Yamaha RX-V2400, PS3 for BR playback, Direct TV HD/DVR

(L&R) Cerwin Vega VS120 (C) Boston CR85 (Rear L&R) JBL8330 guts in cabs I built, (Sub) 1-Dayton Audio Titanic 15" kit with the provided 1K plate amp.

My Cerwin's I bought new in 94' when I graduated HS. I have 5 Boston CR85's I bought in 02' and all but the one I use for my center are in my closet. Since adding the 8330's I realized how inefficient they were. I also think they lack some level of dynamics, thus I went to the CV VS120's to help with my front stage. It is better, but I am killing the center trying to keep up. My long term plan is to replace the L,C,R's with either 4pi or a SEOS variant. I am waiting specifically for the SEOS 12 or 15 to be mated with the JBL 2226H before making that decision. So I decided to work on what I can until then.

Which brings me to my above call for help and potential ideas for my build. The SSD's have been used as a go to budget HT driver for a while and are readily available. I could potentially power 4 drivers in this case instead of only 2 of the SP4's. My ultimate goal here is to end up with a pair of dual opposed 18"s. The initial build will be for a single dual opposed cab as that is all I can justify at the moment.