winISD Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 11-21-2012, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am inputting the Dayton RSS390HF-15 information and when I go to save it has a consistency problem with Qtes, Qms, Qes. Their information in those fields is what is spec'd in from Dayton. Let me know what i am doing wrong here as i am looking to do variations for a ported enclosure. thanks.
Bstloukal1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 11-21-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
enter qes, hit tab, enter qms, hit tab, delete out qts, hit tab and let winisd calculate it.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #3 of 19 Old 11-21-2012, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
GRBoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is always better to enter the raw driver parameters. I use Paul's site RedSpadeAudio as a reference.
GRBoomer is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 11-21-2012, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 250

Do not erase auto calculated parameters, they will be blue in color. 

Mrkazador is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 01:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
if you are looking to enter the full set, there are many approaches that work. this is what i do:

make sure all fields are clear, then
enter qes then hit tab, enter qms
hit tab a couple times and let it calculate qts
hit tab a few times to move to mms
enter mms, re, bl, le, sd, xmax, and pe
by using tab after entering each data, it will calculate what it needs to
i no longer get any conflicts
sometimes the specs calculated don't match exactly the manufacturer specs, but its only rounding type errors, so it is not material

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #6 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 04:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah that worked great. Thanks. So here is what I come up with on size 26..81" box cubes. With 2 x 3" ports tuned to about 16hz. Let me know what everyone thinks about this setup. Also I am told the Dayton Spa1000 has a subsonic filter which should help minimize any driver issues. Let me know if that will help as a high pass filter thanks
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
"here is what I come up with on size 26..81" box cubes."

?

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #8 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What meant is that the box size is 26 13/16 cubed. Has 2 x3" x13 1/4" ports. This should tune to around 16hz. Let me know if everyone thinks this models good. Thanks
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 10:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
with 300 watts and flared ports, you should be ok.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #10 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the 300 watt will produce the output I would be hallow to go that route. A little cost saving there also.
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 250

Take a look at cone excursion, you should keep it around xmax which is 14mm for that driver. Another thing to watch out for is air velocity, Winisd recommends 17 m/s but with flares I think you can go higher.

I suggest keeping the external dimensions simple like 26x26x26", not 25 13/16 x 25 1/4 x 26 15/16 or something weird like that. tongue.gif

Mrkazador is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Love the idea if I can go with less power and worry about over excursion I am very happy.
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 01:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
with 500 watts, you pick up about 2db and would benefit by going to larger ports.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #14 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I go with the 500w. With 26" cubed box. What size ports flared (2). Would be recommended. Looking for diameter and length to have it tuned to at least 16hz. LTD02. You the man. I appreciate the help as I plan on picking up and cutting wood this weekend. I will of course posts pics as progress is made. Let me know
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or from your experience would 14Hz be a better idea. If so what ports
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 03:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
if you can find two 3.5" diameter tubes, 23" long works fine.

no need to tune very low, the plate amp likely has some sort of high pass filter around 20hz or so.

another option is two 4" diamter tubes, 23" long for an 18hz tune.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #17 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the advantages to going to a larger diameter port? Honestly I hinestly know nothing about what advantages or disadvantages it brings. I have zero education on this subject. If 4" would generate less of a distorion and cleaner sounding port that is the way I would go. My reasoning may be dumb as like I said I'm not educated on this at all
Bstloukal1 is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 03:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 912
larger ports reduce air speed which reduces turbulence which reduces what folks commonly call "port chuffing".

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #19 of 19 Old 11-22-2012, 03:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bstloukal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: chicago suburbs
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is the way I will go 2x4" ports
Bstloukal1 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off