lost on where to start on building a sub based for music - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 89 Old 12-04-2012, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dbldare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Broomfield, CO USA
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Prof,

Take a look at this thread. It should help you out with your build. Notice the double baffle on the front of the box. Not a bad idea. You essentially cut the inner baffle to the "correct" diameter of the woofer, then cut the outer baffle to the outside dimension of the frame of the driver.


dbl

Let's all go to the lobby
....Let's all go to the lobby
........Let's all go to the lobby
............To get ourselves a treat!
dbldare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 89 Old 12-05-2012, 06:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
witch box should i chose all those are before the high pass filter

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #63 of 89 Old 12-18-2012, 09:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well guys i am officially stumped on what i should do with my cabinet i really like the idea of making only one port but if i got to make two i need to know why when i select two why dose the length of the port go all crazy

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #64 of 89 Old 12-18-2012, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was just playing with my design with two 4 inch round ports of 10 inches a peace so that would be a total of 20 inches on winisd right?

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #65 of 89 Old 12-18-2012, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerlovely2006 View Post

i was just playing with my design with two 4 inch round ports of 10 inches a peace so that would be a total of 20 inches on winisd right?
Nope it actually does the opposite. 2, 4" ports will require a LONGER port length than 1, 4" port. Just making up numbers, if a 4" port requires a port length of 10", then two 4" ports will each require their own length of 20", or whatever the length is. You don't add the lengths together to be one 40" port, you have two 20" ports. It's all about port cross section and tuning frequency that dictate the length of each individual port. There is no combining lengths.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #66 of 89 Old 12-18-2012, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well the only reason why i ask on this one is i have two 4 inch by 10 inch ports all ready made from my last project and i kept the ports and cross members and such so when it says port length of 40 inches on winisd it means that each port is 40 inches. I am so lost on what im doing first build and its not a easy one do thank you guys for helping me!

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #67 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when win isd says 40 inches it means 40 per port? I really need to get this figured out asap i don't want to cut the port holes tell i have this under control! So close to being done i can smell the glue lol

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #68 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Yes, it is 40" per port regardless if it's one port or 10. If you want, I'm sure I can find some links on Helmholtz resonators so you can see the math behind it.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #69 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if i go with one port what are my down falls to one vs two

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #70 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerlovely2006 View Post

well guys i am officially stumped on what i should do with my cabinet i really like the idea of making only one port but if i got to make two i need to know why when i select two why dose the length of the port go all crazy


Why does your graphs look weird? The lines should be smooth and yours have angles?

You want to check the air speed in Winisd and see if a single port is enough. If not, you need a larger port or go with multiples. What is the final dimension of the enclosure you plan to use?

Mrkazador is offline  
post #71 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well 23x23x22.50 been working hard on this cab i have her finally trued up was supposed to be a 23^3 but my depth got a little messed up thanks to Lowes but live and learn!

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #72 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,705
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looneybomber View Post

Yes, it is 40" per port regardless if it's one port or 10. If you want, I'm sure I can find some links on Helmholtz resonators so you can see the math behind it.
Uh, the more ports you add, the longer they have to be to maintain the same tuning.
Stereodude is offline  
post #73 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

1 4" port is not enough, you need at least 2. Looking at the XLS1500 manual, the lowest frequency you can select is 50hz which wouldn't work as a highpass filter.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #74 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really well my sub in my theater is crossed over at 50 and it creams really i just want spl and eaven more bass

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #75 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

You need a high pass filter close to your tuning freq (25hz?) so you don't damage the driver. A 50hz low pass is fine, what you need is a high pass filter at 25hz.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #76 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well guys i think im going with to 4inch buy 18 inch long ports witch tunes the box at 23.79hz that should be plenty low enough for dub step and all other types of music i rearly crank dub step






on the + sine of things i got alot of work done on the first box now to get it drying and the next one dry fitted then its off to guitar center for my amp i honstly thing my high pass will be fine at 50 hz the hole point is to have these big 15s take the punishment that i put on my Vegas and let my big massave speakers take a load off so to say lol:)

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #77 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if i get that graphic eq wont i be able to control the low pass and high pass?

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #78 of 89 Old 12-19-2012, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
I would get one of the inuke amps with DSP. It has a parametric eq and a high pass that can be set as low as 20hz. I think you're confusing high pass with low pass, not the same thing.
tylerlovely2006 likes this.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #79 of 89 Old 12-20-2012, 06:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how will i convert the cables to regular speaker cable on that amp i know they sell the converters for the input but on the speaker side i have regular binding posts?

i cant be leave the price on those amps that's amazing power for little cash sweet deal!!!

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #80 of 89 Old 12-20-2012, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

You need speakon plugs with bare wire.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #81 of 89 Old 12-21-2012, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will this connector work or is there something else http://www.parts-express.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=092-0170&scqty=2

and then to get the signal to the amp it would be two of these http://www.parts-express.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=240-438&scqty=2

plus the Inuke 3000 dsp right i am going to be using 10 gauge speaker cable for my connections to my cabinets

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #82 of 89 Old 12-21-2012, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dbldare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Broomfield, CO USA
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Any updates?


dbl

Let's all go to the lobby
....Let's all go to the lobby
........Let's all go to the lobby
............To get ourselves a treat!
dbldare is offline  
post #83 of 89 Old 12-21-2012, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well to day was another successful day working on my ports and almost done with dry fitting cant wait really wanted to show one off to the family but that will have to wait they will still be able to see what my Christmas present to my self is lol. They already think i am crazy so they will all understand lol

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #84 of 89 Old 12-22-2012, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post

Uh, the more ports you add, the longer they have to be to maintain the same tuning.
Should have specified 1 port of cross section X or 10 ports equaling cross section X. But I thought that went without saying because if WinISD says 40", it means 40" per port regardless if you're using 1 port or 10.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #85 of 89 Old 12-22-2012, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well according to winisd to 4x4x18 inch ports will get me a tuning of 23 hz so that is what im going for i am almost done just got to rip the boards and ill be gluing her up so close!!

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #86 of 89 Old 12-24-2012, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well guys i have to say wow this sub is amazing thanks to all you guys it is really efficient just one shakes the hole house im so happy with just the one for know im running it on my old yamaha yst 215 amp for now and it realy pounds for only 150 watts its pretty amazing haven't even cranked it up yet no need to will more then likely be building the other one soon but not sure were im going to youse it if i have two down hear i may make the house implode on me lol thank you guys and Merry Christmas to all!!!!!!!!!!!

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #87 of 89 Old 12-30-2012, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well guys i got to say this thing is really a joy to have running and cant wait to put some real power behind it but in tell then i am going to enjoy listening to it a moderate levels!!






Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #88 of 89 Old 06-07-2013, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whell im done with my other 15 and wow how efficient and loud i have them hooked up to a crown xls1000 i think i might bump them up to a 2000 but for now the 1000 is more then enough for my taste have not even goten after them yet but they sound great love them so much thanks guys for helping me out with the box design!!!! i really cant believe how much these have helped my music reproduction with all this new stuff that is bass heavy i find my self turning it down more then up thanks a lot!!! smile.gif

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
post #89 of 89 Old Yesterday, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tylerlovely2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: denver, co
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys just a little updated on the system i have been pushhing it real hard with my crown xls 1000 and so far so good but i was thinking if i push them to hard and blow them would i be able to put this sub http://www.parts-express.com/tc-soun...oofer--293-662 or posibly this one http://www.parts-express.com/tc-soun...oofer--293-642 and get the same results lol if im going to bump up power i think i should have a backup plan for in case i blow my subs lol

Cerwin-Vega GUY for life!!!
tylerlovely2006 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off