would not work with reciever - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 11-29-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i just bought the klipsche icon kf-26 and they would not work with my pioneer reciever wich is old like circa 1993. whats the problem here do i need a new reciever?
conner22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 11-29-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

ok i just bought the klipsche icon kf-26 and they would not work with my pioneer reciever wich is old like circa 1993.
Why not? BTW, you're in the wrong section, this is DIY, you should be in Speakers.
conner22 likes this.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 11-29-2012, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you hook a old reciever up to a HDTV tv?
conner22 is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 11-29-2012, 10:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bass addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A padded room
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

whats the problem here do i need a new reciever?

Yes

/ thread. smile.gif

Achievement Unlocked

Psychotic Episode Averted

bass addict is online now  
post #5 of 19 Old 11-30-2012, 03:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ovrrdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

Can you hook a old reciever up to a HDTV tv?

Not if you want it to switch video as well as sound. If it doesn't have hdmi ports on it you can still use it but you'll have to switch the video on the TV and then the audio separately on the receiver.
ovrrdrive is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 11-30-2012, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

Can you hook a old reciever up to a HDTV tv?
Yes, just send the audio out of the TV to the receiver.
Quote:
Not if you want it to switch video as well as sound. If it doesn't have hdmi ports on it you can still use it but you'll have to switch the video on the TV and then the audio separately on the receiver.
I don't use the routing capability of my receiver, I send all the sources to the TV, and pull the audio out of the TV to the receiver, so when I change sources the audio source is switched along with the video. This allows me to run the audio through my DSP, which otherwise I couldn't do.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 11-30-2012, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
ovrrdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

Yes, just send the audio out of the TV to the receiver.
I don't use the routing capability of my receiver, I send all the sources to the TV, and pull the audio out of the TV to the receiver, so when I change sources the audio source is switched along with the video. This allows me to run the audio through my DSP, which otherwise I couldn't do.

I used to do the same thing back when I first got my TV but I read somewhere that at least the TV I got (Samsung 50" plasma FP T5084) modified the surround sound so I finally just bought a receiver that switched hdmi. I don't recall exactly what it was doing but something wouldn't work the way I wanted it to. It might have had something to do with blueray or something. Sorry for being so vague but I don't remember exactly what the problem was. I do know that I was still running all of the audio from each device straight to the htr because of it. I've had the TV since 2008 though so it probably isn't an issue anymore. My favorite part of the movies is the soundtrack though so I wanted it to be as clean as possible. YMMV...
ovrrdrive is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 11-30-2012, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovrrdrive View Post

I used to do the same thing back when I first got my TV but I read somewhere that at least the TV I got (Samsung 50" plasma FP T5084) modified the surround sound so I finally just bought a receiver that switched hdmi.
AFAIK all TVs output the same stereo signal that DVD players do, with surround processing taking place in the receiver. Some do internal processing but AFAIK it only affects the sound from the internal speakers.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you send the audio out of the tv?
conner22 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

How do you send the audio out of the tv?
Me? Via the audio output jacks.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried that
conner22 is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didnt work
conner22 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bass addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: A padded room
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

Didnt work
Quote:
whats the problem here do i need a new reciever
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict View Post

Yes
/ thread. smile.gif

wink.gif

Achievement Unlocked

Psychotic Episode Averted

bass addict is online now  
post #14 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
ovrrdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was using the optical out on my TV when I tried it. LCR worked fine but I couldn't get any surrounds at all. After thinking about it, that was the problem at least with my TV. During the conversion to optical it wouldn't pass the surrounds.
ovrrdrive is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovrrdrive View Post

I was using the optical out on my TV when I tried it. LCR worked fine but I couldn't get any surrounds at all. After thinking about it, that was the problem at least with my TV. During the conversion to optical it wouldn't pass the surrounds.
The optical out doesn't send surround information, it sends a stereo signal. The receiver decodes the stereo to x.1.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
J_Palmer_Cass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovrrdrive View Post

I used to do the same thing back when I first got my TV but I read somewhere that at least the TV I got (Samsung 50" plasma FP T5084) modified the surround sound so I finally just bought a receiver that switched hdmi.
AFAIK all TVs output the same stereo signal that DVD players do, with surround processing taking place in the receiver. Some do internal processing but AFAIK it only affects the sound from the internal speakers.


Why do you use the analog output jack? Note that most TV sets will not send out multi-channel audio except when you use the optical output along with the built in digital TV tuner. Muti-channel outputs from say a DVD player will not pass through on most TVs.

The analog audio output jacks will at best give you a stereo output. That type of output should work fine to use with for an older AVR from 1993 that the OP is using.
J_Palmer_Cass is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 12-01-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
J_Palmer_Cass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

How do you send the audio out of the tv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

How do you send the audio out of the tv?
Me? Via the audio output jacks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

I tried that

Quote:
Originally Posted by conner22 View Post

Didnt work



You have to go into the TV menu and select the analog output jacks. I have to choose between internal and external speakers. I also have to choose between headphone level and speaker level analog outputs.
J_Palmer_Cass is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 12-02-2012, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
conner22 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 12-02-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
conner22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the only option it gives me changed it up still nothing
conner22 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off