"Need Major Help On DIY Sub" - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a million Jay. Are you using WinISD? For whatever reason it's not working for me... I'm trying to go for a skinnier and taller look like the captivator or something. And is the inuke 3000 the best option for me??
studioholic55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Yes I use winisd. I think the nu3000 might be your best option, just make sure you get the dsp version.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #63 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So in the software I can config. it to 20hz., eq ect.?
studioholic55 is offline  
post #64 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
yes


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #65 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also is there an online calculator that you use to determine the inside volume or is it just simple math. I'm Just wondering if I went with 20 inches as my width and 24 and my depth, how high would the ports need to be to reach 20hz. with 2 3x17 ports?
studioholic55 is offline  
post #66 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
This is what I use

http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/enclosure-volume-calculator/#axzz2GlQ2YXGE

Allows you to take absolutely everything into account. Figure out your final internal volume and I'll tell you what ports you need


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #67 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where do I go to on the link? Is it suppose to show just the B741 speaker?
studioholic55 is offline  
post #68 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
lol my bad, link fixed.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #69 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I decided on 22x24x26 and it came out to be 6.54 cubic feet. Sound about right?
studioholic55 is offline  
post #70 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by studioholic55 View Post

Ok so I decided on 22x24x26 and it came out to be 6.54 cubic feet. Sound about right?

Yup. If you scroll down the page you can put in bracing dimensions and get a volume for them, and the same for ports. A single 3x17 port is 120 in3. Depending on how much bracing you use, you should be right around 6 ft3 for final volume.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #71 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what should the port length be to get down to 20hz. assuming I use dual 3in. ports
studioholic55 is offline  
post #72 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Depends on your final box volume. Just plan around 13.5"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #73 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I buy the precision ports can I leave them at 17in.? It will only make the box lower correct?
studioholic55 is offline  
post #74 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Yup you can definitely do that. It will just tune you around 18hz, which isnt a bad thing at all. Air velocity is a little high with the pair of 3" ports, so tuning below the HPF will lower it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #75 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,935
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 255 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Yep for that price point the inuke 3000dsp is probably your best bet. The next step up is probably a DCX with a Crest CC4000, which is like... double the price and total-overkill for this application.
That said, I have no experience with their newer switching amps, so I couldn't tell you how much it differs in output power, from a non-marketing/whitepaper perspective at least. All I can say is that it "should" work well, "should" be a lot better than what you had prior.

"If Bad Sound Were Fatal, Audio Would Be the Leading Cause of Death."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BassThatHz is online now  
post #76 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a couple questions about the actual building of the box-

Can I just use 2x2's for bracing?
What glue should I use to seal and connect the sides?
Do I just use normal speaker cable inside the actual box to connect the terminal to the driver?
studioholic55 is offline  
post #77 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by studioholic55 View Post

I have a couple questions about the actual building of the box-
Can I just use 2x2's for bracing?
What glue should I use to seal and connect the sides?
Do I just use normal speaker cable inside the actual box to connect the terminal to the driver?

You could, just make sure you arent killing to much box volume.

Regular wood glue works great if your cuts are good. If you have some wiggle room PL Premium is great, it just takes a long time to dry.

yes, normal cable


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #78 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
studioholic55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you sooo sooo much for your help and advice Jay and Hz. Without it I'd still be very lost tongue.gif
studioholic55 is offline  
post #79 of 82 Old 01-01-2013, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
No prob man. Let us know how it turns out!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #80 of 82 Old 01-03-2013, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
oneloudstereo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, if I could figure a was to post up some pics, or you can find me on facebook. Its open to the public to view. Its a 12" diameter port, 18" long port in a very large box 6.75v3 vented. I am using a pair of them now, pushing them with a cheap crown CE2000 and soon to add another crown CE2000. One on each 18. Look up on facebook 1992svxwidebody and if that doesnt work look up Chris Wilson in Indianapolis, IN.
oneloudstereo is offline  
post #81 of 82 Old 01-03-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneloudstereo View Post

I have a custom built subwoofer that is 32"H X 20"W X 24"D with a single custom built 18" and has a 12" X 21" single ported. And does just fine on higher extension and lower extension. My neighbors 5 houses down can here it just fine lol. That is tuned at 17hz. If I can figure out how to post pics up from my cell phone, which is what I am using right now I would lol.

Wait, you have a 12" diameter round port?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #82 of 82 Old 02-28-2013, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
oneloudstereo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have a question for everyone on here. What is the loudest, bass wise, home theater in the world? I am getting termlab'd this weekend by a iasca personel from ohio. Just wondering because its pretty intense in here. I know for a fact im at least at 150db. At 32hz.
oneloudstereo is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off