Help a first timer repair a Paisley Research Reference Two - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 02-15-2013, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to repair these 25-30 year old speakers and have several questions as I have never done this before. The foam surrounds are severely disintegrated and need to be replaced. Do the dust caps also need to be changed? They don't look damaged to me, but I can see through them, which makes me wonder how effective they are at keeping dust out. They are a semi-rigid weaved fabric, and maybe years ago might have had some kind of coating/finish that has long since peeled away, not sure.

The cones look fine to my newbie eyes. I don't see any major damage.

The tweeters have a dome sort of like the dust covers but much smaller. These feel "tired" and have wear lines/cracks in them. Nothing is actually broken, though, from what I can tell.

I definitely need to order new foam surrounds, but what else do I need? Advice about the most effective way to do this repair is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-15-2013, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 14
First thing is to take your time. Since you are new at this, I would definitely remove the dust cap in order to align the coil in the gap. When you get the surrounds we can go step by step. Get dust caps also.

Keep cranking,

Robert
post #3 of 7 Old 02-16-2013, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter