Finally measuring time! 8 FTWs and 2 Mal 21s. Need help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2013, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Ok. Got omnimic and minidisp 10x10 for Xmas and will be measuring soon.

Many questions will be asked and many answers would be greatly appreciated!

I have all of the subs on different channels of my amps (2clone 10ks and 1 qsc 2450). The subs are lined across the screen stage with 8 on bottom row and two on top row on the farthest outside points directly above the outer two bottom row subs.

The front baffle wall is treated and behind the baffle wall is treated to Dennis' specs. The irisers are also designed as traps by Dennis. This will be a thread which will show before and after measurements of Dennis' room treatments;although, the rest of treatments will follow in sections at a time.

[URL]http://[/URL]

[URL]http://[/URL]

1. So since the boxes are built for 4 subs on the bottom row should I just ignore the differences they will play at once all are playing at the same time? Just measure each?

2. What about the two extra subs? Should I just play around until I find out which measure the closest to the same before putting them on the same outputs of the minidsp?

3. What about the mains and surrounds, should I start with only the center? I read that somewhere. All my mains/surrounds are JTRs triple 8 hts and single 8 surrounds.

I'm assuming I just need to download rew and get started from here after these few questions are answered?

Thanks all and sorry for my ignorance! Feel free to correct me and be harsh while doing so way it sinks in lol.

My thoughts are to just use mic at first to get all readings to what DB, as I want the subs hot? Or should I worry about boosting them last?

Here goes nothing!
audiovideoholic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2013, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,958
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Happy to see you finally got all your subs working and your mains art last. biggrin.gif
chrapladm is offline  
Old 02-17-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,472
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 237
OMG, OMG, OMG can't wait for this one... eek.gif

Good luck!

My Build Thread
Equipment Speakers:
3x 1099's for LCR duty
4x Fusion 8's for surround duty
8x subs: 4x FTW21's and 4x SI18's
Fatshaft is online now  
Old 02-17-2013, 12:50 PM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 919 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Those things make the 888's look like little polk bookshelves, that is truly impressive! I would LOVE to have that much room biggrin.gif

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Old 02-17-2013, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 3,275
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 444
I'd just do them all at once and only change the game plan if that fails. Makes it easier when dealing with 8 or more subs.
BassThatHz is offline  
Old 02-18-2013, 09:13 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,326
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post

I'd just do them all at once and only change the game plan if that fails. Makes it easier when dealing with 8 or more subs.

+1 Treat them all as one sub or maybe a stereo pair but nothing beyond that. Just asking for trouble with the added complexity.

Looks killer, man!

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Old 02-19-2013, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Thanks, you all. Whole family got stomach bug this past weekend so hopefully will get some graphs up this weekend. Sounds like will be much easier than I was thinking by messing with each driver individually.
pokeme likes this.
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-20-2013, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 61
So were are you going to put the 32 inch LCD monitor ? biggrin.gif
qguy is offline  
Old 02-20-2013, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by qguy View Post

So were are you going to put the 32 inch LCD monitor ? biggrin.gif

Lol right here...

[URL]http://[/URL]

Sorry had to. Next room over.
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Alright. Already stuck. I'm feeling really stupid at this point! I just got out my omni mic measuring system and downloaded rew. How am I supposed to run my avr from the laptop? I was thinking I'd be able to play the omnimic disc in my oppo and measure with laptop but was way off I guess.

Someone please point me in right direction

Is it as simple as hooking up an hdmi cable? This laptop does have one.
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:13 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,326
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Do you not have an HDMI output on your laptop?

You can burn the sound files to a cd to play back on the Oppo also. The software will immediately recognize the audio played back. It doesn't have to be on the computer.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post

Alright. Already stuck. I'm feeling really stupid at this point! I just got out my omni mic measuring system and downloaded rew. How am I supposed to run my avr from the laptop? I was thinking I'd be able to play the omnimic disc in my oppo and measure with laptop but was way off I guess.

Someone please point me in right direction

Is it as simple as hooking up an hdmi cable? This laptop does have one.

Yes it is as simple as hooking up the HDMI cable on your lap top. You will need to configure the computer. Click the REW 101 PDF file in this post: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1449924/simplified-rew-setup-and-use-usb-mic-hdmi-connection-including-measurement-techniques-and-how-to-interpret-graphs/270#post_22823228 Then just follow the step by step instructions for setting up the computer.

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 678 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Do you not have an HDMI output on your laptop?

You can burn the sound files to a cd to play back on the Oppo also. The software will immediately recognize the audio played back. It doesn't have to be on the computer.

Scott, when you get your uber audio system done, we need to have a serious talk about your video. smile.gif Your audio system will so outclass your video. Worse than bringing a knife to a gun fight. More like comparing a club to a nuclear bomb. smile.gif

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
ok. got it. cpu wouldnt output till I had closed out of all programs then magically it appeared on the screen lol
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-21-2013, 11:10 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,326
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

Scott, when you get your uber audio system done, we need to have a serious talk about your video. smile.gif Your audio system will so outclass your video. Worse than bringing a knife to a gun fight. More like comparing a club to a nuclear bomb. smile.gif

Huh?

Oh yeah. Still running 720p from a Panasonic AX200u.

Seriously, other than upgrading the surrounds after a new projector I should be set for a VERY long time. I'd be happy to talk about upgrades to my video system but unfortunately I am not rollin' in the dough so it's gonna have to be a $3,000 and under class projector. At this moment in time I'm stuck between either the Panasonic 8000 or the Epson 5020ub.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Old 02-21-2013, 11:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Aright, I got it up and was calibrating the mic and seemed like was going ok other than two things.

1. No matter how high I turned the volume up I only got a reading of like 70-75db. Thought that was weird so I just set it and moved on.

2. Then I hit measure from 30hz to 20k hz and it said was clipping.

So, I took the advice of the pdf file and set everything up step by step and now I cant even get the rew sound to play through the avr or anything. I made sure both were set at 48 and still nothing.

Wow!
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Alright wow, now its working the opposite. Its saying its 110db with volume down low and rat shack meter shows 85db. How in the world do you calibrate this thing?
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 12:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Well, dont know if its a good or bad thing but after installing the beta 13 it tells me no calibration needed for the omnimic so I cant see what its reading but when I checked levels it said they were ok so ran measurement and looks rather bad, like extremely bad.

[URL=http://][/URL]
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 01:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
here I measured with the same volume sweep 13hz-200hz and got this along with error message saying peak was not in correct place

[URL=http://][/URL]


Here it is when start at 20hz

[URL=http://][/URL]
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 01:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
previous were at second row. next are in first row
20hz
[URL=http://frtrow20hz1.jpg]frtrow20hz1.jpg[/URL]

14hz same as before with error
[URL=http://frt14hz.jpg]frt14hz.jpg[/URL]
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
when start at 7hz front row

[URL=http://][/URL]
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 01:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Alright I'm done for tonight. I dont know why the large drop in db when start lower and then it makes me scroll down just to see it on the graph when sweep at low frequecies. Maybe you all will be able to tell me something from these and can hook up the minidsp and move forward.

Thanks
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 10:14 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,326
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Yikes! Are you sure you got the included microphone properly calibrated to the software? When I had to do mine it was a cinch and was all done with in minutes.

I thought you had an Omnimic system? That turnkey solution might be good for you.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Curious, since you paid Dennis E for your HT layout/design/acoustics, did he not also give you some process/procedure/flowchart on setting up for the measurements?

IMO that seems part of the package deal.
mtbdudex is online now  
Old 02-22-2013, 11:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,788
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 522
Are you running just your subs or are the mains on as well? Crossovers? I would run them as you will listen so you could fix and issues at the crossover which it looks like you have. If not then you have a placement issue with that null. You will have to move your seating area a bit or hopefully you are running mains too and this is just a delay setting issue at crossover. I had the exact same problem and changed my delay setting on the subs in the processor and it went away. BTW, run your graphs from 3-120hz with a 5 dB increment on the y-axis. Turn them up a bit as well. You need to get out of the noise floor for the low frequencies. Using omnimic is as simple as loading the software, inputting your mic into the software and then measure. You need to maybe change some settings but that goes for all measuring software.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
Old 02-22-2013, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Yikes! Are you sure you got the included microphone properly calibrated to the software? When I had to do mine it was a cinch and was all done with in minutes.

I thought you had an Omnimic system? That turnkey solution might be good for you.

Yea, I have it. Should I just play the provided disc?
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

Are you running just your subs or are the mains on as well? Crossovers? I would run them as you will listen so you could fix and issues at the crossover which it looks like you have. If not then you have a placement issue with that null. You will have to move your seating area a bit or hopefully you are running mains too and this is just a delay setting issue at crossover. I had the exact same problem and changed my delay setting on the subs in the processor and it went away. BTW, run your graphs from 3-120hz with a 5 dB increment on the y-axis. Turn them up a bit as well. You need to get out of the noise floor for the low frequencies. Using omnimic is as simple as loading the software, inputting your mic into the software and then measure. You need to maybe change some settings but that goes for all measuring software.

It's both mains and subs. I'll try that and see what happens.
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post

Curious, since you paid Dennis E for your HT layout/design/acoustics, did he not also give you some process/procedure/flowchart on setting up for the measurements?

IMO that seems part of the package deal.

Na,after the hdmi issue and the bug with older version of rew it wasnt all that bad.
audiovideoholic is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 03:02 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,326
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post

Yea, I have it. Should I just play the provided disc?

Yes. That would be a good start. smile.gif

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 03:30 PM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,749
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Seriously, as an OmniMic owner/user, you can be up and running, ... pain free.... in a mere few minutes ... done.

This is separate than REW

Load the OmniMic software, use the OmniMic playback/source disc.

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off