500w dayton, 12" dayton, and custom ported box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 03-06-2013, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm really interested in starting a DIY sub stage. Here is what I'm thinking so far:

Dayton SPA500 plate amp, 500w @4ohms, $265
Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12", 400rms, $150
Build my own ported box, not sure about tuning yet, $??

1) Are those Dayton parts I picked out pretty decent?
2) How much can I expect my box build to cost? (simple L vented)
3) What is a good frequency to tune it to? 80% music, 20% movies & xbox
sjv7883 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 03-06-2013, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
500 watts is a little to much power for that woofer. If you spend $25 more you can get the HO 15", which will work in a box the same size as the 12" and make better use of the 500 watt amp. What kind of box size can you live with? A high powered ported sub needs to be a decent size, usually at least 5 ft3 to fit the proper sized ports. Slot porting is also an option, but that can take up so much volume that the cabinet ends up being much larger anyway.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=295-469
Jay1 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 03-06-2013, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

500 watts is a little to much power for that woofer. If you spend $25 more you can get the HO 15", which will work in a box the same size as the 12" and make better use of the 500 watt amp. What kind of box size can you live with? A high powered ported sub needs to be a decent size, usually at least 5 ft3 to fit the proper sized ports. Slot porting is also an option, but that can take up so much volume that the cabinet ends up being much larger anyway.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=295-469

I heard that the HO model is better in a sealed box, and the HF is better in a ported box. I could control my self with the volume knob. I dont really want anything bigger than a 12" and nothing smaller than a 10." Is aero porting easy enough to do? This will be my first box build. I don't really care how much room it takes up, as long it sounds as big as it looks. I'm a bass head. I can make room for it.
sjv7883 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 03-06-2013, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjv7883 View Post

I heard that the HO model is better in a sealed box, and the HF is better in a ported box. I could control my self with the volume knob. I dont really want anything bigger than a 12" and nothing smaller than a 10." Is aero porting easy enough to do? This will be my first box build. I don't really care how much room it takes up, as long it sounds as big as it looks. I'm a bass head. I can make room for it.

That's actually the opposite. The HO models have a lower Qts, making them better suited for ported. They also have a lower Vas, allowing them to function in smaller enclosures. Like I said previously, the 15" HO will work in a box the same size as the 12" HF, there is literally no reason to go with the 12 unless you wanted a smaller cheaper sealed setup.

A box that is 17.5" W x 22" H x 30" D with a pair of 4" x 25" ports will do the trick. After some bracing is factored in you will end up with a box that is approximately 4.8 ft3 tuned to 22hz. The driver and pair of 4" ports can go on the 17.5 x 22" front, with the ports running straight back into the 30" depth.
Jay1 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 03-06-2013, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

That's actually the opposite. The HO models have a lower Qts, making them better suited for ported. They also have a lower Vas, allowing them to function in smaller enclosures. Like I said previously, the 15" HO will work in a box the same size as the 12" HF, there is literally no reason to go with the 12 unless you wanted a smaller cheaper sealed setup.

A box that is 17.5" W x 22" H x 30" D with a pair of 4" x 25" ports will do the trick. After some bracing is factored in you will end up with a box that is approximately 4.8 ft3 tuned to 22hz. The driver and pair of 4" ports can go on the 17.5 x 22" front, with the ports running straight back into the 30" depth.

What if I went with a 12" HO?
sjv7883 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 03-06-2013, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
That can handle 500 watts in a much smaller ported enclosure. You are giving up output for that, it will have about 4db less across the board then the 15" I spec'd above. This one definitely requires a slot port. Try a 14.5" W x 24" H x 26" D box with a 1.75" x 13" x 32" slot port. The port will have to span across the 14.5" width, with an L shape up 7" from the 26" depth.
Jay1 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

That can handle 500 watts in a much smaller ported enclosure. You are giving up output for that, it will have about 4db less across the board then the 15" I spec'd above. This one definitely requires a slot port. Try a 14.5" W x 24" H x 26" D box with a 1.75" x 13" x 32" slot port. The port will have to span across the 14.5" width, with an L shape up 7" from the 26" depth.

Why would the 12" perform better on a slot port and the 15" on an aero port?
sjv7883 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
The internal box volume is a lot smaller with the12 HO, which means the port has to be excessively long. You could possibly use pvc pipe with elbow fittings...
Jay1 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

The internal box volume is a lot smaller with the12 HO, which means the port has to be excessively long. You could possibly use pvc pipe with elbow fittings...

Is the PVC with elbows not recommended? Thanks, box designs are one of the things I have yet to learn.
sjv7883 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
It just might be difficult to make fit, ill take a look when I get home
Jay1 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

It just might be difficult to make fit, ill take a look when I get home

Just wondering if you've taken a look yet. No rush smile.gif
sjv7883 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Alright, so I've come to my senses and realized I probably only need a 250w amp for my dorm set up. Should I use the Dayton HO or Dayton HF 12"? Going to be in a ported box tuned around 22-23hz.
sjv7883 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 03-07-2013, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
The 12HO isnt a good choice with 250 watts, the sensitivity is so low the 10HF has equal output in the same sized box with 250 watts. I guess if you're only using 250 watts you could get away with a single 4" x 17" round port in a 4 ft3 box with the 12HF. That would be this port kit at full length

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=268-352

A 20 x 20 x 24" box would get you the proper volume. If you wanted to use the 12HO or 10HF you could go with a 16 x 20 x 24" box, same port.
Jay1 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 03-08-2013, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

The 12HO isnt a good choice with 250 watts, the sensitivity is so low the 10HF has equal output in the same sized box with 250 watts. I guess if you're only using 250 watts you could get away with a single 4" x 17" round port in a 4 ft3 box with the 12HF. That would be this port kit at full length

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=268-352

A 20 x 20 x 24" box would get you the proper volume. If you wanted to use the 12HO or 10HF you could go with a 16 x 20 x 24" box, same port.

So the Dayton 12 HF on an SPA250w amp in a 20x20x24" box with the aero port you linked me to will give me a good sound? What will the tuning be on that? Is there any reason not to use this set up?
sjv7883 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 03-08-2013, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjv7883 View Post

So the Dayton 12 HF on an SPA250w amp in a 20x20x24" box with the aero port you linked me to will give me a good sound? What will the tuning be on that? Is there any reason not to use this set up?

Yes. The tuning will be approximately 21 hz and the -3 db point will be 23 hz. If you're okay with the output capability of a 250 watt 12" sub, in a boz that size, then there isnt any reason this wont work well for you. This is what your anechoic (no room influence) max output and frequency response will look like

Jay1 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 03-08-2013, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjv7883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay1 View Post

Yes. The tuning will be approximately 21 hz and the -3 db point will be 23 hz. If you're okay with the output capability of a 250 watt 12" sub, in a boz that size, then there isnt any reason this wont work well for you. This is what your anechoic (no room influence) max output and frequency response will look like


It will be in my dorm room, and this is my first time building a box and this stuff, so I think the 250w will be fine for that space. I can always sell this in a couple years and build a more powerful set up and use the knowledge I learned from doing it the first time.
sjv7883 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off