Dual Rythmik FV15Hp`s/upgrade to diy? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post

Yes. Show us how you have your output wired as well.
Link error. Please fix.

works for me

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal01 View Post

Kind of expensive for one trigger, know of anything else?

not that can handle a 20 amp circuit.
there are home brewed ones for cheap, but i didnt want to mess wtth them.

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #183 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mal01 is offline  
post #184 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mal01 is offline  
post #185 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
in that first pic. it looks like you have them plugged into the speakon connection. are they speakon ends or xlr?

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #186 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Your right Brian, I have committed an noobie error, I know I tried to insert them there but they wouldn't fit so I thought well, I`ll just stick them in here:eek: I`m sure it make a difference, maybe I don't even need the CB. I`m doing some cable management right now and have them off, I`ll rewire and try again.

Thanks.
mal01 is offline  
post #187 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
folks have done the same thing with much worse results........... tongue.gif

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #188 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wink.gif
mal01 is offline  
post #189 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Gone back and tried to hook up again and see what happened, xlr female to 5508, the xlr connection on the amp is male, so I have two male ends, do i have the wrong xlr?
mal01 is offline  
post #190 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh, i'm not on a 20amp.
mal01 is offline  
post #191 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal01 View Post

Gone back and tried to hook up again and see what happened, xlr female to 5508, the xlr connection on the amp is male, so I have two male ends, do i have the wrong xlr?

Yep

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #192 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
You can go rca to the SMS and xlr from the SMS to the amp with that male to male cable

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #193 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,713
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal01 View Post

Gone back and tried to hook up again and see what happened, xlr female to 5508, the xlr connection on the amp is male, so I have two male ends, do i have the wrong xlr?

Color me confused... How were you able to get a signal at all to the amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mal01 View Post

Oh, i'm not on a 20amp.

One thing at a time.
popalock is offline  
post #194 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Brian, I'm not using the SMS at this time, what other kind of XLR is there?
Austin, RCA out from avr to input of CB, Used XLR from CB output to the Input of the amp connections that aren't XLR, whatever the he'll they are called(link)?
mal01 is offline  
post #195 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
I was just saying the cable you have now would work with the SMS. You need a male/female cable to hook it up the way you have it. Monoprice.com will have them.

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #196 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My XLR is male/female. I got them from mono price .
mal01 is offline  
post #197 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mal01 is offline  
post #198 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mal01 is offline  
post #199 of 403 Old 04-29-2013, 06:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
mal01 is offline  
post #200 of 403 Old 04-30-2013, 03:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Ok. Looks like you need female/female

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #201 of 403 Old 04-30-2013, 04:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where do get that?
mal01 is offline  
post #202 of 403 Old 04-30-2013, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks like have to get a f/f coupler.
mal01 is offline  
post #203 of 403 Old 04-30-2013, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,713
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by mal01 View Post

Looks like have to get a f/f coupler.

No... Upon further investigation please reference page 8 § 2. of your owners manual here:

CV5000 Owners Manual

The CV5000 takes a Male XLR input connection.
popalock is offline  
post #204 of 403 Old 04-30-2013, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's where I had them, but was having the issue with the CB.
mal01 is offline  
post #205 of 403 Old 04-30-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post

No... Upon further investigation please reference page 8 § 2. of your owners manual here:

CV5000 Owners Manual

The CV5000 takes a Male XLR input connection.



that sure looks like it takes a female connection to me Pop



PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #206 of 403 Old 05-01-2013, 04:38 AM
Senior Member
 
walke108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Mal, any updates??

Brian, you ever make it up to Northern Michigan? wink.gif
walke108 is offline  
post #207 of 403 Old 05-01-2013, 04:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by walke108 View Post

Mal, any updates??

Brian, you ever make it up to Northern Michigan? wink.gif

Not as much as we would like to.

We love to go up to Traverse City. My sister in law and her husband also have a place in Gaylord.

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
post #208 of 403 Old 05-01-2013, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,713
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 732
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751 View Post

that sure looks like it takes a female connection to me Pop.

The XLR input on the CV5000 "is" female and it "takes" a male connector, which he currently has. No need for a female-to-female adapter like he was anticipating. I gave mal a call yesterday to clear it up.

biggrin.gif
popalock is offline  
post #209 of 403 Old 05-01-2013, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mal01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Everything is up and running fine, it was hooked up properly, but I am using two Cleanboxes right now but still have a weird issue with the gain knob, it doesn't appear to be affecting performance. I am going to get the subs as close to equal distance from the MLP as possible and run Audyssey Pro and start trying to hook the SMS back up, its been awhile since I`ve used it. I have a question about co-locating, what`s the difference in co-locating in order to get more output and just turning up the amp some if I have plenty of headroom left?
mal01 is offline  
post #210 of 403 Old 05-01-2013, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Colocating generally gets you 3db of free output. No increase in power needed. If you have headroom to spare, it's best to spread them out.

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off