Wiring for 220vac - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I've wired a few circuits, but i'm curious what the plug would look like a on a 220vac pro amp. most 220vac plugs were four prong with two hot one common and an earth ground....

KG
kgveteran is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 177
All of the 220v plugs I have ever seen are four prong. If you have true 220v receptacle, you can change the plug or receptacle out if they do not match up. They sell those at home depot.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 50
^
Yes. Just plan your outlet according to the current draw and match the two. I use the twist lock outlets/plugs (L6-20P 3 prong 20amp 250v) generator plugs.
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1197
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

I've wired a few circuits, but i'm curious what the plug would look like a on a 220vac pro amp.
That depends on the current capacity. To be safe wait until you get the amp, then you can match the plug on the cord to the correct outlet.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Can any amp be run on 220 ? I use the four prong on my 220 generator, it has a twist lock. Most amps have the removable power cord with just three contacts in it. At least my QSC 1450's have only three contacts, i never checked to see if it has a voltage dip switch.
kgveteran is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

Can any amp be run on 220 ? I use the four prong on my 220 generator, it has a twist lock. Most amps have the removable power cord with just three contacts in it. At least my QSC 1450's have only three contacts, i never checked to see if it has a voltage dip switch.

No, and I dont know why some amps would have 4 prong and some would have 3 but the LG clones are wired with 3 prong in my application.
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 04-25-2013, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi KG,
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

I've wired a few circuits, but i'm curious what the plug would look like a on a 220vac pro amp. most 220vac plugs were four prong with two hot one common and an earth ground....
Yes, the majority of 220volt circuits use a four-prong Hubble connector, but there are three prong 220volt connectors, for when the device doesn't need a neutral connection. The device would normally have an IEC connector on it.

I assume the reason for your question is that you need to wire a circuit for the amp? I suspect the amp will come with an IEC connector at the back, and the best connector for the wall might be this and this.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1197
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHotchkiss View Post

I suspect the amp will come with an IEC connector at the back.
It would be the rare amp that didn't come with a cord, so he should just wait until he receives it, unless the amp data sheet at the manufacturer website specifies the outlet required.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 06:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 1052
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

Can any amp be run on 220 ?

Just the ones that are specified to be able to run on 220 volts. How long did you think before you typed that question? ;-)
Quote:
I use the four prong on my 220 generator, it has a twist lock.

That's all good because some 220 volt appliances need a neutral wire to operate properly.
Quote:
Most amps have the removable power cord with just three contacts in it. At least my QSC 1450's have only three contacts,

That's because most power amps that run off of 208-250 volts don't need a neutral connection.

A 4 prong plug for 220-type situations will have connections for the two hots, a neutral and a safety ground.

A 3 prong plug for 220-type situations will have connections for the two hots, an a safety ground. It will drop the neutral, which is generally not needed.

But there are a few exceptions to the rule of neutral being optional - devices that need a neutral such as dryers with 220 volt heating elements but 120 volt motors and control circuits.

Quote:
I never checked to see if it has a voltage dip switch.

Duuuuh!

BTW ever have the urge to read a QSC 1450 user manual for yourself?

http://www.qscaudio.com/support/technical_support/user_manuals.php


Executive summary:

Usually it takes a lot more than a dip switch to make a power amp run at both 120 and 240 volts. There are often two different models of the product, one for each power line voltage.

Some modern equipment uses switchmode power supplies that take thee exact opposite tack - they simply automatically adapt to whatever power you supply, over a fairly broad range. The RMX 1450 is not among them, but some competitive amps (e.g. Crown iTX series) do.
arnyk is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 309
My crowns are universal supplies, which adapt to any world voltage automatically, if I recall correctly the 240v connectors have both hot blade at 90 degrees with a ground, but no neutral.
BassThatHz is online now  
post #11 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Since the ground and common are both connected to the same rail in my breaker box i always saw it as duplicative
kgveteran is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 11:54 AM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

Since the ground and common are both connected to the same rail in my breaker box i always saw it as duplicative

Some do use the term common, but rarely.

A brief overview;
There's a Hot, a Neutral, and a Ground. In a typical residential panel-board, there's two hots, a neutral and a ground.

The hot is often called a phase, or a line. Typically it's black, in three phase systems there's color coding of black, red, blue, and brown, orange, yellow, depending on system voltage.

The neutral is a grounded conductor.

The ground is the grounding conductor, often called safety ground, or earth.



KG, this is for anyone interested, I know you're quite savvy. Some do use the terms incorrectly ..

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOH View Post

Some do use the term common, but rarely.

A brief overview;
There's a Hot, a Neutral, and a Ground. In a typical residential panel-board, there's two hots, a neutral and a ground.

The hot is often called a phase, or a line. Typically it's black, in three phase systems there's color coding of black, red, blue, and brown, orange, yellow, depending on system voltage.

The neutral is a grounded conductor.

The ground is the grounding conductor, often called safety ground, or earth.



KG, this is for anyone interested, I know you're quite savvy. Some do use the terms incorrectly ..

So from now on "neutral" is the term, gotcha. While we are at it, what speaker is your avatar ?
kgveteran is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post

if I recall correctly the 240v connectors have both hot blade at 90 degrees with a ground, but no neutral.
My first thought was 90* away from the ground, thinking of some crazy four phase design, but using only two of the four phases...then I realized you were talking about the physical structure of the plug. You should of seen my face eek.gif

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
yelnatsch517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looneybomber View Post

My first thought was 90* away from the ground, thinking of some crazy four phase design, but using only two of the four phases...then I realized you were talking about the physical structure of the plug. You should of seen my face eek.gif

In higher power, polyphase could mean more than 3 phases. Some systems have up to 12. cool.gif
yelnatsch517 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Looneybomber View Post

My first thought was 90* away from the ground, thinking of some crazy four phase design, but using only two of the four phases...then I realized you were talking about the physical structure of the plug. You should of seen my face eek.gif

The phase of the sinewaves of the hot wires ARE at 90 degrees from ground also, coincidently... one at +90 and the other at -90 degrees at 120v, hence forming 180 degrees apart and 240volts.
wink.gif
BassThatHz is online now  
post #17 of 19 Old 04-26-2013, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by yelnatsch517 View Post

In higher power, polyphase could mean more than 3 phases. Some systems have up to 12. cool.gif
I've heard of 3 and 6. We've only talked about 3 phase in class (along with the wye/delta, leading/lagging stuff.) 12 phase!? I think somebody is compensating for something...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post

The phase of the sinewaves of the hot wires ARE at 90 degrees from ground also, coincidently... one at +90 and the other at -90 degrees at 120v, hence forming 180 degrees apart and 240volts.
wink.gif
Are you sh tting me? 240v is essentially a pos and neg 120v source? I was under the impression it was a straight on single cosine wave of 240v, where-as 240V 3 phase was 3, 240v sources 120* apart.

Wait it makes sense, that way you can have one 240 line that is two 120's out of phase. That way there's no need to use a transformer at the house to step down to 120V. Never thought of that before!

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 04-27-2013, 07:14 AM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post

While we are at it, what speaker is your avatar ?

JBL 4350


------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 04-27-2013, 07:33 AM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Single phase residential power, and 3 phase commercial/industrial systems do create confusion.


The 240 service at your home, with two hot legs, are derived from one leg of a 3phase system possessing 120 degrees of displacement between phases (because the generating source at the power house generates in this fashion).

So discussing degrees associated with residential single phase services can easily tend to obfuscate the situation, when it's more akin to a polarity scenario.

A residential system, the two legs are derived .... by center tapping the 240 volt leg, creating a neutral point there. Now you still have the 240 capability across both ends (for any 240 needs in the home), yet you also have the two legs of 120 volts each.



Hope this helps

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off