3ohm Subwoofer??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-30-2013, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tim Reams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK i know this is kid stuff compared to what you guys have in your systems but hear me out. Eventually i will have a better system but currently i spend most of my time/energy on my car system.

I have this HTiB

http://www.meijer.com/s/rca-rt2911-1000w-hdmi-home-theater-av-receiver-system/_/R-227914;jsessionid=FD834A7E28C436AF40006B8586EA7BBE.instance01?CAWELAID=1566650340&cagpspn=pla&cmpid=Google-G_US_Meijer_eCom_PLA_Electronics_Computers&gclid=CNPGq-e08rYCFQsy4AodOV4AXg&kpid=RT2911

and would like to upgrade the subwoofer however the sub in this system is marked as 3ohm. Now in car audio i could use a 4ohm sub and it would just get less power, which in most cases is fine you just need to adjust the building of the enclosure. Is it the same premise in home audio? I certainly don't want to run lower ohm being its a cheap HTiB and I'm sure running anything below rated will throw it into protect mode.
Tim Reams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-30-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If using a new subwoofer driver that is 4 ohms, and assuming your previous one was 3, then your amplifier will power it just fine, but just put out a little less power as you know.
You'll want to build a new enclosure for the new driver.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-30-2013, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tim Reams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
exactly what i was expecting. Thanks for the confirmation.
Tim Reams is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-30-2013, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Is the receiver applying power to the sub? Dont be surprised if there are high pass filters built in to protect the sub, which would make it very hard to get good results.
Jay1 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off