Dayton RSS390HO - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 05-04-2013, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a 15" Dayton HO that I want to make a enclosure for that will double as a table. Primarily for movies but this is a secondary sub and I'm not comfortable making a ported enclosure unless I can use a round port. But then I'm still worried I don't know how big it should be.
Anyway to get the dimension I want, it would turn out 27" H x 22" W x 22" L. This comes out to 6ish cubes. My understanding is this sub likes 3-4 sealed and 6 ported.
What downsides are there with running it so large sealed? Or can I do a easily ported design? My idea is to go downward firing since its a table but will that be worse than side firing? Could the port fire down if I did a port?
This is my first go around with something like this so I just need some helps. If the 6 cube is ok I have no trouble but if it should be ported since its so large I don't now how to calculate the port length and circumference. I suppose I could do it the size I want and seal off the right amount inside the box. I think I like the way sealed sounds more. My other sub is a 12" ported to 24hz. (Klipsch)
If you can't tell I clearly need helps. Or if anyone is in the dallas Fort Worth area and builds boxes I'd pay.
shaneb0422 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 05-05-2013, 02:25 AM
Senior Member
 
crabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hindmarsh Is, South Australia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why do you say it will be a secondary sub?
Build something about 4.5 - 6 cubic feet tuned to about 20hz with 500watt amp and you wont know yourself.
I doubt the klipsch would be giving you much below 28-30hz.
If you plan on trying to use both subs you will need some measuring gear.
crabra is online now  
post #3 of 28 Old 05-05-2013, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
A pair of 4" x 23" ports will tune that box to right about 21hz. The good thing about a ported build is you can always plug the ports if you're not happy, and being down firing no one would see the ports, open or plugged (yes you can down fire the ports, they just need 4" of clearance to the ground).

Here's your 2 considerations shown with a 500 watt plate amp


I would definitely start out ported.
Jay1 is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 05-05-2013, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The primary reason I dislike ports is the air noise. Maybe that is the poor deosign of the other sub tho.
So given 4" "legs" on the bottom I will be around 5-6 cubes. Let me ask. I the event the port was sealed up. Would the large enclosure be an issue sealed?
Unfortunately I am stuck with 150w from a Adcom amp at the moment. The reason I considered this a secondary sub is because I didn't have the intention to budget a new amp etc to make it super awesome. Maybe that will change. . Do people make a separate chamber for the amps? Or Does the amp just sit in the air chamber?
Those are two 4" round ports? I suppose that's as easy as anything to make. No other issues with a large sealed box than the fact it doesn't go as low as Ported? Just want to make sure the less power I'm working with wont cause issues in a large box.
As for multiple subs I have rew equip in the mail. . I am already using the sub in a 1.5 sealed box the guy I bought it from had it In. I just knew from research the thing was capable of so much more. (If you can't tell I'm talking myself into a new amp). I could probably do the 300w bash. I'll consider that some more.

Edit. The 300w bash is 119 on amazon?? I'm going to go ahead and order that unless someone says they suck. Would 500w be worth the 80bucks more?
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 05-05-2013, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,580
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaneb0422 View Post

The primary reason I dislike ports is the air noise. Maybe that is the poor deosign of the other sub tho.

For sure the subs you've heard were not well designed. A well designed ported sub has very minimal port noise.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #6 of 28 Old 05-05-2013, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Alright. I've decided after much consideration. I can either go with an inuke1000 which will give me 1000 watts and the ability to add another sub later and make it 300wx2. Or I can go with a single bash 500.
I really like the idea of having a separate amp for convenience and expansion but I also like the idea of built in amp and how clean that is. (Though since this will be a table, Maybe having a separate amp is nice, though then I'm stuck with terminal cups.
I don't know. I'm tempted to go with a 300 bash since their so cheap.
And the inuke connections confuse me.
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 05-06-2013, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
crabra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hindmarsh Is, South Australia
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaneb0422 View Post

Alright. I've decided after much consideration. I can either go with an inuke1000 which will give me 1000 watts and the ability to add another sub later and make it 300wx2. Or I can go with a single bash 500.
I really like the idea of having a separate amp for convenience and expansion but I also like the idea of built in amp and how clean that is. (Though since this will be a table, Maybe having a separate amp is nice, though then I'm stuck with terminal cups.
I don't know. I'm tempted to go with a 300 bash since their so cheap.
And the inuke connections confuse me.

Those are behringers peak figures.

crabra is online now  
post #8 of 28 Old 05-06-2013, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
I can either go with an inuke1000 which will give me 1000 watts and the ability to add another sub later and make it 300wx2.

HO 15 can handle a lot more than a paltry 300 watts. 2 HO 15s in 4.5-5.5 cu ft net boxes tuned to 20-21Hz with an iNuke 3000 DSP running one cab on each channel (600+ watts @4ohms stereo) will drop your jaw for many years to come.
Quote:
And the inuke connections confuse me.

Don't worry about connectivity stuff. You are in good hands on this forum.

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

The best EQ is no EQ ...

Alpine SWR-1223D Slot Ported HT Sub

Dual Dayton RSS390HO-4 Reference 15 Build For HT

Main System: Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, RS-52 II, Onkyo 5010, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S300
braveheart123 is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 05-06-2013, 03:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I would either step up to the iNuke3000dsp or go with a Behringer EP-4000 to power that HO15. You have obviously never heard a good ported sub. This would be a great way to add some good impact to your theater! What is your current, primary, sub? What receiver are you running?
Martycool007 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 05-06-2013, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I currently have a onkyo nr709 (multi eq xt and I have ordered stuff to use REW to see if I need to do that rather than audyssey) and Atlantic tech 350thx speakers
The Dayton in crappy sealed and a klipsch rw12d for subs.

Peak outputs? Wow. In all the googling I did I never saw rms wattage ratings.
The 3000 turns this from a fun project on a budget to spending some cash. How about the bash 500? Would that be happy happy? I have some gift cards enough for the bash 500 which is why I asked. And I nearly ordered the inuke 1k last night until I read I would have to do a fan mod to make it silent and order a bunch of cable converters. Started getting silly. I guess I could do the inuke 1k bridged mode if I used it.
What's the inuke 3k rated at rms? I can be patient and wait for a used one to come up if you think it is hugely necessary or can just grab a bash 500 and make it simple.
I did some playing in winisd last night looks like with my 5.5 cubes ill need a 20hz port and there will be a peak around 22? What program were you using Jay1?
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 05-06-2013, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
WinISD. Did you include a high pass filter in your model?
Jay1 is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 05-06-2013, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe I didn't. Not sure I've seen that feature. I'll play some more.
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 05-07-2013, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Why not just get a Behringer EP4000 and be done with it? You can get them for like $275 brand new.
Martycool007 is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 05-07-2013, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
bradthebold88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Not anymore. There's an ebay one for $325, but the cheapest new one from a real store looks like $350. I just went and got a used EP2500 from Guitar Center for $200 instead.

Living room: Definitive BP2000TL, CLR3000, BPVX, Quad SI 18" subs
Bedroom: Definitive BP30, CLR2000 Also have had: BP7000SC, BP8B, BP10B, BPX, Dayton 15" HF subs, Rythmik F15
bradthebold88 is online now  
post #15 of 28 Old 05-07-2013, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
If he goes ported he will need to also purchase a hpf with the ep4k. Plate amp or an nu dsp will have one built in.
Jay1 is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 05-07-2013, 11:36 AM
 
sburnett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did some looking at specs...the inuke 1k bridged or the bash 500 is likely where I am at - gift card wise thats what I can do. Considering the inuke will be 100 bucks more to get the DSP then the Bash is looking real good plus no silly interconnects and fan mod.
Am i really at a loss by going with the bash, like it wouldn't be worth building?
sburnett is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 05-07-2013, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just realized I someow got two usernames going.
Just so you know I am shaneb0422 and sburnett. Whoops.
I was wondering why my subscription update only happened on some devices
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 05-07-2013, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by sburnett View Post

I did some looking at specs...the inuke 1k bridged or the bash 500 is likely where I am at - gift card wise thats what I can do. Considering the inuke will be 100 bucks more to get the DSP then the Bash is looking real good plus no silly interconnects and fan mod.
Am i really at a loss by going with the bash, like it wouldn't be worth building?

The bash will do just fine. Of course it will still be worth it... Look at what a 500 watt 20hz ported 15" costs

http://www.powersoundaudio.com/products/xv15

And that thing is under ported, with only a single 4" port...
Jay1 is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 05-08-2013, 04:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Doesn't the iNuke only go down to 20hz before rolling off the signal?
Martycool007 is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 05-08-2013, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
It does indeed.

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

The best EQ is no EQ ...

Alpine SWR-1223D Slot Ported HT Sub

Dual Dayton RSS390HO-4 Reference 15 Build For HT

Main System: Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, RS-52 II, Onkyo 5010, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S300
braveheart123 is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 03:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Awesome, this will definitely be a project I'll do.
I am picking up a new 370THX set this weekend that comes with a 15" 275w sub (Atlantic Technology 372PBM).
Do you think it is totally worth going ahead with the project and running the three subs in the same room, or would it be better used in the music room? I hear the more subs the better. (Room is huge, 26x13x8 and wide open to kitchen and dining room of same size)

Also, I was just considering my original idea of making the sub a table....I realize my drinks would probably be vibrating off the table? I've read others have done this but I wonder if it is super annoying for everything on the table to vibrate constantly.

So iNuke has HPF at 20hz...its a toss up between it and the Bash....bash simpler integration and no noise.
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaneb0422 View Post

Awesome, this will definitely be a project I'll do.
I am picking up a new 370THX set this weekend that comes with a 15" 275w sub (Atlantic Technology 372PBM).
Do you think it is totally worth going ahead with the project and running the three subs in the same room, or would it be better used in the music room? I hear the more subs the better. (Room is huge, 26x13x8 and wide open to kitchen and dining room of same size)

Also, I was just considering my original idea of making the sub a table....I realize my drinks would probably be vibrating off the table? I've read others have done this but I wonder if it is super annoying for everything on the table to vibrate constantly.

So iNuke has HPF at 20hz...its a toss up between it and the Bash....bash simpler integration and no noise.



You are almost always better off going with 2 to 3 subs as opposed to 1. I am not sure what those other subs are? Home theater in a box subs, perhaps?
The Dayton will almost certainly over power the Atlantic Technology subs. I would sell them and buy more Daytons!

As far as the iNuke versus the bash,
if it were me, I would just buy an EP4000 and be done with it. As a matter of fact, I happen to have one for sale! (if you are interested hit me up via pm) I would
much rather have the EP4000 over that bash.

As far as the iNuke, I plan on using the iNuke1000dsp for my mains sometime in the future, mainly for their built
in dsp options that I could use for my active mains, but, with that being said, I am hesitant about using the iNukes for subwoofers due to their roll-off at 20hz. That
just bugs me for some reason and I know that if I were to use an iNuke for my subs then I would most certainly be forever second guessing myself on whether or
not I am missing any bass in the sub-20hz region!
Martycool007 is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
If you have a sub tuned to 20hz you NEED a high pass around 20hz....

OP have you decided ported or sealed?
Jay1 is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martycool007 View Post

I am hesitant about using the iNukes for subwoofers due to their roll-off at 20hz. That
just bugs me for some reason and I know that if I were to use an iNuke for my subs then I would most certainly be forever second guessing myself on whether or
not I am missing any bass in the sub-20hz region!

Not true ....... iNuke doesn't roll off at 20Hz. The 20Hz limit is for the DSP. The lowest HPF you can apply on any iNuke is at 20Hz, however, there is a way to circumvent this barrier and apply HPF a lot lower than 20Hz. As far as depth is concerned, it goes a lot deeper ( <10Hz).

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

The best EQ is no EQ ...

Alpine SWR-1223D Slot Ported HT Sub

Dual Dayton RSS390HO-4 Reference 15 Build For HT

Main System: Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, RS-52 II, Onkyo 5010, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S300
braveheart123 is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shaneb0422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unless you can find a EP4000 that is 199 or under it won't happen. And unless you take Amazon gift cards....sorry.
The other subs are not HITB subs?. The Atlantic Tech sub is from their previous System 370THX, and the other is a Klipsch Rw-12d. The Klipsch is a budget buy but the AT is fairly high regarded for what it is.
As stated before, due to the two 5.1 systems I have recently (am about to) finish purchasing. I want to keep the amp in the 200ish dollar range...
I'm fairly confused about the inuke, so the non-DSP version does not have a 20hz cutoff? And by cutoff do you mean HPF or hard cutoff? 20hz is too high? What is the Bash 500 HPF?
shaneb0422 is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 115
20Hz limit on any iNuke is for the DSP functionality NOT the DSP model. Both, the DSP version and the non-dsp, dig a lot deeper than 20Hz. I guess the cutoff limit is 6Hz IIRC for both variants of iNuke. It is only that you cannot normally apply HPF below 20Hz on the DSP version. But there is a workaround to this. Non DSP models do not have DSP at all. So, you need an extra device e.g. miniDSP to apply filters below 20Hz.

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

The best EQ is no EQ ...

Alpine SWR-1223D Slot Ported HT Sub

Dual Dayton RSS390HO-4 Reference 15 Build For HT

Main System: Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, RS-52 II, Onkyo 5010, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S300
braveheart123 is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 05-09-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Bash 500 hpf is about 18hz.
Jay1 is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 05-10-2013, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by braveheart123 View Post

Not true ....... iNuke doesn't roll off at 20Hz. The 20Hz limit is for the DSP. The lowest HPF you can apply on any iNuke is at 20Hz, however, there is a way to circumvent this barrier and apply HPF a lot lower than 20Hz. As far as depth is concerned, it goes a lot deeper ( <10Hz).


I stand corrected! I read several other post saying that the iNukes roll off at 20hz, I did not know that this was just the limit on the depth of the
DSP. Thanks for pointing that out, I learn something new every time I log on to AVS!
Martycool007 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Dayton Audio Rss390ho 4 15 Reference Ho Subwoofer 4 Ohm
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off