resistor questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 06-17-2013, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi i'm new to this hobby. I have built a couple kits from parts express and diy sound group, as well as paul carmody's sprite boombox for my wife. my next project I have ordered most of the parts but the resistors i need(dayton 2 ohm 10w part number-004-2 at parts express) are back ordered until the end of july.

so my question is this if i used multiple resistors to get the same value would it affect the sound, or do you guys know another source for these resistors? and while i'm here, if i used an inductive resistor in their place I've heard they attenuate the current going to the driver.

thanks in advance for any help. if you're wondering what the project is it's carmody's aethers tang band version.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-17-2013, 12:19 PM

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Using two of these in series for each 2ohm resistor would be fine. http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=004-1

I don't think you shouldn't use an inductive resistor as it could change the sound slightly in theory. In real life it probably doesn't make a difference but why risk it.

You don't have to use the dayton "audio grade" or whatever resistors it's just a gimmick, you can use any ceramic resistor.
post #3 of 11 Old 06-17-2013, 12:23 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
You can combine resistors to get the needed value (assuming you do it correctly to maintain the proper resistance). Depending on where they are in the circuit I may double or triple them them anyway for additional power handling. Madisound also carries eagle and mundorf non-inductive resistors as well.
post #4 of 11 Old 06-17-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 87
And the reason you don't get this or this or a 2.2 ohm resistor is?
post #5 of 11 Old 06-17-2013, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)