New amp choice for sub duty - CV5000 or Peavey IPR7500? - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 234 Old 12-31-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
bigangryrhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MD (Baltimore/DC)
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just built two ported mini-Marty subs and plugged them into my new Peavey IPR2 7500 DSP. The output is about 1/4 of what I would expect. When trying to add a HPF, the lowest it will let me go is 31 Hz. Per the mini-Marty thread, I should set it down close to my port tuning freq (i.e 17 hz). LTD02 suggested in a Behringer thread to add an eq setting with a negative db to get by the Behringer's 20hz limit. I tried this as well, but didn't seem to noticebly work.

Does anybody know the right settings for the DSP to be used for subwoofer duty? Thanks, Rhino
bigangryrhino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 184
I was put onto the IPR7500 by a well respected guy on a UK forum, but I have a question: What would it give me over my current iNuke 6000DSP?

I run a pair of sealed 15" subs using Fi Q series drivers wired so each sub is 4 ohms, they are different distances from the MLP, so I can't wired them together as one 2ohm sub as I need to add a separate delay to the closer sub. I've run power tests in REW and I believe I'm amp limited at the moment (the Fi Q are rated 1500 watts), plus I may upgrade to Fi SP4 at a later date which are rated to 3000 watts.

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet". William Shakespeare 1615
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #213 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
I was put onto the IPR7500 by a well respected guy on a UK forum, but I have a question: What would it give me over my current iNuke 6000DSP?

I run a pair of sealed 15" subs using Fi Q series drivers wired so each sub is 4 ohms, they are different distances from the MLP, so I can't wired them together as one 2ohm sub as I need to add a separate delay to the closer sub. I've run power tests in REW and I believe I'm amp limited at the moment (the Fi Q are rated 1500 watts), plus I may upgrade to Fi SP4 at a later date which are rated to 3000 watts.
The ipr will not give you any additional output with your current setup.

If in the future you upgrade to a pair of 2ohm speakers the ipr would work well. However, I would just add a second nu6000 and spend the extra cash elsewhere.
Stumbo is offline  
 
post #214 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post
The ipr will not give you any additional output with your current setup.

If in the future you upgrade to a pair of 2ohm speakers the ipr would work well. However, I would just add a second nu6000 and spend the extra cash elsewhere.
Thanks Stumbo, can I ask how a second nu6000 would help since it can't be bridged, do you think it would give any more power if only running one sub per amp (ie the amp's power supply is limiting)?

The other option was a pair of CV5000 amps and some kind of external DSP device (such as some kind of miniDSP).

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet". William Shakespeare 1615
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #215 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luke Kamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
Thanks Stumbo, can I ask how a second nu6000 would help since it can't be bridged, do you think it would give any more power if only running one sub per amp (ie the amp's power supply is limiting)?

The other option was a pair of CV5000 amps and some kind of external DSP device (such as some kind of miniDSP).
I think he was more stating if you got another two subs then you could use the peavy's 2 ohm stereo capability. But you could also just buy another inuke at that time and run 4 channels at 4 ohms each.
Luke Kamp is offline  
post #216 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
Thanks Stumbo, can I ask how a second nu6000 would help since it can't be bridged, do you think it would give any more power if only running one sub per amp (ie the amp's power supply is limiting)?

The other option was a pair of CV5000 amps and some kind of external DSP device (such as some kind of miniDSP).
Your current config is good, an ipr7500 will not give you more power with two 4 ohm speakers.

If in the future you decide to replace your current drivers with new ones, you go with a pair of dual 4ohm drivers. That's one channel per coil from 2 nu6000 amps(4 total channels & coils.)
Stumbo is offline  
post #217 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Ah, maybe I've confused the issue as I would still only have two subs, but I may swap the drivers for SP4 versions and sell the existing Q series ones.

So for my current pair of 15" 1500 watt Fi Q series wired for 4 ohms each, then is there any point changing to the IPR7500? If not what alternatives would you suggest, that would give me 3000 watts into 4 ohms x 2 for the future upgrade? I'm UK based so I have 230 volts mains and a I'll probably install a separate supply for my sub amp(s).

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet". William Shakespeare 1615
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #218 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Just checked, I guess the sp4 only comes in dual 1 and dual 2ohm.

Please disregard my mentioning a second nu6000 and never listen to my advise again.
Kelvin1965S likes this.
Stumbo is offline  
post #219 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
So for my current pair of 15" 1500 watt Fi Q series wired for 4 ohms each, then is there any point changing to the IPR7500?
No.

Quote:
If not what alternatives would you suggest, that would give me 3000 watts into 4 ohms x 2 for the future upgrade? I'm UK based so I have 230 volts mains and a I'll probably install a separate supply for my sub amp(s).
If you went with the dual 1ohm SP4, an IPR7500 would give you 3750x2
Kelvin1965S likes this.
Stumbo is offline  
post #220 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 184
OK, so it sounds like I may as well wait until I change the drivers as I won't gain anything right now changing out the nu6000. Thanks for the info, no worries about the SP4 ohms rating.

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet". William Shakespeare 1615
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #221 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post
The ipr will not give you any additional output with your current setup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post
Your current config is good, an ipr7500 will not give you more power with two 4 ohm speakers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
Ah,
So for my current pair of 15" 1500 watt Fi Q series wired for 4 ohms each, then is there any point changing to the IPR7500?
No.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
OK, so it sounds like I may as well wait until I change the drivers as I won't gain anything right now changing out the nu6000.
Jesus, how much more clear could I be?!?!?!?
Stumbo is offline  
post #222 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 01:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Luke Kamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,449
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Fatshaft likes this.
Luke Kamp is offline  
post #223 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 03:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post
Jesus, how much more clear could I be?!?!?!?
I thought I'd said thanks for the info in my previous post, no need to be sarcastic.

"Don't believe everything you read on the internet". William Shakespeare 1615
Kelvin1965S is offline  
post #224 of 234 Old 01-29-2015, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post
I thought I'd said thanks for the info in my previous post, no need to be sarcastic.
It's my pleasure!
Stumbo is offline  
post #225 of 234 Old 08-15-2017, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerOmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 2,259
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 55
OK, piggybacking on this thread (old)

My Sanway FP14k just blew up. $660 to fix by people that supposedly know what they are doing. Diode, fuse, and some caps are bad per shop.

Options:

Buy @Archaea CV5000 for about 70% cost of a new FP14k (very improved, you like) from China.
Jonathan says barely used and solid. I believe him.

Buy a new Peavy 7500 v2 for $1k.

Buy the new clone 2ohm stable (we have happy customers, you see) FP14k from China for $850 shipped.

What do I do? Does the CV5000 have enough to power my 4 - UXL18s sealed? I could never use all the clone power without thinking I was going to hurt something in the subs.

@Gorilla83 @Luke Kamp
HuskerOmaha is offline  
post #226 of 234 Old 08-15-2017, 08:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 4,455
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Its really a matter of how much power do you need. Some people push their amps hard enough that they want more headroom. Others trickle along and dont need the extra power. Value would be the 14K. Not sure Crest is an option for you depending on your load on the amp. I think your looking at 2ohm stereo so you may be fine.

Never been a fan of the CV so I never looked at them much and cant comment.
chrapladm is offline  
post #227 of 234 Old 08-19-2017, 04:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,751
Mentioned: 112 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 523
How hard do you push them typically? The CV should do a nice job powering them and they're built like tanks. If you want every last DB at the ultra low stuff, go for the FP.
Gorilla83 is offline  
post #228 of 234 Old 08-19-2017, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20,522
Mentioned: 491 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 2869
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerOmaha View Post
OK, piggybacking on this thread (old)

My Sanway FP14k just blew up. $660 to fix by people that supposedly know what they are doing. Diode, fuse, and some caps are bad per shop.

Options:

Buy @Archaea CV5000 for about 70% cost of a new FP14k (very improved, you like) from China.
Jonathan says barely used and solid. I believe him.

Buy a new Peavy 7500 v2 for $1k.

Buy the new clone 2ohm stable (we have happy customers, you see) FP14k from China for $850 shipped.

What do I do? Does the CV5000 have enough to power my 4 - UXL18s sealed? I could never use all the clone power without thinking I was going to hurt something in the subs.

@Gorilla83 @Luke Kamp

how important is fan noise in your rig?


i'm not sure that I've ever seen a test of the cv5000, which is a little surprising.


speakerpower amps are quiet and efficient, but not the lowest price, but have some nice features now (auto-detect/12v on, etc.). the plate 4k may work for you.


http://www.speakerpower.net/comparat...rformance.html


bang for the buck is still probably inuke 6000's with one driver per channel (2 amps), but will 'thump' you if using a relay-based turn-on.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
post #229 of 234 Old 08-20-2017, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerOmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 2,259
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post
how important is fan noise in your rig?


i'm not sure that I've ever seen a test of the cv5000, which is a little surprising.


speakerpower amps are quiet and efficient, but not the lowest price, but have some nice features now (auto-detect/12v on, etc.). the plate 4k may work for you.


http://www.speakerpower.net/comparat...rformance.html


bang for the buck is still probably inuke 6000's with one driver per channel (2 amps), but will 'thump' you if using a relay-based turn-on.
Everything is in a rack closet, so fan noise isn't a big deal as it is a great room and a louder location than a dedicated theater concern. No biggie there unless it sounds like a freight train.

If the CV has enough juice I'm probably ok with that. Otherwise I'll look into that dual inuke solution, I think I have enough space in the rack for duals. Is $350 the best deal for ea I can find?

Speakerpower little more than I want to spend right now.

Anything else?
HuskerOmaha is offline  
post #230 of 234 Old 08-21-2017, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20,522
Mentioned: 491 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2526 Post(s)
Liked: 2869
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerOmaha View Post
Everything is in a rack closet, so fan noise isn't a big deal as it is a great room and a louder location than a dedicated theater concern. No biggie there unless it sounds like a freight train.

If the CV has enough juice I'm probably ok with that. Otherwise I'll look into that dual inuke solution, I think I have enough space in the rack for duals. Is $350 the best deal for ea I can find?

Speakerpower little more than I want to spend right now.

Anything else?
should be able to beat that pricing, but you have to call around--minimum advertised pricing policy (m.a.p. at work).

the only other amp in that ballpark that I am aware of with monster performance (outside of the chinese lab copies) is the cc5500, but it doesn't come with autosensing so you'd have to rig up a relay and it would be best on a 30 amp line. you do get a 5 year warranty however. @lukeamdman did some brutal testing where it appeared to hold up very well.
lukeamdman likes this.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
post #231 of 234 Old 08-21-2017, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 134 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1227 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post
should be able to beat that pricing, but you have to call around--minimum advertised pricing policy (m.a.p. at work).

the only other amp in that ballpark that I am aware of with monster performance (outside of the chinese lab copies) is the cc5500, but it doesn't come with autosensing so you'd have to rig up a relay and it would be best on a 30 amp line. you do get a 5 year warranty however. @lukeamdman did some brutal testing where it appeared to hold up very well.
Both the CC5500 and CC4000 were very solid performers.

Luke's basic amp testing
LTD02 likes this.
lukeamdman is offline  
post #232 of 234 Old 08-21-2017, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,233
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1111 Post(s)
Liked: 1212
Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskerOmaha View Post
OK, piggybacking on this thread (old)

My Sanway FP14k just blew up. $660 to fix by people that supposedly know what they are doing. Diode, fuse, and some caps are bad per shop.

Options:

Buy @Archaea CV5000 for about 70% cost of a new FP14k (very improved, you like) from China.
Jonathan says barely used and solid. I believe him.

Buy a new Peavy 7500 v2 for $1k.

Buy the new clone 2ohm stable (we have happy customers, you see) FP14k from China for $850 shipped.

What do I do? Does the CV5000 have enough to power my 4 - UXL18s sealed? I could never use all the clone power without thinking I was going to hurt something in the subs.

@Gorilla83 @Luke Kamp

You can get a new power board from Sanway for 150$.....

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #233 of 234 Old 09-02-2017, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HuskerOmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Omaha
Posts: 2,259
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post
You can get a new power board from Sanway for 150$.....


http://imgur.com/a/ZrIdb


Here is the fix-it summary and the parts they gave back that were bad. He mentioned "all the caps" as well.

I think I'm just going to go with Jonathans CV5000 for now for duty while I figure out how to fix the clone.

Any ideas? order power board? Throw it in the trash can?

TIA, I'm not an electric engineer....don't have a solder set up. Maybe @desertdome can fix it!
HuskerOmaha is offline  
post #234 of 234 Old 09-02-2017, 03:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Minneapolis,Minnesota
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have a crest cc4000 and have loved it so far. Only time Ive seen any lights pop on at all was a scene in Star Wars played way to loud for a buddy. I cant hear the fan at all runs very slow till you drive the amp hard for a while and at that volume no way in heck a guy would hear a fan.

Plus it will have a warranty hahaha I really thought about a clone. I just dont have the time these days to deal with anything I need to fix. I have enough to do already.I think I got mine new to my door for under 600 just needed to make a couple calls
northwind81 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Peavey Ipr2 7500 Power Amplifier 7500 Watts , Behringer Europower Ep4000 Professional Amplifier , Cerwin Vega Cv 5000 High Performance Power Amplifier

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off