NWCgrad's Sealed Subwoofer System - Design and Build Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 06-30-2013, 03:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I have been studying the different online forums for the past two years, since I am currently located in SE Asia I really cannot build much so I had plenty of time to ponder. However, my sentence is almost over. Wife and daughter flew out last week, I fly back to Maryland on 1 August!biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

Decided to go with a sealed system, Linkwitz Transform enhanced low end. There have been lots of inspiring builds, but Gorilla's thread really fired up my desire to go crazy!

I've tried to embed images, but apparently this site doesn't like my ISP today, keeps freezing.

Enclosure: 20" w x 26" H x 18.75" D, made with genuine 13 ply Baltic Birch from hardwoods, Inc (Frederick, MD)

Drivers: (2) Dayton Audio 18" [Made in Taiwan, still trying to find drivers Made in US/North America that will be as good, TC Sounds and Funk Audio drovers are to pricey], will do stepwise increase until reach a total of 8.

Amp: QSC PL340. Plenty of power, -3 dB point specified as 3 Hz, Made in US. Yes, its pricey, but "buy once cry once" is my motto on amps.

EQ: miniDSP (2 x 4, unbalanced version)

Space: 5,000 cu ft, open floorplane basement, subs located on screen wall, eventually behind AT screen.

System Requirements:

1). Must meet or exceed THX reference in WinISD modeling (I am hopeful that the 2 Pi calculation will result in decent representation of listening position volume in a 1 Pi space). Main L/C/Rs (upgraded 4 Pi) can easily do the 105 dB requirement (110 dB listening to Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree, Avenged Sevenfold, Rush, or Dead Can Dance is awesome); subs must be able to hit 115 dB without strain (125 dB if run them "hot").