Tapped Horn with Dayton SS460HO-4 18" driver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 21 Old 07-04-2013, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about to pull the trigger on a tapped horn build with the Dayton Reference 18" drivers. Any constructive criticism or advice is welcome and appreciated (especially before I start cutting wood). This is my first tapped horn build, and I'm by no means an expert at this stuff. I bought the drivers during their Memorial Day sale, and have been pondering what to do with them since then.

I think I have a tapped horn designed here that should work reasonably well. I am pretty lazy when it comes to building speakers, so I have made an attempt to limit the amount of cutting required. As such the box is 8' tall. Internal width is 18.75", with the remainder of that rip (~29.125") forming the sides.

Intended use will be 95% music and 5% movies. Power will be from a Crown XTI 2002 which is around 800W @ 4 ohms. There's some DSP filters available in the amp to smooth the response if needed. A 48db/octave high pass at 20 Hz will be used. I'll probably have the subharmonic synthesizer enabled with a fairly low setting around 2.5 dB below 45 Hz. The subs will be crossed over around 80-100 Hz to some mains with JBL 2226 woofers and SEOS 12 waveguides.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old 07-04-2013, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter

reserved for future stuff
post #3 of 21 Old 07-04-2013, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter

reserved for even more future stuff
post #4 of 21 Old 07-04-2013, 09:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
this may be worth reading. it was a discussion on the viability of the 18ho
in a tapped horn of quite similar design to what you have there:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1458644/gjallarhorn-vs-little-wrecker

btw, the 18ho makes a decent front loaded horn
if you want to go that route.

Listen. It's All Good.