Choosing Drivers For JBL L26 Cabinets. Complete Noob Needs Help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 07-08-2013, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have a pair of JBL l26 cabinets. They are in great shape, but have no drivers, cross overs or L-pads.

I want to rebuild these but have no idea what drivers to use. I am handy enough to enlarge or add any holes. I can solder good enough to build and install a crossover.

I like listening to classic rock like The Beatles, Rolling Stones, The Who etc.

I have a 2x15w tube amp and a modern 100w receiver. Is it possible to build these as high efficiency speakers for the tube amp? Would a waveguide be a good match for these cabs? I want to build these with strong bass. My budget for these is under $400 for the pair.

Please help me choose a good set of drivers for these cabinets. Thanks.

fronts%2Bhigher%2Bno%2Bgrills.jpg

Maybe something like this?

bandc_15.jpg

Specs:

page03.jpg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 07-08-2013, 03:38 PM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You're on the right track.

The JBL 125A is a pretty decent woofer and are readily available (and usually overpriced, IMO) on that auction site. Decent bass response but not very efficient.

I think the 12" SEOS is too wide for the L26 cabinet. You could make it work but it wouldn't look right...at least to me.

The 10" EOS waveguide might fit above the existing woofer cutout. It will on the similar L36 but I think the woofer may have been mounted higher in the L26.

http://www.diysoundgroup.com/waveguides/other-waveguides/eos-10.html

Here's a nice design that uses the same waveguide along with the Eminence Deltalite 2510 woofer. Not cheap but efficient.

http://techtalk.parts-express.com/showthread.php?215536-Flex-Your-PCD-Mettle/page11&p=1639915#post1639915

Erich at DIYSG may have a pair of baffles cut for these as there was a plan to offer it as a kit.