help selecting the right subwoofers for a modest size room - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 07-13-2013, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hello and thank you first off for your time and help. My first time posting.
Im fairly new to HT, and I am currently trying to start my second subwoofer build, as my first one is just not going to cut it.

My current equipment:
Receiver - Pioneer SC-67
Sub amp - Crown XLS 2000
Current sub - My first DIY 10" JLW7 in 4.1cf ported box tuned to 20hz (Should be able to see it in the pictures below. Please ignore the Dual W3's. My brothers car subs.)

The issue I am having is that I got a small taste of low end and I want more smile.gif . The room is large and I just don't think a single 10" will cut it.

Room dimensions:
24' x 17.5' with 14' vaulted ceiling. And then off course it opens up into an almost identically sized kitchen and then a hallway. I understand this is less than ideal but its what I have to work with...

Please excuse my mess in the photos. We recently had our first daughter, and I just finished rebuilding the entertainment center below the TV.

So, im limited to a budget of roughly $1000, so utilizing my current amp would be ideal.
I am being "allowed" either two "Large" subs or four "Small" subs. This is how my wife refers to ported and sealed boxes. wink.gif Either two ported 15"s with a max 6cuft each, or four 3cuft sealed. (I made mock up cardboard boxes of what roughly each size was to be for the wife, and those are my allowable options).

Goals: 70% HT and 30% music.
Basically I hooked up my W7 in one of my spare 10' x 10' bedrooms to play call of duty on my brothers TV and I heard and felt sounds I didn't know existed in the game. 4 hours later we finished watching "Medal of Honor" and now I want "that bass sound" in my living room. Best way I can describe it, sorry. wink.gif