CV-5000 signal indicator not lighting up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-22-2013, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hey guys, just connected the sub to the CV-5000. The active LEDs light up but the signal LEDs do not. I have it connected right now in bridged mode, and connected with an RCA cable connected to a XLR adapter. Anybody know what's going on? I did hear some bass come through (although it seemed low, and there was also a hum). But the LED remained off.

For those that have a CV-5000, does yours light up? How do you have it connected?

Also, what is the gain on set on your amps? I had it at 1 (highest) for a bit of bass to come out.

Thanks for any help.
04rex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-22-2013, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
The signal light turns on/gets brighter depending on how much signal the amp is passing through. AKA- if the amp is idling, the signal light won't be on. If the amp/your subs are chumming along then the signal light will be on.

If the signal light isn't turning on and you have the gain all the way up it means that you aren't giving it enough signal to work with. Try turning your source up higher. If that doesn't do it then you might need some way to boost the signal before it gets to the CV5000. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but, as far as signal boosters go, I'm pretty sure the Art Cleanbox Pro is a popular choice.

BTW- I have a NU3000DSP and a CV5000, and the CV definitely needs more signal to get going. My source has XLR, which helps.
Rebel975 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I see. So a signal booster may help. Ok. I may need to give that a try.
04rex is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 06:14 AM
 
JWagstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post

I see. So a signal booster may help. Ok. I may need to give that a try.

try turning your source volume up first
JWagstaff is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You were right. I turned up the source and the amp. When a decent bass scene came on it turned on for a bit. I had the receiver pretty much at full and the CV as well at pretty much full. Looks like I am gonna get the signal booster.
04rex is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 06:53 AM
Member
 
MrSmithers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do you have the high pass filters on the amp set to off? What's your source receiver and what's the sub trim and crossover settings on it?
MrSmithers is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I do yes. I have it all off, including the limiter.
04rex is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is the Art Cleanbox Pro any good? I didn't find any reviews on it here. Are there any options?

Is there a reason why a booster is needed? My receiver isn't that old.
04rex is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Search this forum for the Cleanbox. You should find some results.

As for why it's necessary- like I said, the CV seems to need more signal to get going than other amps, and some sources put out more or less signal than others. I tested it with a laptop plugged directly in, and a receiver, and both were pretty weak. I'm only able to fully utilize it via my XLR equipped pre/pro.

What receiver do you have?
Rebel975 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Dank1209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Strasburg ,IL.
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I've used a Integra 9.9. And a emotiva umc 200 pre / pros . I have plenty of gain from either of them to drive 2. Cv5000's to the max
What's your source?
Dank1209 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 11:14 AM
 
JWagstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
try turning up the subwoofer channel on your receiver. Also the CV-5000's gain should always be set to max, especially if it's not loud enough.
JWagstaff is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-23-2013, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My Current receiver is a Yamaha HTR6190 (about 5 years old but was top of the line pretty much).

I did have my amp gain at max and the CV at pretty much max.
04rex is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off