2 Rockford Fosgate P3D4-15 box build - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it definatly went out way too far and it made a weird noise like the coil came out for a brief moment or something. it looked like it came out like a full inch.
iBurn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
maby i have the switches on the amp wrong or something?
iBurn is offline  
post #33 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
So are you just running test tones until you pushed it to hard? Anyway, if you plan on pushing the drivers that hard you need to build a smaller box, we went over that in post #16. The first day you set the sub up and you push it as hard as possible? For now you need to turn the gain down. You could also glue in a solid wood shelf inside the box to cut the cabinet volume.

If your goal is to really to just put full power into the drivers you might want to look at 2.5 ft3...


I still find it hard to believe you bottomed the driver at 20 mm. You sure the amp didnt clip?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #34 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have it set to stereo, limiter on, and full range.
iBurn is offline  
post #35 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i don't think the amp clipped. im pretty sure it was the sub.
iBurn is offline  
post #36 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also the box is closer to 3.75 cubic feet. it is 18x18x25.25
iBurn is offline  
post #37 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 3,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 102
You need to turn the gain down on each amp channel by at least 6


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

 

 

Jay1 is offline  
post #38 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if i do that, then it doesn't get very loud. i had originaly set the gain with a multi meter, but it was realy quiet, so i started turning it up. they are surprisingly quiet for 15 inch woofers. i think its the box.
iBurn is offline  
post #39 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it only did it one time. it was the song bass i love you. i just tried it with my other subs that i know have a good box, and they didn't make the noise, but they went out realy far too. i think its just the song. i think that song gets down to like 17hz. it sounds good with everything else tho. the multi meter wanted the gain at 20, but ive got it at 21 now. im going to hook up the other one tomorrow once the glue has had plenty of time to dry.
iBurn is offline  
post #40 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 250

Bass I Love you goes down to 5hz so you need to be real careful with the volume...



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #41 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

Bass I Love you goes down to 5hz so you need to be real careful with the volume...

ohh. well then, yea. that's probably why. i had it at -10. so that's pretty high. and i had turned the gain up to about 30. id like to hear that song at 5hz tho. that must be why it never seems to have that much bass to me. it just has bass that i cant reproduce.
iBurn is offline  
post #42 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 250

Here is waterfall of that song.

 



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #43 of 45 Old 08-05-2013, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its working good now. I cant wait till the other box gets done drying. but I was wondering, how much do rca y splitters degrade the voltage and signal? I am considering putting another one in, so I can keep the 12" jbl I already had. it has a plate amp, and only needs a single rca/lfe to run it. so I would have a rca y splitter coming out of the receiver, with one end going to the jbl, and the other end going to the wall, through the attic back down to another wall, into a single rca/lfe, then into y splitter, and into the amp. do you think that would work if I got good cables?


I just tried it with a cheapy super thin wallmart y splitter, and it worked great until about -15 volume, then the receiver went into protect and said check wires. so im thinking maybe if I got good quality wires that it would work.

also I was wondering if its ok to plug my amp into a shared power strip or if I should plug it directly into the wall. I have it in the power strip now to protect it from surges in case of lightning or something.
iBurn is offline  
post #44 of 45 Old 08-06-2013, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
or maybe I could get some kind of splitter/amplifier?

edit
just realized I had one of my speakers disconnected with wires dangling when I did that, so that might be why it went into protect and said check wires.
iBurn is offline  
post #45 of 45 Old 08-07-2013, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
iBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got the new fans soldered in today. the difference is night and day.
still wondering if my amp would have more power if it were plugged directly into the wall, or if it is fine in the surge protector.
iBurn is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off