New iNuke NU4 6000 - 4 channel amp - Page 13 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
Notnyt's testing showed about 1000W/channel with only two channels running at 2 ohms. Obviously, with all four channels in use, it would drop further, not sure how much.

A 15A circuit can supply more than 15A for short periods. Breakers don't trip instantly. A typical breaker will let double its rated current through for at least 20 seconds before tripping. Higher current draw trips it faster.
Not sure if you're agreeing or disagreeing with me, but RMS power is continuous, so the breaker trip time is irrelevant. It can burst way more than 1800W, like you said. But even at 100% amp efficiency (which it's not even close), it could only do 450W RMS per channel
Bassment is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Not sure if you're agreeing or disagreeing with me, but RMS power is continuous, so the breaker trip time is irrelevant. It can burst way more than 1800W, like you said. But even at 100% amp efficiency (which it's not even close), it could only do 450W RMS per channel
There's no such thing as "rms power".

All of these are measured off one channel.

1 of 2 bridged channels into 4 ohms


both channels running bridged into 4 ohms



1 of 4 channels into 2 ohms


2 of 4 channels into 2 ohms
LTD02 likes this.

Last edited by notnyt; 07-05-2016 at 03:59 PM.
notnyt is offline  
post #363 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
There's no such thing as "rms power".
Lol yeah, RMS voltage, average power. 2 ch into 2 ohm has more output per channel than 1 ch into 2 ohm? The voltage peaks higher with 2 channels driven over 1?

Last edited by Bassment; 07-05-2016 at 04:03 PM.
Bassment is offline  
post #364 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Lol yeah, RMS voltage, average power. 2 ch into 2 ohm has more output per channel than 1 ch into 2 ohm? The voltage peaks higher with 2 channels driven over 1?
sorry have the graphs swapped, correcting, please nuke the pics from the quoted post
notnyt is offline  
post #365 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
It's not an error, it's just Behringer specs. Complete bs
No, it's an error. That is just some random website hosting an old pdf. The physical manual is accurate. So is their website http://www.music-group.com/Categorie...4-6000/p/P0B1R
Bassment is offline  
post #366 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Lol yeah, RMS voltage, average power.
All power measurements are taken with RMS voltage, otherwise you're not calculating power correctly.

The best way to describe power is either burst or sustained.
notnyt is offline  
post #367 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
sorry have the graphs swapped, correcting, please nuke the pics from the quoted post
Haha ok that makes sense
Bassment is offline  
post #368 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
No, it's an error. That is just some random website hosting an old pdf. The physical manual is accurate. So is their website http://www.music-group.com/Categorie...4-6000/p/P0B1R
Ah, I see.

From their website, The 4-channel iNUKE NU4-6000 power amplifier packs 6,000 Watts (4 x 1,600 Watts @ 2 Ohms; 2 x 3,000 Watts @ 4 Ohms).

They're quite over inflated
notnyt is offline  
post #369 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,640
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
Not sure if you're agreeing or disagreeing with me, but RMS power is continuous, so the breaker trip time is irrelevant. It can burst way more than 1800W, like you said. But even at 100% amp efficiency (which it's not even close), it could only do 450W RMS per channel

Let me see if I can explain. The circuit and circuit breaker do not directly limit amplifier output. The amplifier will draw as much power from the wall as it wants until the breaker trips or until other factors like sagging line voltage effect the amplifier, or the amp overheats and triggers its thermal protection, etc...

The circuit has no way to stop the amplifier from drawing as much power as it wants other than by tripping the breaker. That's why we have breakers or fuses, to prevent devices from drawing high levels of current long enough to cause a fire.

Per notnyt's testing, the NU4 will continuously output 2x 1200W bridged at 60% efficiency. That means drawing about 4000W from the wall, which it will happily do, even on a 15A circuit.

So you can play a full-volume sine wave outputting 2400W and drawing 4000W on an NU4. And after doing so for about 20 seconds, the breaker trips.

20 seconds is a reasonably long time, certainly enough to be called continuous. I think notnyt uses a 10-12 second long sine wave as his criteria for continuous amplifier output.
rhodesj is offline  
post #370 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
Let me see if I can explain. The circuit and circuit breaker do not directly limit amplifier output. The amplifier will draw as much power from the wall as it wants until the breaker trips or until other factors like sagging line voltage effect the amplifier, or the amp overheats and triggers its thermal protection, etc...

The circuit has no way to stop the amplifier from drawing as much power as it wants other than by tripping the breaker. That's why we have breakers or fuses, to prevent devices from drawing high levels of current long enough to cause a fire.

Per notnyt's testing, the NU4 will continuously output 2x 1200W bridged at 60% efficiency. That means drawing about 4000W from the wall, which it will happily do, even on a 15A circuit.

So you can play a full-volume sine wave outputting 2400W and drawing 4000W on an NU4. And after doing so for about 20 seconds, the breaker trips.

20 seconds is a reasonably long time, certainly enough to be called continuous. I think notnyt uses a 10-12 second long sine wave as his criteria for continuous amplifier output.
You're right, however we're talking about 4 ch operation not bridged. Yes that is 2400W, but we need to divide by 4, not 2 so that's 600W per channel. But that's into a 2 ohm load (4 ch bridge is same as 2 ohm each channel). We're talking 4 ohm, so 450W per channel around. But my point is I don't think 450W per channel is enough for 15" sealed. I'd go for 1000-1500

Last edited by Bassment; 07-05-2016 at 08:15 PM.
Bassment is offline  
post #371 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
Ah, I see.

From their website, The 4-channel iNUKE NU4-6000 power amplifier packs 6,000 Watts (4 x 1,600 Watts @ 2 Ohms; 2 x 3,000 Watts @ 4 Ohms).

They're quite over inflated
True they exaggerate them pretty hard. But if they used the real numbers it is still insanely impressive for the price. I love my NU4
Bassment is offline  
post #372 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
True they exaggerate them pretty hard. But if they used the real numbers it is still insanely impressive for the price. I love my NU4
agreed, I use an nu3000dsp for my transducers. does well, but I am looking for something silent to replace it with at some point. I'm also replacing my fp14000s with speaker power amps just because they're silent. the quest for silence is expensive need to find something that can output 1kw into 8 ohms or 2 ohms without noise. need a limiter and some eq as well. pita since I really like the dsp on the inuke and dynamic eq.
notnyt is offline  
post #373 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
agreed, I use an nu3000dsp for my transducers. does well, but I am looking for something silent to replace it with at some point. I'm also replacing my fp14000s with speaker power amps just because they're silent. the quest for silence is expensive need to find something that can output 1kw into 8 ohms or 2 ohms without noise. need a limiter and some eq as well. pita since I really like the dsp on the inuke and dynamic eq.
What fan is in your 3000? I have arctic f8 and they are 22.5 dB. I can't tell if the amp is on or off with my ear right on it. Literally silent
Bassment is offline  
post #374 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1458 Post(s)
Liked: 1467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
What fan is in your 3000? I have arctic f8 and they are 22.5 dB. I can't tell if the amp is on or off with my ear right on it. Literally silent
noctua nf-r8, it's silent unless the room gets hot or the amp runs for a while. I have a really low noise floor here. it's the least of my concerns at the moment, though. my hd enclosure is annoying with 8 drives spinning. can't wait for large cheap ssds. that said. the projector is the worst offender.
notnyt is offline  
post #375 of 378 Old 07-05-2016, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
You're right, however we're talking about 4 ch operation not bridged. Yes that is 2400W, but we need to divide by 4, not 2 so that's 600W per channel. But that's into a 2 ohm load (4 ch bridge is same as 2 ohm each channel). We're talking 4 ohm, so 450W per channel around. But my point is I don't think 450W per channel is enough for 15" sealed. I'd go for 1000-1500
Those numbers sound basically like a regular 2 channel 6000 but you are given an option to use it as 4 channels.
goonstopher is offline  
post #376 of 378 Old 07-06-2016, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by goonstopher View Post
Those numbers sound basically like a regular 2 channel 6000 but you are given an option to use it as 4 channels.
It is just two 3000s in one chassis. Same with the 6000. The 6000 is just a forced bridge
Bassment is offline  
post #377 of 378 Old 07-06-2016, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
It is just two 3000s in one chassis. Same with the 6000. The 6000 is just a forced bridge
That's the 6000. Are you saying the 6000*4 is also?
goonstopher is offline  
post #378 of 378 Old 07-06-2016, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 741 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by goonstopher View Post
That's the 6000. Are you saying the 6000*4 is also?
Yes the Nu4-6000 and the Nu-6000 are the exact same physical amp, however, the Nu-6000 is a forced bridge, so it's 2 ch. The nu4-6000 is an optional bridge, so it's either 2 or 4 channels. And the actual amp board inside is basically just two nu-3000's. With a different power supply
Bassment is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off