New iNuke NU4 6000 - 4 channel amp - Page 3 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2013, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Freniata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bassment
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

I should have mine today. Hopefully I have some time to hook it up.

Looking forward to your comments...
Freniata is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Decadent_Spectre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

horrible pop compressed recordings have peak to average in the 3-6db range.

Have you seen any music with a 3db crest factor? If so I'd like to hear what track has a 3db crest. Also how do you check a tracks crest factor with something like audacity?
Decadent_Spectre is offline  
Old 08-29-2013, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decadent_Spectre View Post

Have you seen any music with a 3db crest factor? If so I'd like to hear what track has a 3db crest. Also how do you check a tracks crest factor with something like audacity?
The TT Dynamic Range meter plugin for Foobar will provide the crest factor. The dynamic range number provided is actually the crest factor. You can also use JRiver Media Center V19 to analyze your audio and it will provide the same crest factor value.

You can checkout the DR Dynamic Range database for songs with a crest factor of 3.
LTD02 likes this.
desertdome is online now  
Old 08-29-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Decadent_Spectre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertdome View Post

The TT Dynamic Range meter plugin for Foobar will provide the crest factor. The dynamic range number provided is actually the crest factor. You can also use JRiver Media Center V19 to analyze your audio and it will provide the same crest factor value.

You can checkout the DR Dynamic Range database for songs with a crest factor of 3.

Thanks! Very interesting link, much appreciated.

Is there something for Winamp that provides the crest factor?
Decadent_Spectre is offline  
Old 08-30-2013, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jonathanc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
http://www.dr.loudness-war.info/details.php?id=1179

Artist: Iggy And The Stooges
Album: Raw Power (Remastered Reissue)
Year: 1997

Basically, one of the best albums in history, remastered to also be the most compressed.

Thats right, 0db crest factor on many of the tracks, none better than 2db.
LTD02 likes this.
jonathanc is offline  
Old 08-31-2013, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freniata View Post

Looking forward to your comments...

This thing is so light compared to my XPA-5. Its amazing to think it puts out twice the power.

I'm a dumbass though. I forgot this thing needs Speakon connectors. They're on their way from Monoprice, but it'll take like 5 days plus the weekend to get them.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-01-2013, 07:19 PM
Member
 
paskal9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: tropics @97% humidity
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

The high frequency problem with Class D has two major components:

(1) Output device issues leading to a rise in high frequency nonlinear distortion
(2) High frequency source impedance issues related to the high level ultrasonic filter which ultimately traces back to switching speed issues with the output devices.

There has been progress in both these areas, and more can be expected.

Current performance of the best class D amplifiers is probably good enough right now so that there should be no audible artifacts.

However there are a lot of class D amps being sold, such as "T-amps" that are legacy designs and have these problems in spades.
new (current) generation of class d have come a long way. the past few years have seen major development being made that improved a lot of problems.
new output devices, new integrated drivers designed specifically for class d switching, with optimized parameters just for audio class d is now widely available.

it should take manufacturers a couple more years before it's used in their products.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

This thing is so light compared to my XPA-5. Its amazing to think it puts out twice the power.
wimpy SMPS power supply, hence the light weight.
'wimpy' in the sense that it won't be able to sustain the current required to output continuous sine wave at 100% power for more than a few second. good enough for music power, but surely wimpy for sine waves.

paskal9 is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by paskal9 View Post

good enough for music power, but surely wimpy for sine waves.

Yeah, I know what you mean. The other night when I sat down to enjoy "Ode to 37 Hz" I was sorely disappointed by the lack of presence... rolleyes.gif

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 06:03 PM
Member
 
paskal9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: tropics @97% humidity
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Yeah, I know what you mean. The other night when I sat down to enjoy "Ode to 37 Hz" I was sorely disappointed by the lack of presence... rolleyes.gif

-Suntan
you should run the program at 30% duty cycle to let the reservoir caps recharge. biggrin.gif

paskal9 is offline  
Old 09-02-2013, 06:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17,111
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 1270
"Have you seen any music with a 3db crest factor? If so I'd like to hear what track has a 3db crest. Also how do you check a tracks crest factor with something like audacity?"

load it into audacity. on the left side in the track window there is a little dropdown menu where you can switch from waveform to waveform db. the difference between the light blue and the dark blue is the crest factor.

see also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
Old 09-03-2013, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Decadent_Spectre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

"Have you seen any music with a 3db crest factor? If so I'd like to hear what track has a 3db crest. Also how do you check a tracks crest factor with something like audacity?"

load it into audacity. on the left side in the track window there is a little dropdown menu where you can switch from waveform to waveform db. the difference between the light blue and the dark blue is the crest factor.

see also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_war

Thank you.
Decadent_Spectre is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 06:17 AM
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,530
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8DOGG View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by nethien View Post

Just got my Inuke NU 6000, i should have waited a little more. Only 3 weeks ago i was told no scheduled release date yet for this beast in Europe.
One question : in the owner's manual, i did not fond any mention about the exact speaker connector needed to get the power to my DIY subs. I found both 2 pole and 4 pole Neutrik/Speakon connectors. Does the speaker terminal on the Inuke take both or is there a difference ?
Sorry for the thread hijack and noob question.

I use 2 pole speakons on my 6000. You can use either one.

It depends on the amp and what you want to do. Some amps need a 4 pole speakon to be bridged, for example. 4 pole Speakons are sort of like the universal speakon.
arnyk is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 06:21 AM
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,530
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 1205
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

"Have you seen any music with a 3db crest factor?

It would have to be a sine wave or something very similar to a square wave with slight distorition. Music usually has a minimum crest factor of 6 dB.

Quote:
If so I'd like to hear what track has a 3db crest.

Very rare. Even sustained organ pedal notes have a higher crest factor than 3 dB.
Quote:
Also how do you check a tracks crest factor with something like audacity?"

google on crest factor vst plug
arnyk is offline  
Old 09-04-2013, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Ok, I just hooked up my SEOS towers to the first two channels. Its midnight so I can't really drive them yet.

First impressions... I swear I think these sound better than my XPA-5 so far, even at low volume. These must have lower gain, as I ran Trinnov with each gain knob at half, and it could still use a little more of a twist before calibration.

I'll blast them tomorrow and see how they hold up. So far so good.

Pretty stellar for the price, considering I haven't even hooked my surrounds up to it yet.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-05-2013, 01:38 AM
Member
 
paskal9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: tropics @97% humidity
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

Ok, I just hooked up my SEOS towers to the first two channels. Its midnight so I can't really drive them yet.

First impressions... I swear I think these sound better than my XPA-5 so far, even at low volume. These must have lower gain, as I ran Trinnov with each gain knob at half, and it could still use a little more of a twist before calibration.

I'll blast them tomorrow and see how they hold up. So far so good.

Pretty stellar for the price, considering I haven't even hooked my surrounds up to it yet.
are they noisy? say, compared to your average vacuum cleaner?

paskal9 is offline  
Old 09-05-2013, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by paskal9 View Post

are they noisy? say, compared to your average vacuum cleaner?

Of course. They have the standard wind tunnel fan in them that needs to be modded. I usually run pro amps a few days to make sure they work before attempting that.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-05-2013, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Here are the RMS numbers that were hard to find. They weren't on the Behringer site.

8 ohms Impedance, Bridged :(2X) 1250W RMS 1500W Peak
4 ohms Impedance, Bridged :(2X) 2075W RMS 3000W Peak
8 ohms Impedance:(4X) 315W RMS 440W Peak
4 ohms Impedance:(4X) 620W RMS 820W Peak
2 ohms Impedance:(4X) 1040W RMS 1520W Peak

315W is excellent for 8 ohm, and 620W is perfect per channel or bridged to my dual SI's if I want.

I highly doubt those bridged numbers are accurate though.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-05-2013, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
what's the price on it? I just sold me EP4000 and have four 4 ohm Fi IB3 18's
PGT FTW is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 174
I wonder if they will ever come out with a 4 channel iNuke-dsp version?

By the way: I am looking for an iNuke-3000dsp and an iNuke1000dsp. If anyone has a used one for a good price, please PM me!
Martycool007 is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I don't think this amp can do bridged mono.

The back diagram is very confusing, and it doesn't look the same as the previous Inuke and ep4000 versions.

I basically wired +1 and +2 like I did for my EP4000, channels A and C, B and D seem to be bridgeable. I bridged B+D by flipping the switch to bridge, inserted the speakon into output B, and I get no sub sound. Crossovers are on full range.

I could just unscrew my sub and rewire the inside as +1 -1 +2 -2, but I'd really rather not have to do that. Any ideas?

Crap, I can't do that. I have D4 specifically to bridge it. Not sure I'd want to go 2 ohm into 2 channels.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 06:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Nevermind I think I may have figured it out. I hope. I do have sound now, just not sure if I'm getting full bridged power.

Turns out A+B, and C+D are the bridged channels. It makes more sense, but the diagram doesn't look like it labels them that way.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 07:18 PM
Member
 
paskal9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: tropics @97% humidity
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

Nevermind I think I may have figured it out. I hope. I do have sound now, just not sure if I'm getting full bridged power.

Turns out A+B, and C+D are the bridged channels. It makes more sense, but the diagram doesn't look like it labels them that way.
you won't get any sound if you wire them wrong. if it's making a sound across 2 channel (like A+B) it means you're doing it right, and you've increased the output power limit.
the speaker however, only draw as much power as it needs and not any more. and the amp won't send more power than required.

as such, it makes no sense to provide the speakers with kilowatts of power when 50 is enough.

paskal9 is offline  
Old 09-06-2013, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by paskal9 View Post

you won't get any sound if you wire them wrong. if it's making a sound across 2 channel (like A+B) it means you're doing it right, and you've increased the output power limit.
the speaker however, only draw as much power as it needs and not any more. and the amp won't send more power than required.

as such, it makes no sense to provide the speakers with kilowatts of power when 50 is enough.

The bridged channel is for my dual subs. I just can't think of a good way to confirm that I am getting bridged power, and not a single channel's worth. Since the Speakon is wired correctly at +1 and+2, I don't believe single channel output would be possible wired this way.

Either way, my powerful fronts AND dual 18" subs are being run off this one amp, and they sound just as fantastic as they did with the XPA-5 and EP4000. In fact, I think the speakers sound a little better, with less sibilance, which I believe was from the XPA-5's high gain. A tiny, not much noticeable difference, but still for the better.

The only way they could make this better is with built in DSP that can handle less than 20hz for not much more $$$. I could then even ditch my MiniDSP.

Sherwood R-972 (Trinnov) + SEOS Towers + 2x Stereo Integrity 18" subs + SEOS Surrounds + INuke NU4-6000 + MiniDSP = "Cheap", Reference, better than theater sound.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-08-2013, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

Here are the RMS numbers that were hard to find. They weren't on the Behringer site.

8 ohms Impedance, Bridged :(2X) 1250W RMS 1500W Peak
4 ohms Impedance, Bridged :(2X) 2075W RMS 3000W Peak
8 ohms Impedance:(4X) 315W RMS 440W Peak
4 ohms Impedance:(4X) 620W RMS 820W Peak
2 ohms Impedance:(4X) 1040W RMS 1520W Peak

315W is excellent for 8 ohm, and 620W is perfect per channel or bridged to my dual SI's if I want.

I highly doubt those bridged numbers are accurate though.

The bridged numbers are pretty accurate if the non-bridged numbers are accurate.

For example, if the amp is rated 100 watts per channel at 8 ohms and 150 watts per channel at 4 ohms, then bridged operation at 8 ohms will be 300 watts.

8 ohms bridged = sum of 4 ohms watts per channel unbridged
4 ohms bridged = sum of 2 ohms watts per channel unbridged
2 ohms bridged = sum of 1 ohm watts per channel unbridged

The latter two cases are why some amps don't care for 4 ohms bridged operation (amp feels the load like 2 ohms per channel) and why even fewer like 2 ohm bridged because that's like running 1 ohm per channel.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 09-08-2013, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post

The bridged numbers are pretty accurate if the non-bridged numbers are accurate.

For example, if the amp is rated 100 watts per channel at 8 ohms and 150 watts per channel at 4 ohms, then bridged operation at 8 ohms will be 300 watts.

8 ohms bridged = sum of 4 ohms watts per channel unbridged
4 ohms bridged = sum of 2 ohms watts per channel unbridged
2 ohms bridged = sum of 1 ohm watts per channel unbridged

The latter two cases are why some amps don't care for 4 ohms bridged operation (amp feels the load like 2 ohms per channel) and why even fewer like 2 ohm bridged because that's like running 1 ohm per channel.

That's pretty awesome then. It would make this basically 2 EP4000s in a 12lb package, for only around $100 more.

Very impressed so far. This amp and the Peavey IPR7500 are some serious new affordable heavy hitters.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-08-2013, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
if price were equal, would you buy one of these or a pair of Crown XLS-1500's to drive four 4ohm Fi 18IB3's? I've got a 3 band PEQ in my proc.
PGT FTW is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 12:14 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,719
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

That's pretty awesome then. It would make this basically 2 EP4000s in a 12lb package, for only around $100 more.

Very impressed so far. This amp and the Peavey IPR7500 are some serious new affordable heavy hitters.

Damn right! These will be awesome as I have six 4000's on rack. I could cut down the rack space by half and turn ~200lbs into about 36lbs. biggrin.gif

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
Old 09-09-2013, 12:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve nn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Damn right! These will be awesome as I have six 4000's on rack. I could cut down the rack space by half and turn ~200lbs into about 36lbs. biggrin.gif

And then you could give me the 4000's! no one would be fine.. Thanks Scott cool.gif

Klipsch RB-75
Klipsch C-7
Klipsch RB-35
On-going SW management class
Denon
PS3
steve nn is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post

Damn right! These will be awesome as I have six 4000's on rack. I could cut down the rack space by half and turn ~200lbs into about 36lbs. biggrin.gif

I didn't even notice I said $100 more. That's for just 1 EP4000. 2 EP4000s would be ~$750, while this is ~$470.

New fans are on the way too.

Moving and shipping out my 70+lb XPA-5 was not fun today. I don't miss lugging that thing around at all. Should make someone else happy though like it did for me.
bhazard is offline  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
where are you seeing $470? Best I could find was P-E at $500
PGT FTW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off