New iNuke NU4 6000 - 4 channel amp - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 162 Old 09-09-2013, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wormraper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 4,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGT FTW View Post

where are you seeing $470? Best I could find was P-E at $500

the labor day code for parts express is still active. add a $0.29 screw as filler to break the $500 mark and use code LDFIFTY at checkout to get it for $450
wormraper is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 162 Old 09-09-2013, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGT FTW View Post

where are you seeing $470? Best I could find was P-E at $500

Call GearClubDirect and ask for the best price. They shipped within 2 days too.
bhazard is offline  
post #93 of 162 Old 09-10-2013, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGT FTW View Post

if price were equal, would you buy one of these or a pair of Crown XLS-1500's to drive four 4ohm Fi 18IB3's? I've got a 3 band PEQ in my proc.

any opinion here? About to pull the trigger....
PGT FTW is offline  
post #94 of 162 Old 09-10-2013, 08:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,723
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 1121
if you go crown xls, why not get the 2500, wire the drivers in parallel for 2 ohms per channel and run it that way? or do you need independent eq on each driver?

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #95 of 162 Old 09-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have a deal pending for 1500's at about $275/ea (new). I need an extra anyways for my outdoor subs so my thought would be to run a pair of 1500's for my basement system and maintain some headroom vs. loading a single amp down (which is how I was running my EP4000). With a Class D, is the concept of headroom and damping factor no longer relevant?
PGT FTW is offline  
post #96 of 162 Old 09-13-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Did the fan mod for the 2 fans with some decently powerful yet silent 12v Lepa fans from Newegg. I went with these over the Noctua because they were cheaper, more powerful, and not much louder.

The amp is whisper quiet now. There is also no "shroud" inside like the previous Inuke amps.

jhgkak likes this.
bhazard is offline  
post #97 of 162 Old 09-14-2013, 04:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGT FTW View Post

With a Class D, is the concept of headroom and damping factor no longer relevant?

No, headroom and damping factor have the same relevance as ever. Damping factor is less of a consideration in a system that has been equalized in place, but that is true for amplifiers of all kinds, whether linear or switchmode.
arnyk is offline  
post #98 of 162 Old 09-14-2013, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

Did the fan mod for the 2 fans with some decently powerful yet silent 12v Lepa fans from Newegg. I went with these over the Noctua because they were cheaper, more powerful, and not much louder.

The amp is whisper quiet now. There is also no "shroud" inside like the previous Inuke amps.


Cool, good to hear! Would you mind sharing the model/part numbers for those interested?
Gorilla83 is online now  
post #99 of 162 Old 09-14-2013, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gorilla83 View Post

Cool, good to hear! Would you mind sharing the model/part numbers for those interested?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835494011

The Lepa is over 20% stronger than the Noctua, half the price, and only a few DB louder (still whisper quiet). Would be good to use on any 12V Inuke.
bhazard is offline  
post #100 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 04:40 PM
Member
 
VTOLfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was considering buying the NU4-6000 until I noticed that 2x NU3000 would cost me $7 less than 1x NU4-6000. For $150 more I can get 2x NU6000, looking at it from a bang-per-buck perspective, paying a little more for 2x the power makes more sense.

Unless you are really short on rack space, I would not recommend this amp. Not in Europe anyway, prices may make more sense in the US or elsewhere. I'm not bashing it, I have a rack full of Behringer amps and other Behringer stuff. The NU4-6000 simply does not make sense to me at the current price, it should be cheaper than two NU3000's.

Also, has anyone properly tested this amp? How much power does it put out before it shuts down? Like others said in this thread it looks like two NU3000's in one case sharing one power supply. Has the power supply also been beefed up to twice the size of the one in the NU3000?
VTOLfreak is offline  
post #101 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
any suggestions on a line driver that might increase input voltage? I've found on both my setups that the Crown needs a lot of gain.
PGT FTW is offline  
post #102 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 05:33 PM
Member
 
VTOLfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/DI800.aspx

I am using this active DI box to do exactly that. Note that it has a fixed 20dB gain, you might need to attenuate the signal again to avoid clipping the input of the amp. (or look for an active DI box with gain controls)
VTOLfreak is offline  
post #103 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTOLfreak View Post

I was considering buying the NU4-6000 until I noticed that 2x NU3000 would cost me $7 less than 1x NU4-6000. For $150 more I can get 2x NU6000, looking at it from a bang-per-buck perspective, paying a little more for 2x the power makes more sense.

Unless you are really short on rack space, I would not recommend this amp. Not in Europe anyway, prices may make more sense in the US or elsewhere. I'm not bashing it, I have a rack full of Behringer amps and other Behringer stuff. The NU4-6000 simply does not make sense to me at the current price, it should be cheaper than two NU3000's.

Also, has anyone properly tested this amp? How much power does it put out before it shuts down? Like others said in this thread it looks like two NU3000's in one case sharing one power supply. Has the power supply also been beefed up to twice the size of the one in the NU3000?

2x NU3000 = $600

1x NU4-6000 = $470 shipped.

I fail to see the big savings you get from having two amps? 2 bridged channels have way more power than 2 of my 18" SI's will ever need, and sounds just as great as my EP4000 did.
bhazard is offline  
post #104 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 05:48 PM
Member
 
VTOLfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhazard View Post

2x NU3000 = $600

1x NU4-6000 = $470 shipped
That's what I get for living in Europe then. Overhere the price difference is almost nothing. smile.gif I am currently running 6x EPX4000. 2 of them are bridged for the subs.
VTOLfreak is offline  
post #105 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTOLfreak View Post

http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/DI800.aspx

I am using this active DI box to do exactly that. Note that it has a fixed 20dB gain, you might need to attenuate the signal again to avoid clipping the input of the amp. (or look for an active DI box with gain controls)

Found a couple of options on P-E.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=245-868&utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=Default&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default

That will work for my outdoor setup but I've already got balanced out on my home theater so looks like I need a DI type box.
PGT FTW is offline  
post #106 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,786
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 318
The Cleanbox will work fine.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is offline  
post #107 of 162 Old 09-23-2013, 06:31 PM
Member
 
VTOLfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
A line mixer with balanced in and outputs would work even better if your source is already a balanced signal.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=248-6306

''Usable as 6-In / 6-Out level matching amplifier or direct inject (DI) box'', it can provide up to 15dB gain.
VTOLfreak is offline  
post #108 of 162 Old 09-24-2013, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I was looking at that exact unit for my balanced system with two XLS-1500's and the Cleanbox for my other one.
PGT FTW is offline  
post #109 of 162 Old 09-26-2013, 02:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I have six cleanboxes. They work great at boosting the low voltage from my Onkyo Tx-Nr 1009 to my pro amps.
Swolephile is offline  
post #110 of 162 Old 09-26-2013, 10:35 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,749
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 666 Post(s)
Liked: 869
PGT, or anyone else, PM me about Bump boxes, I have several I don't need anymore. A few cleanboxes, an ATI mm100 which is quite nice, and a samson s-convert.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #111 of 162 Old 09-26-2013, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
and I just ordered one...
PGT FTW is offline  
post #112 of 162 Old 09-26-2013, 11:28 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,749
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 666 Post(s)
Liked: 869
Haha, oh well.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is online now  
post #113 of 162 Old 09-27-2013, 10:55 AM
Member
 
ianick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just picked up a NU3000. Is there any way to have it power on when the rest of the system powers on? I didn't immediately notice a way but thought I would ask. Thanks!
ianick is offline  
post #114 of 162 Old 09-29-2013, 06:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Get a SmartStrip

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #115 of 162 Old 10-04-2013, 08:54 AM
Member
 
ianick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Have you used a smart strip with a power amp? Will there be any issues with the high current draw of an amp connected to such a power strip?
ianick is offline  
post #116 of 162 Old 10-04-2013, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 187
jpmst3 is online now  
post #117 of 162 Old 10-04-2013, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianick View Post

Have you used a smart strip with a power amp? Will there be any issues with the high current draw of an amp connected to such a power strip?

yes, my whole system including an ipr3000 and 7x100 w/ch receiver

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #118 of 162 Old 11-16-2013, 07:17 AM
Member
 
pro10is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm considering an NU4 6000 as a much less expensive and possibly better alternative to an Emo XPA-3 to power the LCR channels of my 9.1 ch HT system but I don't know what I'd do with the fourth channel. My XV-15 subs have their own amps so that's not an option. Can I bridge two channels for the center and run the other two to my left and right channel? I hate to waste this much power on just the surround channels.

 

Can this $470 class D amp possibly sound as good as the $719 class A/B XPA-3 for $249 less? Opinions?

pro10is is offline  
post #119 of 162 Old 11-16-2013, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
going rate on used XPA-3's is $500. I'd be inclined to go that way, given their 5yr warranty
PGT FTW is offline  
post #120 of 162 Old 11-16-2013, 08:17 AM
Member
 
VTOLfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
sure, you can bridge one pair of channels and use the NU4 as a 3 channel amp. Download the manual from the Behringer site for more info. You might have to rewire a 4 pole speakon connector because the inuke series only have speakon outputs.
VTOLfreak is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Emotiva Xpa 5 5 Channel Power Amplifier

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off