Port Noise - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-31-2013, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UDubFan17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Albany, Oregon
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DIY cylinder sub built by someone else. Had a 3" flared port in it which had very little port noise. I decided to replace it with a 4" flared port to completely get rid of port noise. After i replaced it i get much more port noise at high volumes now. I was wondering if glue runover inside the port might be causing this? the 3" was smooth inside and on th 4" i might have went a little crazy with the glue. Would that cause port noise? Thanks for any info.
UDubFan17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-31-2013, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 250

Did you calculate a new port length for the 4" port? If you kept the port length the same then the box will be tuned higher.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-31-2013, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UDubFan17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Albany, Oregon
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tuned the 4" to 18 hz same as the 3" was at. The 4" is twice as long as the 3" was. 9in to 18in. I might tear it apart and scrape all the glue off and be a little more careful on my glue application lol
UDubFan17 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-03-2013, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
UDubFan17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Albany, Oregon
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scraped all the glue off and still had the noise. Feel like an idiot but found the problem. My sub cable is long and was looped and left under the sub. The damn cable was vibrating off the metal feet i have on the sub. Well the sub sounds perfect now lol.
UDubFan17 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-04-2013, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
MemX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 48
lol

I did similar - forgot about the computer monitors and cabling on top of the box and instead pulled everything apart, removed the drivers to check they weren't broken, then realised... :facepalm: tongue.gif
MemX is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off