Dual LMS 5400 Ultras - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 138 Old 04-08-2014, 08:09 PM
d_c
Advanced Member
 
d_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Congrats on the Ultras! Welcome to the club. The sound you are looking for comes from more power to these as the others have said. I started with the ep4000 bridged to each and then went to the clone fp14000, and the difference is huge. Pm me and we could work something out if you want to hear the Ultras powered with the fp since I think we live within 20 minutes from each other.
d_c is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 138 Old 04-08-2014, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnitro07 View Post

I purchased 2 20 amp circuit breakers for the amps, but they'll be installed in the basement where my home theater will hopefully be moved this summer. That would put 3 circuit breakers total biggrin.gif

David,

I understand exactly what you're saying. WHen I did research a while ago (I am a bit foggy on the details) the IPR7500 looked to not be bridgeable and thus I chose against it as its "rated" power was lower than the "rated" power of the EPX (not EP) I have. The EPX is "rated" at 3000 watts rms and 4000 watts peak and thus I figure its probably good for 2000 ish rms, though I haven't bench tested that. At the current moment if I turn it up I have power issues, so right now its more than enough for the room I'm in. plus...I have wood floors up here so I get plenty of shaking going on. I don't need it to hit 130 dB, my goal was to get bottom end which I have achieved so I'm happy. If, when I move to the basement, I feel my set up is underpowered because I have lost the vibrations from having a concrete floor, I might upgrade, but until then I'm happy with what I have.

I am not offended by your comments, I'm not as much of an audiophile as most of the visitors on this forum, for the most part I visit only when I buy something new...I come because I want opinions but mostly I just enjoy watching movies and I think my set up with the EPX4000s will satisfy plenty.

Very cool. It doesn't matter what sub or amp, it's the results that count, so I'm glad you are happy. Rock on!

And I know what you mean on the amps. I never did find the perfect amp(s) for my LMS 5400s, which is why I went with the SpeakerPower SP2-8000, and that still isn't enough to get the most out of them. Maybe the SP2-12000(240V) would have been good but I didn't want to be slave to a 240V circuit.
dgage is offline  
post #123 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So for fun I did some testing. I set my volt meter up on my speaker inputs and cranked it with a 80 hz test tone. with the receiver maxed out and the amp gain all the way up my multimeter registered 87 volts. WHen I test ohms it was bouncing around from 4.1 to 4.4 which would make the watts between 1720 and 1840. The amp's lights were maxed out but not clipping. However, I can't go any louder than that as my receiver was at +18 with the subs at +15

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #124 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
WVSyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnitro07 View Post

...WHen I test ohms it was bouncing around from 4.1 to 4.4 ...
A standard meter set to DC resistance will not give valid impedance

"Beware of Salesmen: They are the modern Svengali, immune to Science and Reality"
WVSyd is offline  
post #125 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVSyd View Post

A standard meter set to DC resistance will not give valid impedance

I'm using a multimeter with it set to 200 ohms (lowest setting) it registers anywhere from 4.1 - 4.6. it seemed to pause on 4.2 and 4.3 the most though. perhaps my multimeter is crap, its the only one I have.

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #126 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
WVSyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
A multimeter reads DC resistance - this is an ( AC ) reactive circuit
https://www.synaudcon.com/site/author/pat-brown/the-analog-impedance-meter-tools-of-the-trade/

"Beware of Salesmen: They are the modern Svengali, immune to Science and Reality"
WVSyd is offline  
post #127 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVSyd View Post

A multimeter reads DC resistance - this is an ( AC ) reactive circuit
https://www.synaudcon.com/site/author/pat-brown/the-analog-impedance-meter-tools-of-the-trade/

My bad I didn't read your post correctly. Its 2 bridged in series which would be 2 + 2 or 4 ohms. 4 ohms makes 87 volts 1860 or so?

Here is a link to a guy that tested the epx4000, granted in stereo 8ohm

http://electronics.forumsee.com/a/m/s/p12-30660-084095--the-behringer-epx4000-amp.html

Does that makes sense?

He said it was 440watts with 100 hz test and its rated at 530 hz

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #128 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
WVSyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
After this inspection I took the first measurement of the amplifier using my setup built on 8 ARCOL 50W resistors mounted on a heatsink
Did you test this with a resistive dummy load in the same way?

"Beware of Salesmen: They are the modern Svengali, immune to Science and Reality"
WVSyd is offline  
post #129 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
NO, I had it plugged In to my subs, since I'm not going to hurt them with these amps lol

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #130 of 138 Old 04-09-2014, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
WVSyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
A dummy load is just resistors,
A speaker load is reactive - it has a fixed dc resistive component and a reactive component that varies with frequency - together they make up impedance.

http://www.physlink.com/education/askexperts/ae517.cfm
http://www.ko4bb.com/e102/e102-9.php

"Beware of Salesmen: They are the modern Svengali, immune to Science and Reality"
WVSyd is offline  
post #131 of 138 Old 04-10-2014, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think for my purposes, I'll just use the 2 + 2 = 4 method for testing impedance biggrin.gif. I don't need exact.

more to the point,

if I can get 1800 watts out of my EPX, and the $3k SP28000 is only 2400 what is the point of spending 10x as much money? to gain 600 watts or the equivolant of another 1 dB?

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #132 of 138 Old 04-10-2014, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnitro07 View Post

I think for my purposes, I'll just use the 2 + 2 = 4 method for testing impedance biggrin.gif. I don't need exact.

more to the point,

if I can get 1800 watts out of my EPX, and the $3k SP28000 is only 2400 what is the point of spending 10x as much money? to gain 600 watts or the equivolant of another 1 dB?

Down at 10-15Hz, I doubt the EPX is putting near that. Also, as much as I'm happy with the SpeakerPower, now that the IPR 7500 and iNukes are put and getting good reviews, I'd recommend starting there. I would definitely consider the IPR 7500 a huge improvement after hearing it last weekend at Beast's. But his IPR 7500, even though rated the same watts, couldn't keep up with my SpeakerPower SP2-8000 when pushing the SI HS24.

But again, if you are happy with the sound you are getting, save your money. The goal is a nice system, not the best of everything. The room treatments probably make more of a difference once you get to a certain level of equipment.
dgage is offline  
post #133 of 138 Old 04-11-2014, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It would cost a few hundred $ to build a 4 ohm dummy load that could withstand 2000 watts...not sure I care enough to spend that

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #134 of 138 Old 04-11-2014, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnitro07 View Post

It would cost a few hundred $ to build a 4 ohm dummy load that could withstand 2000 watts...not sure I care enough to spend that

Dude, go enjoy yours subs. I have a SpeakerPower SP2-8000 and while it is a very solid amp, in all likelihood I should have bought a SP2-12000 instead to get more out of the LMS-5400s but I'm not sure I will or won't do that. I may have a SP2-8000 for sale in the future or I may not.

In the meantime, I'm going to enjoy the system as it is as it is still kick ass. I recommend you do the same and if you do get an itch later, you can scratch it but I would just go enjoy the system. Oh yeah, stay off AVS...it has a way of distorting normalcy and will result in a reduced bank account. smile.gif
dgage is offline  
post #135 of 138 Old 04-11-2014, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm real good at that, but I'm coming for the advice for my build in the basement over in the theater threads lol

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #136 of 138 Old 04-13-2014, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kcnitro07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I found a new way to cause a heart to skip a beat....

Listen to music on your new $2k subs....hear a loud pop and everything shuts off.....





stupid cat flipped the switch off that goes to the outlet the amps are currently plugged in to. stupid cat

kcnitro07 is offline  
post #137 of 138 Old 04-13-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Frick'n hate cats

Xbox One Gamertag = The Barbeerian

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is offline  
post #138 of 138 Old 04-14-2014, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcnitro07 View Post

I found a new way to cause a heart to skip a beat....

Listen to music on your new $2k subs....hear a loud pop and everything shuts off.....

stupid cat flipped the switch off that goes to the outlet the amps are currently plugged in to. stupid cat

biggrin.gif I forgot about the crazy stuff cats do.

jpmst3 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Tc Sounds Lms Ultra 5400

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off