In-wall sub with these dimensions? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-07-2013, 12:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VectorLabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I was wondering if it is possible to do a DIY in-wall sub but instead of the normal volume there is a 36Lx36Lx18H hole behind the wall that I would like to use. I was thinking about building a sealed box with those dimensions I can slide into the wall with the subs and power it with an inuke 1000. Anyone think this would be ok?
VectorLabs is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-07-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 831
that would be just fine!

subs aren't very sensitive to the shape of the enclosure, more or less.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-07-2013, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Trepidati0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Yep. The enclosure ALWAYS matters. The question is "how much". You will find some people that will swear you kicked a puppy if your enclosure doesn't meet some set of rules. You will find some people that will tweak an tweak their crossovers (DSP) to account for the enclosure in an open air environment. Then you find people who measure and measure and pretty much go "yep, it is better..but it really just doesn't matter since the room jacks up everything anyways and I should EQ for that".

I must be guilty because people say I am guilty because they chose to call me guilty because they refuse to see the truth. Much easier to be part of the mob..
Trepidati0n is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-07-2013, 07:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 831
have you got a driver in mind?

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-07-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
VectorLabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

have you got a driver in mind?

Don't know what driver yet as I as trying to figure out if it was doable. I was thinking about dual Dayton Ref 15?

Sent from my XT926 using Tapatalk 4
VectorLabs is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-07-2013, 01:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15,900
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 831
that is something like up to 11 cubic feet or so net, so there are lots of drivers that could work in that space or smaller.

as a matter of fact, dual reference 15HF's would work quite well in there. they like the larger enclosure and wouldn't need but about 250 watts each or so of power.

the 15um's might be worth a look too.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off