12 volt trigger for PA amp - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2013, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 148
My receiver has a 12 volt trigger out x2. I have run RCA wire in my walls to where my amp will be.

Can I use a headphone to RCA for my 12v trigger?

pdxrealtor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2013, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,379
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Yes, that is a common way of wiring it. The trigger typically is an 1/8" mono jack but can be adapted to any two-pole wire.

______________________________________________
Joe = LFE Addict
Joe's LOWARHORN build
Dual LMS-5400 Ultra Endtables build
jpmst3 is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 148
so a mono or stereo 3.5 plug will work?

any suggestions on a 20 amp power strip or other device that will accept a trigger input?
pdxrealtor is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,379
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Yep.

I am using mono 1/8" jacks to bare wire with a Niles switcher.
http://www.smarthome.com/6729/Niles-Audio-AC-3-Voltage-Triggered-AC-Power-Strip/p.aspx

I don't believe it is rated for 20 amps, but I have used several of these with various pro-amps and have never had an issue. I think they are 15 amp units.

You can buy something or build your own:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1303723/automatically-powering-on-pro-amps-via-relay-guide-w-pics

https://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/119

http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthread.php?22378-A-12-or-120-volt-trigger-for-your-pro-amp&highlight=trigger

______________________________________________
Joe = LFE Addict
Joe's LOWARHORN build
Dual LMS-5400 Ultra Endtables build
jpmst3 is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmst3 View Post

Yep.

I am using mono 1/8" jacks to bare wire with a Niles switcher.
http://www.smarthome.com/6729/Niles-Audio-AC-3-Voltage-Triggered-AC-Power-Strip/p.aspx

I don't believe it is rated for 20 amps, but I have used several of these with various pro-amps and have never had an issue. I think they are 15 amp units.

You can buy something or build your own:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1303723/automatically-powering-on-pro-amps-via-relay-guide-w-pics

https://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/119

http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthread.php?22378-A-12-or-120-volt-trigger-for-your-pro-amp&highlight=trigger

WOW- thanks a ton! I just got my balanced mini wired up for power and RCAs on the input side. Ordered some XLR plugs for my amp etc.....

Thanks, again! I will investigate this and go with what works best for me!!cool.gif
pdxrealtor is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 08:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18,249
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1237 Post(s)
Liked: 1555
noah mentioned smartstrip as another option.

http://catalog.bitsltd.us/power_strips/

of course, sold many places.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
Old 01-03-2014, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Would something like this be good for the relay end of this thing?

I know I know.... I could simply buy the relay and wires and etc etc..... but I am tired. So tired. I just want my amp to turn off with my receiver.

IF I can buy this and splice it into one of my 3-5 20 amp receptacle boxes and be done well..... all the better.

Seems this box would also fit right inside the big honkin' empty space I have compliments of class D tech. Might be able to just snip, wire, and add a 1/8" jack to my amp.

https://www.platt.com/CutSheets/Functional%20Devices/RIB12P.pdf
pdxrealtor is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off