dayton ultimax 15 noise - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just finished my 4cuft sealed enclosure for the dayton ultimax 15. I'm using the dayton 1000 watt plate amp to power it. The problem im having is a rattle from the driver area when played loud at low hz. Somewhere between 30 and 35 hz. I only occasionally hear it during movies but it is very noticeable when doing a frequency sweep. Could I be just overpowering it or is there something else I can check?
swc11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
swc11 is offline  
post #3 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
swc11 is offline  
post #4 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
swc11 is offline  
post #5 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the gain on the amp half way and the receiver at +2. Audyssey had it at -12. From what I've read on different forums with this size sealed and poly stuffed enclosure I shouldn't have a problem with over excursion.
swc11 is offline  
post #6 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Looneybomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Pull the driver.
Run a sweep with med power.
Did you hear the same noise?
Repeat with a tiny bit more power till you hear a bad noise.
Was it the same noise?

If you can't get it to repeat the same noise, then it's probably your box (which isn't very likely)
Normally, any noise comes from the driver being pushed too hard.

YID DIY
Looneybomber is offline  
post #7 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 4,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Could be a loose screw or something in the box or amp that rattles at that resonant frequency. Go with Looney's advice and report back. As Looney said, unlikely. Most likely it's the driver.
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #8 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did do that with the test tone on my denon receiver and started hearing it at +7.
swc11 is offline  
post #9 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ive checked the screws several times and as far as I can tell there is no air leaks. I used titebond 2 wood glue and screws to assemble box. Silicone caulk to seal all seams and 4 lbs poly fill
swc11 is offline  
post #10 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is the first time ive ever built anything like this and maybe im expecting too much. It gets loud enough to rattle the windows without the driver itself making any noise at all. I just thought with a driver max rating of 1600 watts I couldn't over drive it with 1000
swc11 is offline  
post #11 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
N8DOGG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Yank that driver and free air test it. You will know without a doubt what it making the noise when you do. Check over the driver for loose parts while it's out.

Blasting brown notes for 10 years and counting!

N8DOGG is online now  
post #12 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Everything on the driver looked good
swc11 is offline  
post #13 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I downloaded winisd but cant figure out how to use it. Can anyone here run the numbers on my setup and let me know what this sub should be capable of?
swc11 is offline  
post #14 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 06:33 PM
Member
 
SXRDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You have over excursion with 1000W and 4 cu. ft. The 1600W rating has nothing to do with excursion capability. It is based on the amount of current you could put through the voice coil without melting something. This would be a candidate for a smaller box with eq. smile.gif BTW, parts express says 800W rms


SXRDork: SXRD is a technology. My name is Vann. Usernames are for life...
SXRDork is offline  
post #15 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I did see on parts express the 800 rms but it also says 1600 max. I built this box based off the recommended size on their website. The dayton amp has eq so maybe I could just dial back the receiver setting to -4 or so and add eq down low. Parts express also told me that 4 cuft and 1000 watts would be perfect for this sub
swc11 is offline  
post #16 of 132 Old 10-16-2013, 08:36 PM
Member
 
SXRDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Well, I had a bad rattle in a sub once that wasn't from the woofer or the box. Turned out I was clipping the signal to the amp. My receiver was sending too hot a signal to my equalizer which, in turn, sent too hot a clipped signal to my amp and that's when the bad noises happened. It is possible +2 dB on your sub channel is sending too much voltage to the Dayton amp and causing it to clip. Who knows? The PE guys ought to know a good design for this woofer. I just plugged in the numbers...

BTW, don't add eq! At least not until you've figured things out...

SXRDork: SXRD is a technology. My name is Vann. Usernames are for life...
SXRDork is offline  
post #17 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 105


Assuming this plot is correct, and with a driver Fs of ~20Hz your prob exceeding X-max 25-40 Hz. Thats likely the sound your hearing. You dont hear it below ~25Hz likely due to the impedance spike of the driver and signal chain roll off below that.

How does the FR look?

Test the driver free air.

If you find the box is just too big and too much power(over excursion), Options:

Close off some of the box inside to effectively reduce volume.

or

You have EQ on that amp try a -3db cut @ 30Hz with a moderate Q and see of the clanking goes away.

or

Turn it down(I never had good results with this one biggrin.gif)

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #18 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will I end up with the same output keeping the box size the same and turning volume down as I would if I made the box smaller and adding eq?
swc11 is offline  
post #19 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 09:10 AM
Member
 
SXRDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
According to the simulation I have, 3 cu. ft. looks better. Below is excursion and SPL for 3 cu. ft. and 4 cu. ft. with 1000W, NO eq. The 3 cu. ft. box actually gives a little more SPL for music and only loses out a hair in the low end for movies....



SXRDork: SXRD is a technology. My name is Vann. Usernames are for life...
SXRDork is offline  
post #20 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 09:13 AM
Member
 
SXRDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Looks like the 22mm xmax in the plots may also be incorrect. I just downloaded the .wdr file from HTS. PE says xmax is 19mm so there is a possibility you are way over-shooting with 1000W. 2.5 cu. ft. might be a safer bet



SXRDork: SXRD is a technology. My name is Vann. Usernames are for life...
SXRDork is offline  
post #21 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there something I can fill the box with to lower the volume or better to build a new box?
swc11 is offline  
post #22 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
SXRDork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I like how your current box is built, looks really sturdy. You could experiment by putting bricks inside to reduce the volume. See if you can make the noises go away. If not, maybe it was something else. You can always remove bricks later if you want to. The filler could be anything solid that will displace air volume but making it heavy like bricks or sand bags will reduce the chance that it will create its own noises by rattling around...

SXRDork: SXRD is a technology. My name is Vann. Usernames are for life...
SXRDork is offline  
post #23 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Sandbags.

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is online now  
post #24 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good to hear I dont need to build another box. Took forever to build this one when I only get 30 minutes a day of free time. Thanks for the help. Probably should have joined here and asked questions before starting this build.
swc11 is offline  
post #25 of 132 Old 10-17-2013, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Audiophile2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by swc11 View Post

I have the gain on the amp half way and the receiver at +2. Audyssey had it at -12. From what I've read on different forums with this size sealed and poly stuffed enclosure I shouldn't have a problem with over excursion.
Based on this, you are running the sub WAY hot. If setup set it at the minimum volume it could, it is likely that the correct setting would have been even lower, then you've added 14db on top of that...then you are testing it with high volume test tones (in another comment you said you were 7db over reference, meaning the sub was at least 21db over reference). Simply put, more than likely you are pushing either the amp or the driver past their limit.
Audiophile2k is offline  
post #26 of 132 Old 10-18-2013, 11:43 AM
Member
 
platoon2063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yeah, no need to build another box. You could pick up a 6ft 2 x 4, cut it into 12" pieces and glue it in the box. The 2 x 4 costs about $5 and weighs very little, so there wouldn't be much added weight to your existing enclosure.

Do something like this and then re-run audyssey.
platoon2063 is offline  
post #27 of 132 Old 10-18-2013, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've turned the receiver down to -5 and the gain on the amp a little below half. Still has decent output and no rattle from driver. And way better than the old klh 8 inch sub it replaced.
swc11 is offline  
post #28 of 132 Old 10-18-2013, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I still might try the 2x4 suggestion especially since it wont add much weight. It already weighs 110 lbs.
swc11 is offline  
post #29 of 132 Old 10-18-2013, 12:01 PM
Member
 
platoon2063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by swc11 View Post

I still might try the 2x4 suggestion especially since it wont add much weight. It already weighs 110 lbs.

If you have the room in the box. The 2 x 4 method is an easy way to take up some volume. You might need to use a longer 2 x 4 than what I stated, though. Is there an alternate location for your sub? If so, you may try it there and re-run Audyssey to see if there is a noticeable (better) difference. I would re-run Audyssey anyways if you haven't already. It may not have gotten a proper read the first go round.
platoon2063 is offline  
post #30 of 132 Old 10-20-2013, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
swc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there another type of enclosure for this amp and driver that would get better performance? From what ive read this driver is better suited for sealed.
swc11 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
Dayton Audio Um15 22 15 Ultimax Dvc Subwoofer 2 Ohms Per Coil

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off