active vs passive Xovers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 39 Old 11-11-2013, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm starting a DYI speaker project and during my typical internet scouring, I came across active crossovers. The one in particular was a plate amp system 400w 2. I have no experience with this, Even though this subject has probably been discussed a few times on this site, I would like to ask about it again. I want to build a 2.5 tower using Usher 8945As and Vita XT25 tweeters. I'm kind of interested in the active crossover plate because of its simplicity. I am most worried about getting a set of passive crossovers right the first time. From what I read, thats the hardest part. anyway any opinions or experience would really help. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 Old 11-11-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike47 View Post

I'm starting a DYI speaker project and during my typical internet scouring, I came across active crossovers. The one in particular was a plate amp system 400w 2. I have no experience with this, Even though this subject has probably been discussed a few times on this site, I would like to ask about it again. I want to build a 2.5 tower using Usher 8945As and Vita XT25 tweeters. I'm kind of interested in the active crossover plate because of its simplicity. I am most worried about getting a set of passive crossovers right the first time. From what I read, thats the hardest part. anyway any opinions or experience would really help. Thanks.

With no details who can tell what equipment you are talking about.

Among plate amps with DSPs, the ones from MiniDSP seem to be the most interesting of those that I know about:

http://www.minidsp.com/products/plate-amplifiers
post #3 of 39 Old 11-11-2013, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post