Pro Amp Relay Box - NASTY power down thump - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 45 Old 12-10-2013, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanJ View Post

I looked in my inuke 3000 DSP and it does not have the same power switch as yours does. Mine is just a simple DPST switch. I just have 2 wires, both blue that go into my simple switch.

For your amp I would do a little more testing before purchasing anything. I am curious about the smaller wires going to that switch.

Does either of those small wires have power when the amp is shut down?
When the amp is on are both the red and black small wires at the same voltage?
When you are turning off the amp, does one or both of those wires still have voltage? for how long?

You probably can get by with 2 separate relays or a DPDT 12v relay, but it would help to know what is happening with those low voltage lines.

You read my mind. I plan to do the above when I get home tonight. I'd like to do it with one relay as it will simplify and save money.
sslv2pwned is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 45 Old 12-10-2013, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I did some testing on the small wires. Testing shows that the small wires do not carry power. They are used to close the circuit. I verified this by removing the wire from the main board and jumpering the pins. When powering up the amp with the wires removed and the pins jumpered, the amp powers up normally. However, the push button on/off switch only works to power on the amp. Just like when I was using the relay on the main wires, the amp would not shut off. Once the amp is on, pushing the power button has no effect.

I am still thinking that a DPST relay will work. This way I can use a single trigger to control both the mains power and break continuity of the small wires.

Thoughts?
sslv2pwned is online now  
post #33 of 45 Old 12-10-2013, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,075
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 333
notnyt is online now  
post #34 of 45 Old 12-10-2013, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

yes

Thanks for all your help, notnyt!
sslv2pwned is online now  
post #35 of 45 Old 12-11-2013, 12:43 AM
Senior Member
 
autox320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sounds exactly like the EPX series behringer amps like I mentioned in post 4. The EP series was able to wire inline with the front switch but the EPX are using a soft touch type circuit for delaying power down. Acted exactly like you describe they'd come on but wouldn't turn off. I then put the relay inline of the incoming power supply it works just fine. I may play with the front panel switch again just to see what else can be done like bypassing the switch using the relay.

Post what you end up doing and the install.

"I should really see what dB levels I'm pushing. Long as it can't foam my beer during a movie we are ok "
autox320 is offline  
post #36 of 45 Old 12-11-2013, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
NathanJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It seems to me like you may also be able to trigger the built in relay directly. It is a 12v relay. If I were to attempt that I would use a diode in line with the incoming 12v from the AVR to protect the AVR from the amp backfeeding 12v to it.

When you jumped the 2 small pins, does the amplifier turn on?
NathanJ is offline  
post #37 of 45 Old 12-24-2013, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have successfully installed the relays in both my iNuke 6000 DSP's. No more nasty thump.

Relay used: General Purpose Relays DPST-NO 12VDC 25A

- Spliced mains power return line (red wire) and low voltage return wire (red).
- Power switch still works to power off AMP
- Triggered by 12v wall wart
- Belkin smart power strip used to activate relay

This was a fun project that almost cost me a lot of money. I made two stupid mistakes:

Mistake #1

I thought the low voltage wire was connected to pins on the switch like on the main board. Wrong. The plastic clip on the end was only used to hold the wires in place. The wire was actually soldered to the switch board. I ended up breaking off the red wire from the board and had to re-solder them back on. To make matters worse, I broke off the black wire when trying to clean out and remove the old solder from the hole for the red wire. I thought for sure it was a goner, but I was able to get them both soldered back on and working. Made sure to use my multimetermeter to verify continuity and separation of each wire. This was my first attempt at circuit board soldering.

Mistake #2

I am not using the 12v trigger on my AVR because I fried them. I was using RCA cables for the 12v relay trigger. When I spliced them, I didn't see two strands of the outside wire that I ended up soldering to the center wire. Therefore the outside strands were shorting the inside strands from the start. When I plugged them into the AVR, I knew something was wrong when I smelt and could see smoke. I am so very bummed about this. I haven't taken apart the Denon to see what damage was done. Now I had to figure out how to trigger the relays. I ended up switching to 12v wall warts that I had laying around and ordered a smart surge protector from Amazon.

Any idea what damage I did to the AVR and if it is something I can fix?

Archaea and notnyt like this.
sslv2pwned is online now  
post #38 of 45 Old 12-25-2013, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
autox320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
That's great news. Is it the G7L-2A-TUBJ-CB-DC12 from the first link? When clicking the link I get taken to the country page. Could be i'm still in a dirt hole third world internet connection via satellite.

Sounds like the AVR trigger is fried for good. Could possibly open it and find the component you toasted.

I'll have to try this on the EPX just for fun. Ordering a couple more SPST relays for some ep4000's so adding a few DPST in the cart. smile.gif

"I should really see what dB levels I'm pushing. Long as it can't foam my beer during a movie we are ok "
autox320 is offline  
post #39 of 45 Old 12-25-2013, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Here is what I got:

Mouser Part #: 653-G7L-2AJ-DC12
Manufacturer Part #: G7L-2A-TUBJ-CB-DC12
Manufacturer: Omron Electronics
Description: General Purpose Relays DPST-NO 12VDC 25A

http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?R=G7L-2A-TUBJ-CB-DC12virtualkey65300000virtualkey653-G7L-2AJ-DC12
sslv2pwned is online now  
post #40 of 45 Old 12-25-2013, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
autox320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks, just ordered 3 for the EPX amps I'm running.

"I should really see what dB levels I'm pushing. Long as it can't foam my beer during a movie we are ok "
autox320 is offline  
post #41 of 45 Old 03-07-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,595
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 471
How'd this turn out?...it was an interesting experiment to be sure!

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout

My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint

Archaea is online now  
post #42 of 45 Old 06-04-2014, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
runninkyle17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone want to post a dummies guide to this mod. I would love to do this fix, but am hesitant until I better understand exactly what to do smile.gif
runninkyle17 is offline  
post #43 of 45 Old 06-07-2014, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
runninkyle17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone???
runninkyle17 is offline  
post #44 of 45 Old 06-08-2014, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
runninkyle17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Still not anyone who can post in a little more detail???? I figure someone could at least help out. Thanks in advance.
runninkyle17 is offline  
post #45 of 45 Old 06-09-2014, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by runninkyle17 View Post

Still not anyone who can post in a little more detail???? I figure someone could at least help out. Thanks in advance.

Start a new thread with what amp your using and how you would like to trigger it(with what). I'm sure someone will help out.

Don't waste time reading signatures.....
NicksHitachi is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off