New at DIY; looking for advice on my first sub (1st round of questions) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 12-08-2013, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Howdy,

I am thinking about taking the step down the DIY road to build a subwoofer. I have started to read Gorilla83's "New to DIY? FAQ's" sticky and it has a lot of great info (thanks!). As I am starting this path, there are a lot of questions and info to digest (obviously). This post is not to circumvent me learning on my own but to rather point me in the right direction while I dive into simply learning about this project and my options.

For example, I do not even know what type of questions to ask. I am a complete newbie to not only DIY speakers but sound systems in general. That said, I do enjoy building things and appreciate fine craftsmanship.

Currently I have a Klipsch RW-12d (the only sub I've ever own). My room is 20' long x 12' wide x 7.5' high and would mainly be used for home theater.

Should I even an bother making a sub that will match well with my Klipsch RW-12d? Is that one benefit of a DIY sub (ability to match an existing sub)? Is there a general rule of thumb on saving money through a DIY project vs buying from a retailer? I homebrew and know full well that getting into homebrewing to save money is a futile (you'll spend far more money on equipment, time, ingredients, etc. than buying a couple cases of good craft beer). Can the same be said for DIY speakers (wood working equipment aside)?

Thank you in advance,

p.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 12-08-2013, 10:50 PM

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 48