IPR2 Amplifiers Group Buy - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 285 Old 12-30-2013, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 612
Noah - you asked if you could choose exact frequencies on the iNuke - that question is answered with a resounding yes.






Let's hold some discussion on why you should or shouldn't go with the DSP model. I love the iNuke's DSP, but I'm not yet familiar with the Peavey DSP.

Currently I use a Symetrix 551E five band eq and HPF rack mount appliance and have a Behringer Mic 2200 on standby. I like the iNuke DSP better than both of those - but most of the high esteem is the awesome interface and easy USB connection with real time change application. I don't think the Peavey IPR2 has a software interface to the PC right? Using the little LCD screen on the iNuke is a pain in the butt compared to the software interface!

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 285 Old 12-30-2013, 09:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 150
No, I don't believe the Peavey has a PC interface.

So with the USB cable hooked up you can make changes and see them in real time using OmniMic?

If so, nice!

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #93 of 285 Old 12-31-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,268
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

Could you elaborate on the better PS part?

Do you think it would give an audible improvement?

Not exactly, but I see inside the amp where they have seemed to have used a PSB that accounts for larger PS and capacitor banks than those used in the largest (7500) current model. One would assume the crest pro-lites might take advantage of that since the $$ markup would seem to indicate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post

Was this it's f3 point?

Im pretty sure cookie measured it flat lower than that. I think the -3 point was 3-4hz on his unit. IIRC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post

That doesn't seem accurate?

The specs page shows the 7500 IPR2 can be used at 2 ohm stereo. If the 7500 was two 3000 unites bridged it couldn't be used at 2ohm stereo.

http://www.peavey.com/products/index.cfm/item/703/116952/IPR2%26trade%3B%26nbsp%3B7500

Yep, and no, too. In order to get the full power of the amp, you HAVE to use 2 ohm stereo. You can't bridge to 4 ohm mono and get full power, actually not even half. Take a look, 4 ohm mono is like 2650 watts and 4ohm stereo is 2400x2, when 2 ohm stereo is 3750x2.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #94 of 285 Old 12-31-2013, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sibuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 1,940
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by blah450 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sibuna View Post

for those of you that don't want the light show and would rather not open up the amp or use something like a sharpie a product called "Light Dims" may work for you. think window tint that is designed for electronics. you can get it in various shapes and sizes or as a sheet you can cut yourself

http://www.lightdims.com/

this is an example of it in front of my panamax which has the brightest blue LEDs on it that i have ever seen

the 2 circles should be the same brightness but the light dim is placed in front of the one on the left. thats the original 50-80% one


hey, Sibuna...doesn't the Panamax have a "meter lights" button on the front panel that allows you to control the intensity of the light all the way to zilch??

yes you can turn them completely off, i just thought it was a good to use as an example of how much light they dim. I use them on most other things and I am happy with the results
Sibuna is online now  
post #95 of 285 Old 12-31-2013, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Pretty cool idea. Simple solution for a basic problem.
I seem to be able to successfully "tune" them out, but I can see where the bright lights can be distracting to some.

Now, if they only made them for annoying noises!!!!!!!mad.giftongue.gif

jpmst3 is offline  
post #96 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
mt2mt2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'd be interested in a 7500 DSP.
mt2mt2 is offline  
post #97 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
mrevo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
After reading through this entire thread; I am still unclear if a ipr5000 will trip a 20 amp dedicated breaker.
mrevo2u is online now  
post #98 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 612
No, an IPR-5000 in regular theater duty will not trip a 20 amp breaker.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
post #99 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrevo2u View Post

After reading through this entire thread; I am still unclear if a ipr5000 will trip a 20 amp dedicated breaker.

Under normal use, the 7500 will not either.

You would need to be doing some torture testing to make one amp trip a 20A breaker.
I run two CE4000s and a 5x200 amp for my mains with EQ, BD player, etc and have never tripped a 20A breaker. (as shown in avatar)

I hit 120+db peaks during movie watching, but don't do sine wave tests.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #100 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doublewing11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Timber Country!
Posts: 3,747
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmst3 View Post

Under normal use, the 7500 will not either.

You do know this statement was posted in AVS DIY forum? Not everything is NORMAL!!! biggrin.gif
doublewing11 is offline  
post #101 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 12:41 PM
Member
 
subyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
same here, running a 7500 on a 20 amp circuit with a couple other small devices and have never tripped it even running the subs super hot on demo scenes. If you're tripping a 20 amp with only this amp on a circuit I'd swap out the breaker. I have 3 dedicated circuits to my rack but I have 7 pro amps plus all my other components spread across those...all class D amps though.

(3) JTR Noesis 212HT (LCR)
(2) JTR Single 8 (wides)
(2) JTR Slanted 8 (sides)
(2) DIY Eminence 10" coax (rear Surrounds)
(2) JTR Orbit Shifters
(2) Mach5 UXL-18's sealed
(2) Soundsplinter 15's sealed
Speakers powered by 6 crown xls 1500's
UXL's powered by Peavey IPR-7500

My theater:
http://www.avs...
subyguy is offline  
post #102 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Guys - Happy New Year!

Please see the first post with some updated information compliments of BLAH. For the guys that have committed let me know what you all want to do.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #103 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
splotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post

Not exactly, but I see inside the amp where they have seemed to have used a PSB that accounts for larger PS and capacitor banks than those used in the largest (7500) current model. One would assume the crest pro-lites might take advantage of that since the $$ markup would seem to indicate it.
Im pretty sure cookie measured it flat lower than that. I think the -3 point was 3-4hz on his unit. IIRC
Yep, and no, too. In order to get the full power of the amp, you HAVE to use 2 ohm stereo. You can't bridge to 4 ohm mono and get full power, actually not even half. Take a look, 4 ohm mono is like 2650 watts and 4ohm stereo is 2400x2, when 2 ohm stereo is 3750x2.

Can anybody point to pictures of the internals of the Crest and Peavey? I could only find the ones in the fan mod thread, but that's a 5000. Maybe the 7500 takes advantage of the additional space for filtercaps.
splotten is online now  
post #104 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,268
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 381 Post(s)
Liked: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by subyguy View Post

same here, running a 7500 on a 20 amp circuit with a couple other small devices and have never tripped it even running the subs super hot on demo scenes. If you're tripping a 20 amp with only this amp on a circuit I'd swap out the breaker. I have 3 dedicated circuits to my rack but I have 7 pro amps plus all my other components spread across those...all class D amps though.

Yo suby, how hard was it to get the OS to play nicely with your sealed subs? Are you crossing the OS to the sealed down low?
Quote:
Originally Posted by splotten View Post


Can anybody point to pictures of the internals of the Crest and Peavey? I could only find the ones in the fan mod thread, but that's a 5000. Maybe the 7500 takes advantage of the additional space for filtercaps.

I have pics of my amp in the fan mod thread and it is the 7500. It still doesn't take up all the spaces that appear to be available.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #105 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 01:36 PM
Member
 
mrevo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Great news on the 20a breaker. I would be super annoyed if it happened very frequently - and running a dedicated 30a (although possible) would be an epic PIA at my house.
mrevo2u is online now  
post #106 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I run mine on a 20amp breaker, dedicated line. Using 3750 watts on one channel and 2000 watts on the other channel. The only time I trip the breaker is during REW sweeps.

I did actually trip it once playing a song from a KC GTG, but I haven't been able to replicated that once.

Last night I watched Art of Flight, twice, at reference with subs 10db hot. No issues..... and that's some demanding material.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #107 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
splotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Beast

OK. Thanks. I was sure it was the 5000 model. Seems logic then that the more expensive Crest could have the additional caps and perhaps a beefier power supply. I would like to see one though.
splotten is online now  
post #108 of 285 Old 01-01-2014, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by doublewing11 View Post

You do know this statement was posted in AVS DIY forum? Not everything is NORMAL!!! biggrin.gif

Ture enough! biggrin.gif

But, you do have to work at it to get a 20A kick.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #109 of 285 Old 01-02-2014, 03:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve nn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Hey pd can the CS 4000 be part of the buy as a option?

EDIT> or the CS4080hz

Klipsch RB-75
Klipsch C-7
Klipsch RB-35
On-going SW management class
Denon
PS3
steve nn is offline  
post #110 of 285 Old 01-02-2014, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve nn View Post

Hey pd can the CS 4000 be part of the buy as a option?

EDIT> or the CS4080hz

It shouldn't be a problem.

Any more questions RE: pricing on different models is going to have to wait until we are ready to go with the initial order. At that time I can make one last call about any products not yet mentioned.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #111 of 285 Old 01-02-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve nn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Gotcha! Thanks!

Klipsch RB-75
Klipsch C-7
Klipsch RB-35
On-going SW management class
Denon
PS3
steve nn is offline  
post #112 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 141
We have five commitments as of now. Six if I can get Steve his model, and Steve wants to buy it.

The three below- can you please update where you are at? H8TWRK I got your PM.

JBrown - 1
Asu -1
H8TWRK - 1

I'll be sending out PMs late next week with my contact information / mailing address.

To have the payments in to the shop by the due date in the first thread people will have to send their money prior to that date. If one person is late it holds it up for everyone.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #113 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiovideoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Murray KY
Posts: 2,372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Anyone compared this to a FP clone? With warranty and 2ohm reliability these could be great for people that can run a 2ohm load per sub and even 2 drivers equaling 2ohms in some cases.
audiovideoholic is offline  
post #114 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiovideoholic View Post

Anyone compared this to a FP clone? With warranty and 2ohm reliability these could be great for people that can run a 2ohm load per sub and even 2 drivers equaling 2ohms in some cases.

No doubt. With some favorable testing results people would be all over these.

However, I do believe the clones now do 2 ohms as well or at least according to Sanway.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #115 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Stumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I would be one of those people jumping on this, if we can get done legit tests done. I like the warranty, the brand, the efficiency, and the fact that it matches the rest of my amps, but if it doesn't get to 5hz, then the rest of my equipment was purchased for nothing. frown.gif
Stumbo is offline  
post #116 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 612
I'll probably jump in on an IPR 7500. Just a quick question to seal my thoughts on whether or not I want a DSP model or not.

The linkwitz-riley filter that can be applied on the IPR's DSP. Can that be used to make a rising house curve for sealed subs like the minidsp is capable of?

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
post #117 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumbo View Post

I would be one of those people jumping on this, if we can get done legit tests done. I like the warranty, the brand, the efficiency, and the fact that it matches the rest of my amps, but if it doesn't get to 5hz, then the rest of my equipment was purchased for nothing. frown.gif

Agreed. We could probably get closer to the 20 mark with testing...getting the better discount.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #118 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 59
i tested my ipr 7500 when i got it it works at rated power 1 channel at 20hz so about 3700 watts this is RMS it ran like this for about 20s if i remember correct i also tested @ 10hz it was down to 2800 watts RMS. i didn't have time or the resistors to test 2 channel operation and sadly still don't have the time to test any further.

tl:dr 1 channel 2800 watts 10hz , 3700 1 channel 20 hz, no significant roll off
cookieattk is online now  
post #119 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ivan Beaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,639
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookieattk View Post

i tested my ipr 7500 when i got it it works at rated power 1 channel at 20hz so about 3700 watts this is RMS it ran like this for about 20s if i remember correct i also tested @ 10hz it was down to 2800 watts RMS. i didn't have time or the resistors to test 2 channel operation and sadly still don't have the time to test any further.

tl:dr 1 channel 2800 watts 10hz , 3700 1 channel 20 hz, no significant roll off
How did you test it for 20 seconds at 3700 watts without the breaker blowing?

Danley Sound Labs

Physics-not fads
Ivan Beaver is offline  
post #120 of 285 Old 01-05-2014, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan Beaver View Post

How did you test it for 20 seconds at 3700 watts without the breaker blowing?


good question smile.gif b/c i didnt have a 30a breaker at my old house ill go look at my old post i didn't write anything down on my computer at the time so its somewhere on the forum.

but i do remember it clips at 2800w 10hz and i wasn't tripping the breaker after at least 10 secs.
cookieattk is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off