What DIY design? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 17 Old 12-29-2013, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

My room is roughly 12' X 11' X odd triangle. I owned two Dayton Audio 18''HO sealed subs with a EP4000. I bought a omnimic but never bought any sort of DSP. I was never really satisfied with the duel 18s. I was always left wanting more though, in terms of output. I sold them awhile back so now I am wanting to get new subs. After talking to Popalock we tossed around the idea of a GJALLARHORNs or some other type of horn design even discussed a IB setup. . I am a high school student so I don't have the means to drop thousands of dollars on subs. I already own the plans for the Tuba HT horn sub. My neighbor does a ton of cabinet and furniture building as a hobby. I showed him the plans for the Tuba HT and he said it looks like a fun build. He is currently remodeling his shop though and taking a vacation in early February. So he said we wouldn't be able to start a new project until the end of February or early March. I figured this gives me time to really toss around different ideas to figure out what would be the best setup for my room. I am open to whatever you guys think would be best, with my neighbor being able to build anything. Sealed, Ported, and Horn designs are a option. Just putting holes in my ceiling for a IB setup got shot down VERY quickly by my parents. I know building won't start for a few months but this gives me time to order stuff and save up for any projects that are more costly.