Tapped Horn, Ported, or Sealed subwoofer for home theater? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 31 Old 01-12-2014, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Im looking to start a new project and it seems to me that my klipsch s12 is lacking in the low end and sq department. I just built a pair of cornscalas a few months back and am looking to build diysoundgroups new tux10-99 for my center. I guess my question is which one is best suited for my needs. I primarily watch movies but also crank up the music so i would like a sub that is capable of both. I am new to the world of diy so any info is helpful. As far as i know and correct me if im wrong but sealed enclosures are more for a tight space, ported hits the deep bass heard in movies, and the tapped horns take little power to be loud. I honestly dont know much about the tapped horns but they interest me.

Thanks,

ccdline73

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 01-12-2014, 04:50 PM

Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Looks like you've done some research. DIY is definitely the way to go, especially in the subwoofer department. You can save yourself a lot of cash.

Commenting on what you said above, here's my take on it.

Sealed :

Easiest to build, can generally be the smallest enclosure, but can also be just as big as ported / horn subs if needed.

Has potentially the lowest frequency extension, due to the air spring of a box acting like "insurance". One can use multiple sealed subwoofers with or without subsonic filters, and with a bit of eq, get a flat frequency response down under 20hz, to the single digits. There is plenty of movie content below 20hz (where we stop hearing it), but it is up to you whether or not you want to pursue the last few octaves.

"Generally" the most power hungry of the 3 enclosures.

Ported :