Inuke's on sale! - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 640 Old 04-10-2014, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 215

Keep an eye out for a Parts Express coupon, and you can at least save something. I got mine when they had their "Summer" coupon sale, otherwise, SAVE5 almost always works, SAVE10 sometimes works.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 640 Old 04-10-2014, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post

Anyone know of any 6000dsp deals going on right now that best the standard $399 price across the board?

For those that have been following 6000dsp pricing, what has been the lowest price anyone has come across one for in the last several months?

I probably won't need it for another 4-6 weeks, but would like to know the optimal price point to pull the trigger at should I see it.

I just received mine, ordered directly from a music store price was $321 out the door. It was an open box item but seems to working just fine. Had one little scratch on the top but no biggie. Try calling some of the local music stores. I checked online at Guitar Center and they showed one in PA and had the ability to ship.

On a side note, my 3000dsp had the dreaded hum and this 6000dsp has no hum. Interesting.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #543 of 640 Old 04-10-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Is the inuke to DIY sub product of choice? Is the DSP version always better to get for the config options?

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #544 of 640 Old 04-10-2014, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

Is the inuke to DIY sub product of choice? Is the DSP version always better to get for the config options?

I have not been around this forum all too long, but it seems the answer is yes to both of your questions from what I've come to see around here.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #545 of 640 Old 04-10-2014, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

Is the inuke to DIY sub product of choice? Is the DSP version always better to get for the config options?

It really depends on your subwoofers and whether or not you need the DSP functionality. If you do not have a way to EQ your sub the dsp is nice. Feature wise it is pretty good. It will do an analog to digital and digital to analog conversion to use the DSP. This will add latency and in turn change the phase of your sub slightly. That's usually easily fixed by increasing distance of your sub in your AVR. Auto room eq in an AVR will automatically account for this unless you are running multiple subs with different amplifiers and you used the DSP model on some, but not all the subs.

Some may say the additional signal conversion could reduce quality. True or not is for you to decide. For a subwoofer I'd be surprised if most people could hear the difference. But I've never a/b tested it.

The iNuke is one of the higher value options when it comes to amplifier output.

The previous go to amplifier was the EP2500/EP4000 from Behringer which is a copy of a decent quality qsc amplifier. Still a very good option as well.

Other popular options are the LG clone amps FP10000Q and the FP14000, the IPR2 series from peavey and the sister Crest Prolite models, Cerwin Vega CV-2800 / CV-5000, and some of the Crest CC series (CC4000, CC5500) seem to be popular among forum members.
dwaleke is offline  
post #546 of 640 Old 04-10-2014, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post

It really depends on your subwoofers and whether or not you need the DSP functionality. If you do not have a way to EQ your sub the dsp is nice. Feature wise it is pretty good. It will do an analog to digital and digital to analog conversion to use the DSP. This will add latency and in turn change the phase of your sub slightly. That's usually easily fixed by increasing distance of your sub in your AVR. Auto room eq in an AVR will automatically account for this unless you are running multiple subs with different amplifiers and you used the DSP model on some, but not all the subs.

Some may say the additional signal conversion could reduce quality. True or not is for you to decide. For a subwoofer I'd be surprised if most people could hear the difference. But I've never a/b tested it.

The iNuke is one of the higher value options when it comes to amplifier output.

The previous go to amplifier was the EP2500/EP4000 from Behringer which is a copy of a decent quality qsc amplifier. Still a very good option as well.

Other popular options are the LG clone amps FP10000Q and the FP14000, the IPR2 series from peavey and the sister Crest Prolite models, Cerwin Vega CV-2800 / CV-5000, and some of the Crest CC series (CC4000, CC5500) seem to be popular among forum members.

Awesome, im soaking all this in like a sponge... Thanks!

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #547 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazar View Post

Is the inuke to DIY sub product of choice? Is the DSP version always better to get for the config options?

They reign supreme when it comes to bang for buck, especially the 6000DSP when you consider it has the very capable EQ built in.
They are definitely the choice for the budget minded and have performed well regardless.

I would be using them now if it weren't for the dreaded "thump" they emit during shutdown.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #548 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
How much power RMS does the inuke3000dsp put out per channel, per Ohm rating and in Bridged mode, per ohm rating? Have there been tests done?

Also, what is the hum and or thump at shutdown people are talking about?

Thanks!
04rex is offline  
post #549 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 5,607
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 473
Inuke 3000 DSP true power ratings...

about 1100 per channel in 2 ohm
about 600 per channel in 4 ohm
about 280 per channel in 8 ohm

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout

My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint

Archaea is offline  
post #550 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Peak power 20ms/1000Hz
8 Ohm 2x465
4 Ohm 2x870
2 Ohm 2x1700
RMS (sine wave)
8 Ohm 2x312
4 Ohm 2x600 (2x375 after 3 seconds)
2 Ohm 2x1176 (2x750 after 1 second, protect after 5 seconds)


Behringer says:

NU3000 - approx 580W RMS @ 4 ohms per channel
NU3000 - approx 310W RMS @ 8 ohms per channel

Edit: Archaea beat me to it.
dwaleke is offline  
post #551 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
OK, thanks guys. I am looking for about 1,000 RMS @ 4ohms per channel. Is there any iNuke that does that with DSP?
04rex is offline  
post #552 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
NU6000DSP
dwaleke is offline  
post #553 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 31
That's the first time I've read of someone referencing a "thump" at shutdown from one of these units. Is it a common problem that just doesn't get talked about or have only a handful of owners experienced it?
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #554 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post

That's the first time I've read of someone referencing a "thump" at shutdown from one of these units. Is it a common problem that just doesn't get talked about or have only a handful of owners experienced it?

It is very common....Peruse this thread and the 'new sheriff 12000' thread.

The only way to avoid it that I know of is to power it off manually and not use triggers as is common.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #555 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
How much does the 6000 put out per channel @ 4 ohms RMS?
04rex is offline  
post #556 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
A few people have reported it and it appears to happen only with the DSP models. I believe it is when you connect/discount the power without pushing the power switch (triggered by relay).
dwaleke is offline  
post #557 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post

How much does the 6000 put out per channel @ 4 ohms?

~1800->2200 @ 4 ohms per channel.

The 6000 is often referred to as (2) 3000s bridged in one box. So the 4 ohm number per channel what what the 3000 bridged numbers are. When you bridge @ 4 ohms you are essentially adding up the 2 ohm power from both channels and outputing into one channel @ 4 ohms.
dwaleke is offline  
post #558 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post

A few people have reported it and it appears to happen only with the DSP models. I believe it is when you connect/discount the power without pushing the power switch (triggered by relay).

Others have reported it on the NU4 as well, a non-DSP model.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #559 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Dang, thats too much. Looking for around 1,000 rms.
04rex is offline  
post #560 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
dwaleke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post

Dang, thats too much. Looking for around 1,000 rms.

It's never too much. Just turn the input gain down. Amplifier head room is a good thing.
dwaleke is offline  
post #561 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,587
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post

Dang, thats too much. Looking for around 1,000 rms.

You can use the limiter in the DSP model...
laugsbach is offline  
post #562 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04rex View Post

Dang, thats too much. Looking for around 1,000 rms.

Huh?

They have gain knobs...

Is 500hp too much engine for your car? Do you floor it everywhere you go?

You want more than you need. Just don't use all of the available power.

If you are worried about it, get the 3000.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #563 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 07:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
04rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Intredasting
04rex is offline  
post #564 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 5,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmst3 View Post


I would be using them now if it weren't for the dreaded "thump" they emit during shutdown.

It's funny that you mention this because I have two iNuke 6000DSP's that I bought back in February and I've never had either of them make the dreaded "thump" sound.

My Gear:

JTR Noesis 228HT (LCR)
Axiom Audio QS8 surrounds
Sherbourn PA 7-350
Pioneer VSX-21TXH
JVC RS45
Falcon Screens FVHD105
Dual PSA XS30's (gone but not forgotten)
jbrown15 is online now  
post #565 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Same here, with both the 3000dsp and the 6000dsp I have had, neither makes the thump. Both have the ground loop hum but not thump. I think I read somewhere that it has something to do with the way you are powering it, but don't remember the specifics.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #566 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 238
I want an amp that i can plug into a trigger system theoretically... As opposed to leaving it on all the time.

Crown xls for example dont thump even if you power them on without the power button. That's because they have powered relays.

Blazar!
blazar is offline  
post #567 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post

It's funny that you mention this because I have two iNuke 6000DSP's that I bought back in February and I've never had either of them make the dreaded "thump" sound.

But, are using a trigger or the built in power button?
The issue arises when used with trigger.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #568 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 5,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmst3 View Post

But, are using a trigger or the built in power button?
The issue arises when used with trigger.

Ah okay, that's why I don't have a thump. I'd rather push the power button on/off myself then have to put up with a thump noise every time I used my subs.
cessna1466u likes this.

My Gear:

JTR Noesis 228HT (LCR)
Axiom Audio QS8 surrounds
Sherbourn PA 7-350
Pioneer VSX-21TXH
JVC RS45
Falcon Screens FVHD105
Dual PSA XS30's (gone but not forgotten)
jbrown15 is online now  
post #569 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post

Ah okay, that's why I don't have a thump. I'd rather push the power button on/off myself then have to put up with a thump noise every time I used my subs.

Ya, everyone has a different implementation.

I prefer to hit one button on my remote and have the entire A/V signal chain power down, with HDMI 1.4 and triggers it works wonderfully.

Interestingly, the Behringers seem to be the only amp that I have ever owned that exhibit that behavior.

jpmst3 is offline  
post #570 of 640 Old 04-11-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpmst3 View Post

Interestingly, the Behringers seem to be the only amp that I have ever owned that exhibit that behavior.

All of the external pro amps I've used in conjunction with my MiniDSP exhibited this problem. I have a Behringer EPX4000, LG clone FP14K, QSC RMX-5050 and had a Crown (forgot the model number). My solution is to leave the MiniDSP on all the time.
duc135 is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off