Inuke's on sale! - Page 21 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 662 Old 05-03-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

The display itself has a dimmer in the menu functions and I did this for the orange ring around the level knobs. They are from Lowes. $1.89


Another thanks on making this amp
disappear when the lights go dark.


Via Mikes brain/thumb interface, LLAP
mtbdudex is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 662 Old 05-03-2014, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I had a hum/buzz coming from my subs and I have a inuke 6000dsp and I finally tracked it down to my Directv receiver. I checked the dish to make sure it was grounded and it was. I bought this ground loop isolator for $8.99 + shipping and buzz/hum is gone in all subs. Hope this helps someone.

Mike
mbw23air is online now  
post #603 of 662 Old 05-03-2014, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post

I had a hum/buzz coming from my subs and I have a inuke 6000dsp and I finally tracked it down to my Directv receiver. I checked the dish to make sure it was grounded and it was. I bought this ground loop isolator for $8.99 + shipping and buzz/hum is gone in all subs. Hope this helps someone.

Mike

I see it looks like a inline coax, where did you put it in the directv install. I have coax going from the dish to an amplifier to another thing with an ethernet cable to it and then to the box.
cessna1466u is online now  
post #604 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
AlphaPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 313
My inuke3000dsp emitted some serious static during normal use twice today for about 10 secs, then all limiter lights lit up and the amp stopped responding until I turned it off and back on again. Cant find anything on google about this. Below is a video with the static.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ezpVEqNiF20

WTB: CHANE ARX SPEAKERS
Denon 4520CI - Polk 3.0 system (apartment life fml)
Sharp 60" - HTPC - Sony BDP-S1100 - Monster HTS3500
AlphaPie is offline  
post #605 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Claybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Can someone help me with wiring my sub for the 3000? I have 2 SI 18 dual 4 ohm speakers and have no idea how to wire the subs to the speakon connectors.
Claybe is offline  
post #606 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:10 PM
Member
 
moosifee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I used a two-conductor speaker wire, positive into +1 and negative into -1, then the coils are wired in parallel for a nominal 2 ohm load. Repeat for the other channel.
cessna1466u likes this.
moosifee is offline  
post #607 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
I am assuming you are going to run each sub at a 2ohm load and then just wire one to each channel in the amp? This is the wiring for the subwoofer itself. I have the standard 2 pole speakon cnnectors, is that what you have or the 4 pole?

cessna1466u is online now  
post #608 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Claybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I have the 4 pole speakon connectors. So would it be positive to 1+ and negative to 1- ???
Claybe is offline  
post #609 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:25 PM
Member
 
moosifee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I thought that's what I said.
moosifee is offline  
post #610 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claybe View Post

I have the 4 pole speakon connectors. So would it be positive to 1+ and negative to 1- ???

Yes as long as you are not bridging your amplifier or anything fancy like that then yes you wire it like that.

cessna1466u is online now  
post #611 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Also make sure you do the same on the speakon connector you are going to use to plug into that female on the box.
moosifee likes this.
cessna1466u is online now  
post #612 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Claybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thanks. Now if I am not using a computer, what are the recommended settings?
Claybe is offline  
post #613 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
The EQ settings are room specific so no one can really tell you what to set that too but the crossover I set the high pass to 20hz, Butterworth, 12DB slope. The low pass I leave off since my receiver takes care of that.

The Config, I set to Stereo so that I only have to deal with one set of settings (EQ, Crossover, Etc) If you are going to have to set different setting for each sub then you would use Dual Mono. No limiter needed for this Amp and sub combo.
cessna1466u is online now  
post #614 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Claybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Got everything wired up and nothing works. No sound to the sub at all. Any suggestions where to start? I did hook up the computer to it so I can adjust as necessary.
Claybe is offline  
post #615 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

I see it looks like a inline coax, where did you put it in the directv install. I have coax going from the dish to an amplifier to another thing with an ethernet cable to it and then to the box.

I put it after the SWM box coax, which is right before the coax going into my Sat receiver.

Mike
mbw23air is online now  
post #616 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claybe View Post

Got everything wired up and nothing works. No sound to the sub at all. Any suggestions where to start? I did hook up the computer to it so I can adjust as necessary.

Don't know if you got it figured out yet but here is an example of how to wire speakons. I think we had it wrong with the 1+ and 1-. I remember someone else having this issue. Hope it helps.

CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 95
cessna1466u is online now  
post #617 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post

I put it after the SWM box coax, which is right before the coax going into my Sat receiver.

Mike

Thanks Mike, just ordered one. Will be glad to remove the cheater plug. biggrin.gif
cessna1466u is online now  
post #618 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 1192
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post

I put it after the SWM box coax, which is right before the coax going into my Sat receiver.

Mike

Thanks Mike, just ordered one. Will be glad to remove the cheater plug. biggrin.gif

Let me know if it works. I should get rid of my cheater plug soon.
chalugadp is online now  
post #619 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
cessna1466u is online now  
post #620 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1268 Post(s)
Liked: 1192
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

Will do do you have to direcTV or satellite also? Wondering if that's been the problem for everyone?

I have Motorola cable box. My hum noise comes from my parasound amp. Inukes didn't create any.
chalugadp is online now  
post #621 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 3,382
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 459
I had a ground loop a year ago, turns out it was the HDMI cable from the cable box, I connected the coax cable to my power conditioner and that re-grounded it and made the hum go away.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #622 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 06:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Swolephile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Ditched my receiver and got a prepro. All my ground loop buzz problems ended immediately. God bless xlr outputs.
Swolephile is offline  
post #623 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swolephile View Post

Ditched my receiver and got a prepro. All my ground loop buzz problems ended immediately. God bless xlr outputs.

Same here!!

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
post #624 of 662 Old 05-04-2014, 10:19 PM
Member
 
moosifee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

Don't know if you got it figured out yet but here is an example of how to wire speakons. I think we had it wrong with the 1+ and 1-. I remember someone else having this issue. Hope it helps.

I got out my flashlight and glasses, and then I pulled mine apart and had a look, and it's definitely 1+ and 1-. This is on a four-pole connector at the amp end.
moosifee is offline  
post #625 of 662 Old 05-05-2014, 12:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Ok so it might be a receiver issue then. I can't help but feel like we have had this issue before with someone else. Hopefully that person can chime in. You need to make sure you have your subwoofer output on the receiver turned on and at least on 0 to test. What kind of AVR are you using?
cessna1466u is online now  
post #626 of 662 Old 05-12-2014, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbw23air View Post

I had a hum/buzz coming from my subs and I have a inuke 6000dsp and I finally tracked it down to my Directv receiver. I checked the dish to make sure it was grounded and it was. I bought this ground loop isolator for $8.99 + shipping and buzz/hum is gone in all subs. Hope this helps someone.

Mike

IT WORKS!!! Thank you. I received this isolator over the weekend and finally got around to installing it. The hum is gone, no need for a cheater plug and I don't see any change in the picture quality. Thank you for the advice on this.
cessna1466u is online now  
post #627 of 662 Old 05-17-2014, 10:53 PM
Member
 
tgeorge34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

IT WORKS!!! Thank you. I received this isolator over the weekend and finally got around to installing it. The hum is gone, no need for a cheater plug and I don't see any change in the picture quality. Thank you for the advice on this.

So how does this part work?..or better yet how do I install it? This hum is driving me crazy!
tgeorge34 is offline  
post #628 of 662 Old 05-18-2014, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgeorge34 View Post

So how does this part work?..or better yet how do I install it? This hum is driving me crazy!

These didn't work for me. I upgraded to an avr with XLR inputs which are silent.

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
post #629 of 662 Old 05-18-2014, 01:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,819
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post

Another thanks on making this amp
disappear when the lights go dark.


Via Mikes brain/thumb interface, LLAP

Don't the level lights still blind you?

I just ended up covering all the lights with masking tape. It's still bright enough through the tape.
notnyt is online now  
post #630 of 662 Old 05-18-2014, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

Don't the level lights still blind you?

I just ended up covering all the lights with masking tape. It's still bright enough through the tape.

I cover them with black felt, otherwise they are crazy bright.

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off