MartySub Flatpacks - Page 61 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
 
Thread Tools
post #1801 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by majek 60 View Post

How is the accuracy for these subs?

I am seriously considering building 1 or 2, however I have concerns about their performance for music listening and Blu Ray Movies and Concerts.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Majek, look back at the last 58 pages of comments. All good, no complaints about the martys at all. If you get it dialed in right, you get the best of both worlds. I have 2 and listen to about 59% movies and 41% music and love it. I listen to every kind of music. At first I had a really big peak at 30hz and a big drop at about 60hz and the movies where too boomy and the music with bass sound like it was missing something. After adjusting the eq it all blends in nice. I have them crossed over at 110 for and man its nice. It also will depend on which subwoofer you put in there too. I have the SI D2 subs, if you get better subs, it might sound better. If you go to Radio Shack and get a cheapo sub it wont sound as nice. Ask any questions you may have we are all here to help and we enjoy doing it.

Hi , how are your D2 subs wired and powered ??
randyc1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1802 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
They are the D2 subs so they are wired in series at a 4ohm load. I have the 3000dsp and running it in Stereo so I don't have to mess with 2 eqs and 2 crossovers. I have it fully open with no limiter and it says 1250watts but I wouldn't hold my breath on that.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #1803 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Boomassiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18

Without going back through everything, so Dayton HO-4 18" x 2 and an Inuke3000dsp will work?  Are you running the 3000s in 2 ohm stereo for those running 2?  Debating pulling the trigger but probably wont :/

 

ETA.  Also how much acoustic foam are yall using?  I see the type and size in first post but not quantity per sub.

Boomassiv is online now  
post #1804 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 08:00 PM
Member
 
4seahorseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The dayton HO is a single voice coil and will only draw a 4ohm load. If you wait for the dayton um18-22 it is DVC it can be wired at 2 ohm load or check the classifieds for a SI D4 which so can draw 2 ohm. You have to draw a 2 ohm per channel to max out the 3000dsp at 1100w per channel if you are powering two subs.
4seahorseman is offline  
post #1805 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomassiv View Post

Without going back through everything, so Dayton HO-4 18" x 2 and an Inuke3000dsp will work?  Are you running the 3000s in 2 ohm stereo for those running 2?  Debating pulling the trigger but probably wont :/

 

ETA.  Also how much acoustic foam are yall using?  I see the type and size in first post but not quantity per sub.

Get the inuke6000dsp. Then you can run both subs to their max. If you ever upgrade you will have more power for sub.
chalugadp is online now  
post #1806 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Boomassiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18

Thanks, I just noticed the single VC. 

Boomassiv is online now  
post #1807 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 08:12 PM
Member
 
Boomassiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4seahorseman View Post

The dayton HO is a single voice coil and will only draw a 4ohm load. If you wait for the dayton um18-22 it is DVC it can be wired at 2 ohm load or check the classifieds for a SI D4 which so can draw 2 ohm. You have to draw a 2 ohm per channel to max out the 3000dsp at 1100w per channel if you are powering two subs.


I cant remember if it was this or another thread that didn't recommend the UM Daytons......And cant for the life of me think why right now lol.

Boomassiv is online now  
post #1808 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 08:27 PM
Member
 
4seahorseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The dayton UM are 'vapor ware' as Blah would put it, when they arrive from China they may be awesome we just don't know. As Chalugapd said you can get the 6000 and have the same power on the single voice coil .
4seahorseman is offline  
post #1809 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Interesting bit if info...I emailed Stereo Integrity a while back asking about the reason for putting the Home Theatre subs on clearance if it was for a new model or discontinuing them..I just got this response from Nick at SI today:

"We had initially planned on discontinuing the HT line but they sold so well at the discounted price we are now looking at re-stocking them and leaving the price the same. We will not be introducing new lines, only re-stocking the HT series which will take about 3 to 4 months."
rnconync is offline  
post #1810 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
That's good news. Hope they have the d4
chalugadp is online now  
post #1811 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeus33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Interesting bit if info...I emailed Stereo Integrity a while back asking about the reason for putting the Home Theatre subs on clearance if it was for a new model or discontinuing them..I just got this response from Nick at SI today:

"We had initially planned on discontinuing the HT line but they sold so well at the discounted price we are now looking at re-stocking them and leaving the price the same. We will not be introducing new lines, only re-stocking the HT series which will take about 3 to 4 months."

Great news!

Thanks for sharing.
zeus33 is offline  
post #1812 of 2576 Old 03-24-2014, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Question about wiring...
I am using the Emotiva umc200 for my preamp and it is 7.1 but it has one XLR for sub and one RCA for sub(XLR to RCA cable). I am currently using both of those. Would it make any difference to use both XLR cables from Inuke amp and use this
eby3ehuq.jpg
To go to preamp ?
chalugadp is online now  
post #1813 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 05:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Interesting bit if info...I emailed Stereo Integrity a while back asking about the reason for putting the Home Theatre subs on clearance if it was for a new model or discontinuing them..I just got this response from Nick at SI today:

"We had initially planned on discontinuing the HT line but they sold so well at the discounted price we are now looking at re-stocking them and leaving the price the same. We will not be introducing new lines, only re-stocking the HT series which will take about 3 to 4 months."

Sweet, they sold like hot cakes!

If I can't wait that long I might choose the Dayton and inuke 6000
bluer101 is online now  
post #1814 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 05:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15,977
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 856
that's great news for folks. if nick is listening...thanks in advance from the gang.
cessna1466u likes this.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
post #1815 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Claybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

When I had one martycube with si driver the minions could keep up. Now with two and one with uxl driver (will be upgrading to uxl driver in the fall) the minions are lagging behind. The minions lack mid bass and have trouble blending in with subs.

I decided to go with the sealed tempests. They look like this
dy4a7yvy.jpg

They are 4 inches shorter which puts them at perfect level on top of my subs. I like the look of them better then ported and I only need bass from 70hz and above and these do just fine in that area. I am going to put three in . I can put vertical tempest under my TV for cc. I have a special way I am going to finish these. If it works out I will do it on all my speakers. Time to up my game...

Just don't have room for tux , and I have always wanted the tempests.

Edit: I found the build link. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1461315/sealed-tempest-lcr-dual-one-pi-surround

I am wondering if Erich will still do this with the ports cut off? I might do this as well, but that will be determined by the budget. Also, what would happen if you left the ports in and still crossed over at 70hz?
Claybe is offline  
post #1816 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 06:38 AM
Member
 
scstockwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Interesting bit if info...I emailed Stereo Integrity a while back asking about the reason for putting the Home Theatre subs on clearance if it was for a new model or discontinuing them..I just got this response from Nick at SI today:

"We had initially planned on discontinuing the HT line but they sold so well at the discounted price we are now looking at re-stocking them and leaving the price the same. We will not be introducing new lines, only re-stocking the HT series which will take about 3 to 4 months."

Over the weekend I just bought two SI D4s from a fellow member so I could build a couple of MartyCubes next month and thought I was safe and limited to two subs.....now you're telling me I might have to build a couple more in the future....oh my poor family biggrin.gif
scstockwell is offline  
post #1817 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claybe View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

When I had one martycube with si driver the minions could keep up. Now with two and one with uxl driver (will be upgrading to uxl driver in the fall) the minions are lagging behind. The minions lack mid bass and have trouble blending in with subs.

I decided to go with the sealed tempests. They look like this
dy4a7yvy.jpg

They are 4 inches shorter which puts them at perfect level on top of my subs. I like the look of them better then ported and I only need bass from 70hz and above and these do just fine in that area. I am going to put three in . I can put vertical tempest under my TV for cc. I have a special way I am going to finish these. If it works out I will do it on all my speakers. Time to up my game...

Just don't have room for tux , and I have always wanted the tempests.

Edit: I found the build link. http://www.avsforum.com/t/1461315/sealed-tempest-lcr-dual-one-pi-surround

I am wondering if Erich will still do this with the ports cut off? I might do this as well, but that will be determined by the budget. Also, what would happen if you left the ports in and still crossed over at 70hz?
They should sound the same. Ported ones will be strong down to 40 ,sealed to 60-65.
chalugadp is online now  
post #1818 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
carp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,011
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by scstockwell View Post

Over the weekend I just bought two SI D4s from a fellow member so I could build a couple of MartyCubes next month and thought I was safe and limited to two subs.....now you're telling me I might have to build a couple more in the future....oh my poor family biggrin.gif

I have 8 and looking to get 4 more, another member has 16 and looking to go 32. eek.gif It's a sickness. biggrin.gif
carp is offline  
post #1819 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by scstockwell View Post

....oh my poor family biggrin.gif

Your family's okay, it's your HOUSE you have to worry about.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #1820 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 09:54 AM
Member
 
scstockwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

Your family's okay, it's your HOUSE you have to worry about.

lol....ya, I saw some of the videos with furniture moving in another thread....looks like my build checklist needs to include a to-do item for sub-proofing the house!
scstockwell is offline  
post #1821 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

They are the D2 subs so they are wired in series at a 4ohm load. I have the 3000dsp and running it in Stereo so I don't have to mess with 2 eqs and 2 crossovers. I have it fully open with no limiter and it says 1250watts but I wouldn't hold my breath on that.
Not sure i follow ?
So running each at 4ohms , one per channel ? . Inuke says 2x900w @4ohms ?
randyc1 is online now  
post #1822 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post

Not sure i follow ?
So running each at 4ohms , one per channel ? . Inuke says 2x900w @4ohms ?

Sorry it was my mistake, you are right running at 4ohms is only about 950 watts.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #1823 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have a quick question on the DSP on the iNuke amps..I have huge peak at 40-45hz of about +15 to +20 db, I have to set the inukes PEW to -15db (it's max) to even get them close to the readings for the other frequency's. I was reading somewhere that making a negative db adjustment (especially a large one) can kill the power from the amp just as much and giving positive db adjustments. Is it bad that I have -15db in at 40hz and is there anything else I can do to reduce the large spike there? I cannot move the sub to too many other places in the room so I am wondering if there are any other ooptions, or if I am fine with the PEW of -15db at 40hz.

I believe the other PEQ adjustments I have are:
20hz HS12 -4db
20hz PEQ +2.5
63hz +2db
100 PEQ +3
rnconync is offline  
post #1824 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

I have a quick question on the DSP on the iNuke amps..I have huge peak at 40-45hz of about +15 to +20 db, I have to set the inukes PEW to -15db (it's max) to even get them close to the readings for the other frequency's. I was reading somewhere that making a negative db adjustment (especially a large one) can kill the power from the amp just as much and giving positive db adjustments. Is it bad that I have -15db in at 40hz and is there anything else I can do to reduce the large spike there? I cannot move the sub to too many other places in the room so I am wondering if there are any other ooptions, or if I am fine with the PEW of -15db at 40hz.

I believe the other PEQ adjustments I have are:
20hz HS12 -4db
20hz PEQ +2.5
63hz +2db
100 PEQ +3

 

Great question.  i was wondering this myself, as soon i will be eq'ing my room for the 2 marty cubes and the full size. 


Link 1: All 3 Marty subs done, 6 week journey! Link 2: Quick Irule review with pics
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...k-journey.html
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/93-rem...ing-about.html
kevings is online now  
post #1825 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
The main way to reduce spikes is to move sub. I don't believe negative PEQ adjustments effect power from the amp at all. What sucks power from the amp is boosting Low frequency like 20hz.

I am not a pro in this area and feel free to start a new thread asking for help on this issue. I could learn a thing or too myself.
chalugadp is online now  
post #1826 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Also you can use two PEQ settings at 40hz. One for -15 and another at -5 for example.
chalugadp is online now  
post #1827 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

Also you can use two PEQ settings at 40hz. One for -15 and another at -5 for example.
Ah, interesting I did not even think to try that....

If anyone has any more information on the negative PEQ adjustments it would be great to know...I will see if I can find the other thread that mentioned it..I think Bass Addict was the one who mentioned something about it.
rnconync is offline  
post #1828 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here it is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by bass addict View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio Geek View Post

Generally you want to use cuts rather than boosts to flatten out FR, so rather than pushing up the valleys, knock down the hills. It's probably OK to use a little boost (2 or 3 dB), but I would be careful beyond that.


The misconception with this statement is that people don't realize cuts and boost are all the same in the grand scheme of things.

Here's what I mean by this:

Let's say you have a hole at 20hz. So you decide to boost 20hz by 3db's, which requires the amp to work twice as hard. Or you can decide to cut 15 and 30 hz instead to match the null at 20hz. You now need to recalibrate which requires you to raise the overall level to reach reference. In essence you have done the same thing as boosting 20hz.

You just don't want to get crazy in the lower frequency range. A boost of 2-3db's should be perfectly fine, if you judiciously set up your system. A lot of us are boosting 6db's down low with our sealed systems.

I think you are well on your way to getting this thing dialed in.
rnconync is offline  
post #1829 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

Also you can use two PEQ settings at 40hz. One for -15 and another at -5 for example.
Ah, interesting I did not even think to try that....

If anyone has any more information on the negative PEQ adjustments it would be great to know...I will see if I can find the other thread that mentioned it..I think Bass Addict was the one who mentioned something about it.

What he is talking about is the other frequencies being boosted by a cut still cause amp power. You are not boosting because of this cut. Your just cutting.

How will you know that this cutting won't effect amp power. The clipping lights on the Inuke will tell you. Play a loud scene to the point of just clipping red. Then cut 50 hz by 10 and play same scene at same volume. You will see less red clipping light.

Then do same thing and boost 50 hz by 10. You will have red light flashing like a cop car
chalugadp is online now  
post #1830 of 2576 Old 03-25-2014, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

What he is talking about is the other frequencies being boosted by a cut still cause amp power. You are not boosting because of this cut. Your just cutting.

How will you know that this cutting won't effect amp power. The clipping lights on the Inuke will tell you. Play a loud scene to the point of just clipping red. Then cut 50 hz by 10 and play same scene at same volume. You will see less red clipping light.

Then do same thing and boost 50 hz by 10. You will have red light flashing like a cop car
Gotcha....cool
rnconync is offline  
Closed Thread DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off