MartySub Flatpacks - Page 84 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Agree with kevings, wouldn't go more then 1200 watts.
chalugadp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jholzbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks for the input guys. What is the setting for 1200 watts?

I was impressed with how a single one sounded with a 500 watt bash amp at his place.
jholzbauer is offline  
post #2493 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholzbauer View Post

Thanks for the input guys. What is the setting for 1200 watts?

I was impressed with how a single one sounded with a 500 watt bash amp at his place.

93.8Vp is 1099.8 watts in 4ohm bridged mode. 1200 a little more.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2494 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
The more I think about it the more I want to make towers for my fronts. It will be tempests or 1099's converted into towers. All these curved builds have inspired me. I can move the martysub into prime spots and towers as well. I know the performance will be the same in tower form but there is something impressive about towers. The 1099 will have to be significantly better then the tempest to want to do the extra work.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2495 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

The more I think about it the more I want to make towers for my fronts. It will be tempests or 1099's converted into towers. All these curved builds have inspired me. I can move the martysub into prime spots and towers as well. I know the performance will be the same in tower form but there is something impressive about towers. The 1099 will have to be significantly better then the tempest to want to do the extra work.

I prefer towers as well, Donny.

If I do the 1099's at some point, I'm goimg to just make the cabinets the original dimmensions but they will be on a bases that makes them look like towers.
kevings is offline  
post #2496 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Going to spend some of my holiday Monday with sketch up doing some design. The sides will be all one piece with dadoes separating the top from bottom. Sides will be tapered but I'm not sure about the top.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2497 of 2576 Old 04-20-2014, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

93.8Vp is 1099.8 watts in 4ohm bridged mode. 1200 a little more.

100 equals 1250 on the 6000dsp.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #2498 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Got the official price list. Bdft
Western maple 2$
Black walnut 5$
Cherry 6$
Eastern maple 3$
Red oak 3$

Other woods pricy. All these woods finish beautiful. Have two weeks of subs to build and then veneer.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2499 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Thinking of something like this for tower build


Just an initial design. Want something on wide base with sand in it. Like the rounded top.
tgeorge34 likes this.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2500 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 190
cessna1466u is offline  
post #2501 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

Sealed? Or porter out the back?
Ported
chalugadp is offline  
post #2502 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 190
If you were to port it out the back does it change the running/sound? For example like on the mtm if I were to run the ports out of the back?
cessna1466u is offline  
post #2503 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Not sure. Just don't want to see any ports. If I have to I will go sealed. Crossing over at 70hz at lowest so don't need 50hz with my cubes.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2504 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 5,967
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Porting out the back doesn't change anything. Should sound the same. Needs some berthing room though.
tuxedocivic is offline  
post #2505 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Thanks tux.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2506 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Thanks guys I was thinking of ideas with the mtm maybe putting the ports in back and moving everything (mtm) to the edge to give it more of a tower look.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #2507 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 11:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Yukichon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I'm in the very early stages of my HT build. Room will be 18 x 17. Was thinking of going with two Martycubes...will this be overkill for a room that size?
I know that's probably blasphemy in this thread, but I'm looking for a great sound, not to see if I can split the concrete on my drive lol
Yukichon is offline  
post #2508 of 2576 Old 04-21-2014, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukichon View Post

I'm in the very early stages of my HT build. Room will be 18 x 17. Was thinking of going with two Martycubes...will this be overkill for a room that size?
I know that's probably blasphemy in this thread, but I'm looking for a great sound, not to see if I can split the concrete on my drive lol
That's a big room. Two cubes would be about right. For most two cubes would be overkill in a 10 by 10 room. I know some want 8 18s in a small room but I have two cubes in a similar size area and it's great. If I turn it up I can shake the pictures on the wall but 90% of the time it's smooth and effortless.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2509 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 03:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Yukichon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 44
So, my next question is.....I've been reading through your thread and am a little confused on how to get the MC's, what they come with and if a novice like me will be ok to assemble with the right tools? I was thinking of using the Dayton Audio 18" reference subs, would these be ok?
Yukichon is offline  
post #2510 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukichon View Post

So, my next question is.....I've been reading through your thread and am a little confused on how to get the MC's, what they come with and if a novice like me will be ok to assemble with the right tools? I was thinking of using the Dayton Audio 18" reference subs, would these be ok?
Pm sent.
chalugadp is offline  
post #2511 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 11:19 AM
Member
 
digitrip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

Pm sent.

Can I get that same PM? I have the exact same question. Looking to do 1 or 2 Marty's, but not sure of the entire list of things to order/request. Much appreciated!
digitrip is offline  
post #2512 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AlphaPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 325
I'm considering building a second and running them both in stereo off of a single inuke3000. Not sure how much of a change in output from running a single 460ho at 1400 watts..

Marantz SR5008 - Klipsch CF-2 - Morell surrounds - Sharp 60" - Sony BDP-S1100
DIY dual 12" Infinity sealed subs w/ crown xls1000
AlphaPie is offline  
post #2513 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaPie View Post

I'm considering building a second and running them both in stereo off of a single inuke3000. Not sure how much of a change in output from running a single 460ho at 1400 watts..

you will get an improvement with better balanced room coverage with two. Cutting power in half will lose 3dbs and adding second sub with equal power will add 6dbs. You will gain 3dbs instantly and once you upgrade to 6000dsp you will get 6dbs more biggrin.gif
chalugadp is offline  
post #2514 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitrip View Post

Can I get that same PM? I have the exact same question. Looking to do 1 or 2 Marty's, but not sure of the entire list of things to order/request. Much appreciated!

pm sent
chalugadp is offline  
post #2515 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jbrown15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 7,916
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2121 Post(s)
Liked: 1603
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaPie View Post

I'm considering building a second and running them both in stereo off of a single inuke3000. Not sure how much of a change in output from running a single 460ho at 1400 watts..

Are you running the HO off a single channel or is the inuke 3000 bridged?
jbrown15 is offline  
post #2516 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown15 View Post

Are you running the HO off a single channel or is the inuke 3000 bridged?

an inuke 3000 has to be bridged cuz one channel cant put out 1400 watts
chalugadp is offline  
post #2517 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 5,967
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked: 982
If the power stays the same, he will gain 3db only. If the power is cut in half. He will see no gain (in SPL). If he doubles the power somehow and adds the second sub, he'll see 6db gain.

If you have one sub running at max power and you add another sub and feed it max power, then you have increased SPL by 6db (in a perfect world). At that point there is no other way to increase SPL without adding another sub.
tuxedocivic is offline  
post #2518 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuxedocivic View Post

If the power stays the same, he will gain 3db only. If the power is cut in half. He will see no gain (in SPL). If he doubles the power somehow and adds the second sub, he'll see 6db gain.

If you have one sub running at max power and you add another sub and feed it max power, then you have increased SPL by 6db (in a perfect world). At that point there is no other way to increase SPL without adding another sub.

I always get those mixed up. Thanks o wise one;)
chalugadp is offline  
post #2519 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 5,967
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked: 982
I wasn't even sure if you had it mixed up. I just wasn't sure it was clear. SPL addition is confusing and even more confusing when trying to match power cool.gif Hopefully he'll get it one way or the other. smile.gif
tuxedocivic is offline  
post #2520 of 2576 Old 04-22-2014, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,284
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1626 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
I was right in his net gain which is 3dbs for alphapie.
chalugadp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off