3 Danley DTS-10 Modded (TC Sounds LMSR 12 ) plus 2 Othorn - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 90 Old 03-09-2014, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by kutlow View Post

according to REW hdmi is supposed to be the easiest. This is a case of bad software design. It should work when you download the required stuff. Plus whats up with a mic you have to smash to get to plug into. Im just not use to junk

Sounds like a driver issue on your laptop if HDMI audio output is not listed under playback devices. This isn't REW's fault. See this thread.

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Display-and-Video/No-HDMI-audio-out-in-playback-devices-HP-G60-234DX/td-p/181276
notnyt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 90 Old 03-09-2014, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok I was able to get it using the microphone jack and rca cable. Now I need to figure out how to post the graph.
kutlow is offline  
post #63 of 90 Old 03-09-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
BadmanSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
press prntscreen button. open microsoft past. ctrl v. pos screenshot (crop if necessary)
BadmanSound is offline  
post #64 of 90 Old 03-09-2014, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
kutlow is offline  
post #65 of 90 Old 03-09-2014, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
how do I fix that huge suck out 25-50? I cant move my subs . What should I do now?
kutlow is offline  
post #66 of 90 Old 03-09-2014, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
btw, theres a little picture of a camera at the top left of the graph window, you can use that for getting a capture.

As for the dropout, what are the dimensions of your room? Where are the subs located? Where is the listening position?
notnyt is offline  
post #67 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 04:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
my room is 15 foot wide 21 foot deep and the listening position is 14 foot back from the front wall. My 3 danleys are at the front of the room facing the sitting position. I have them behind the screen with the ports firing under the bottom of the screen. I cant move them because no room. I just need to apply filters to make it the best I can.
kutlow is offline  
post #68 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 04:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
this graph is with none of Tom Danleys required filters and everything bypassed including the highpass filter.
kutlow is offline  
post #69 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martycool007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by kutlow View Post

how do I fix that huge suck out 25-50? I cant move my subs . What should I do now?

Have you done the reverse math type thing to see if you have a reflection due to some sort of boundary? I can't remember for the life of me how to do the math to see if you are dealing with a boundary induced reflection....
Martycool007 is online now  
post #70 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 04:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
I'd say make sure all of your subs are wired in phase, but it seems your couch is positioned right at a room node due to the length of the room.

Try measuring 3.5' closer, see if it's smoother.
notnyt is offline  
post #71 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Here is a graph after applying REW filters . We selected a max of 9db on the filters. Audessey is also ran after the filters from REW. Maybe we should set the filters up to say +-12 db and retry to try to get it flatter?



rewminiaudessey.jpg 68k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rewminiaudessey.jpg (68.0 KB, 42 views)
kutlow is offline  
post #72 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,618
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 463
I bet his HDMI cable is directional and it is backwards, if not then it is a computer problem. HDMI allows you to run each channel without moving, 8 individual channels rather than just the right or left plus sub. Now if all you want is to measure the sub than ASIO is not needed. The HDMI also bypasses the sound card in the computer so no cal files needed. That suck out is room or phase related and the reason you feel bass maybe lacking. Does it sound better after the EQ?
MKtheater is offline  
post #73 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
overlay3micpositions.jpg 60k .jpg file


Here is an overlay with the mic in 3 different positions.

The purple is the current ear/chair position
The Green is the mic moved 1 foot closer to the subs

the Yellow Is the mic moved 2 foot closer to the front of the room closer to subs
kutlow is offline  
post #74 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,618
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 463
You just solved your problem, move your seats 1 foot closer.
MKtheater is offline  
post #75 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This is with the seats moved up 1 foot and with Tom Danleys filters vs Tom Danley filters plus audessey. This is with no rew




newseat.jpg 68k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg newseat.jpg (67.7 KB, 42 views)
kutlow is offline  
post #76 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by kutlow View Post

This is with the seats moved up 1 foot and with Tom Danleys filters vs Tom Danley filters plus audessey. This is with no rew




newseat.jpg 68k .jpg file

move it up another foot =]
notnyt is offline  
post #77 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 10:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martycool007 View Post

Is there an easier way of doing measurements, (not counting the Omni-Mic)? I was under the impression that a USB mic and a laptop connected via HDMI was the simplest way if doing this??

Yes, OmniMic

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #78 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 10:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,618
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Nevermind EQ for now, just move the seats where the best response is before any EQ and go from there. Try audyssey first and I not flat then turn off audyssey and then let REW set the EQ filters for you. That should be enough without Audyssey or Audyssey will be enough.
MKtheater is offline  
post #79 of 90 Old 03-10-2014, 10:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,618
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Buying a umik and plugging the computer into the AVR is using REW is just about as easy. The hard part of REW is using analog and external sound cards which you bypass. One just needs to make sure the computer is right. Omni mic uses a disc through your system so you don't have to connect the computer to the AVR.
MKtheater is offline  
post #80 of 90 Old 03-11-2014, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
JohnDean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I just had a umik come from Cross Spectrum yesterday. I can't wait to try it out and have more confidence than using the audyssey mic.
JohnDean is offline  
post #81 of 90 Old 03-11-2014, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDean View Post

I just had a umik come from Cross Spectrum yesterday. I can't wait to try it out and have more confidence than using the audyssey mic.

Take some back-to-back measurements so you can see how close they are wink.gif
notnyt is offline  
post #82 of 90 Old 03-11-2014, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

Nevermind EQ for now, just move the seats where the best response is before any EQ and go from there. Try audyssey first and I not flat then turn off audyssey and then let REW set the EQ filters for you. That should be enough without Audyssey or Audyssey will be enough.

That's exactly what im doing tonight. REW on my last seating position had my amps clipping. Hopefully this will be better.
kutlow is offline  
post #83 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kutlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wetumpka, Al
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I got a question for you guys who know REW. hOW MANY DB do you allow for corrections? I have mine set for 6 but think I need alittle more.
kutlow is offline  
post #84 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 09:33 AM
FOH
AVS Special Member
 
FOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Midwest
Posts: 4,749
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Kutlow,
I'd suggest you use the same graph standards for all measurements, ... as your submitted graphs are wildly different each time (one being 50dB per vertical division eek.gif. )

Typically subwoofer measuring standards for submitted freq response graphs are; 45dB-105dB, 10hz-200hz, this enables others to quickly and easily compare visually.

------------------------------------
Flat, Deep, Clean, Linear, and Loud
------------------------------------
Active 16.8kw, 7.3 system
(3)Seaton Cat12C up front, (4)QSC K8 sides/rears
(2)Seaton SubM-HP, (4)18" IB
FOH is offline  
post #85 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by kutlow View Post

I got a question for you guys who know REW. hOW MANY DB do you allow for corrections? I have mine set for 6 but think I need alittle more.

Depends on what's causing the issue and where it is in the fr band.
notnyt is offline  
post #86 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 01:28 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnDean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post

Take some back-to-back measurements so you can see how close they are wink.gif

What are you trying to say? ;-)

Should I just go ahead and send this one back? Naaa. It's gotta be better than the old style(flat/puck) mic I'm using.
JohnDean is offline  
post #87 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDean View Post

What are you trying to say? ;-)

Should I just go ahead and send this one back? Naaa. It's gotta be better than the old style(flat/puck) mic I'm using.

umik is great, love mine, just saying, would be interesting to take measurements using both mics in the same location/settings. I think they will both be real close =]
notnyt is offline  
post #88 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,618
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 463
How does the lilmike compare?
MKtheater is offline  
post #89 of 90 Old 03-13-2014, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,486
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by MKtheater View Post

How does the lilmike compare?

The linkwitz wm61a design (lilmike) It's much flatter, requires less adjustment on the low end. Possibly good to higher spl levels as well. I shocked the one I had a calibration file for and broke it =[

If I'm measuring in REW I'll just use the umik since I have calibration, but for stuff like speclab which doesn't take a calibration file, the wm61a mic is way better. The older audyssey mics are good too. Something I've noticed is my XT32 mic is much more sensitive than the older XT mic. I'll have to update my measurement mic shootout thread sooner or later.
notnyt is offline  
post #90 of 90 Old 03-14-2014, 06:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,618
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 463
Yes, keep it going for the new stuff. You should have it link in your signature as well. As always good stuff!
MKtheater is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off