rnconync's Martycube build! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 181 Old 03-15-2014, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemans24 View Post

Is that duratex or some other kind of paint?? If it is duratex, how did you prepare it??

Yes. . Duratex. .I spray painted two coats of super cheap .97 cent spray paint then used a small foam paint roller and did about 3 coats
cessna1466u likes this.
rnconync is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 181 Old 03-15-2014, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevings View Post

i like looking at the picture of the old velodyne compared to your new marty....

it's like a calf about to be eaten by a t-rex

: )
hahaha.. yeah. . My wife isn't too fond of the new piece of "furniture" at the moment
rnconync is offline  
post #93 of 181 Old 03-15-2014, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here it is in its new resting place. .I don't think It looks too bad

redrocks likes this.
rnconync is offline  
post #94 of 181 Old 03-15-2014, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here is a close up of the texture I got..pretty close to what I wanted.

rnconync is offline  
post #95 of 181 Old 03-15-2014, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Here it is in its new resting place. .I don't think It looks too bad


If you have any room you might want to move the couch a foot or two away from the sub. Let it breath a bit
chalugadp is offline  
post #96 of 181 Old 03-15-2014, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Here it is in its new resting place. .I don't think It looks too bad


i love puitting subs in the corner....extra boom boom for free:D
kevings is offline  
post #97 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Im really liking the new sub so far and it seems to integrate into my system a lot better than my two old subs. . One thing that I have found interesting is that going through all of my tests like I did with my old subwoofers. .I did not get the slightest headache from the Bass produced by this sub. .. by the time I finished some of my testing with my old subs. . My head hurt and hadn't enjoyed it that much. . This one I get all the bass, rumble and fun at lower volumes and without the headaches.and then if I decide to turn it up..then it gets really fun..haha..so far very pleased with the sub for the money...I have material on the way to make a grill for it. . What is most people's suggested easy of mounting the grill?
rnconync is offline  
post #98 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Im really liking the new sub so far and it seems to integrate into my system a lot better than my two old subs. . One thing that I have found interesting is that going through all of my tests like I did with my old subwoofers. .I did not get the slightest headache from the Bass produced by this sub. .. by the time I finished some of my testing with my old subs. . My head hurt and hadn't enjoyed it that much. . This one I get all the bass, rumble and fun at lower volumes and without the headaches.and then if I decide to turn it up..then it gets really fun..haha..so far very pleased with the sub for the money...I have material on the way to make a grill for it. . What is most people's suggested easy of mounting the grill?

Glad your enjoying it . Have you taken some measurements and eq'd it ?
chalugadp is offline  
post #99 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

Glad your enjoying it . Have you taken some measurements and eq'd it ?
I took a few measurements. .I'll post them in a bit...haven't had a chance to eq it yet...I did put a high pass Butterworth 12 db at 20 hz...I think the is what I read people doing..is this correct? What are most guys doing? What does the 12 db vs other db setting on the Butterworth filter doing?

It seems I cannot eq anything below 33hz is that right?
rnconync is offline  
post #100 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

I took a few measurements. .I'll post them in a bit...haven't had a chance to eq it yet...I did put a high pass Butterworth 12 db at 20 hz...I think the is what I read people doing..is this correct? What are most guys doing? What does the 12 db vs other db setting on the Butterworth filter doing?

It seems I cannot eq anything below 33hz is that right?

You can definitely eq it below 33hz, its tricky and I noticed that if you try to enter the hz in the field it sometimes doesn't affect it. you have to use the dial instead. Its weird. I am sure there is something to it but it seems to work that way for me. I have 28hz at +1 right now. It helped with lowering the peak I had at about 31hz.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #101 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
Its easy to do the eq right on the inuke3000 . When you post your measurements people can help out. You should be able to dial in peq down to 20hz.
chalugadp is offline  
post #102 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 08:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,787
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 528 Post(s)
Liked: 1147
"I noticed that if you try to enter the hz in the field it sometimes doesn't affect it."

after you enter the value. hit enter or tab (I forget which), then it will take. if you just enter it then click on something else, the value might randomly change.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
post #103 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

"I noticed that if you try to enter the hz in the field it sometimes doesn't affect it."

after you enter the value. hit enter or tab (I forget which), then it will take. if you just enter it then click on something else, the value might randomly change.

Ha ha you're a genius that is what's happening. Kept doing that to me and I kept wondering what I was doing wrong. I would enter a frequency go up to change the gain and the frequency would change on me. Lol. Thank you.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #104 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here are my readings with my receiver at an average volume playing tones for 5 seconds from the site chalugadp mentioned. My reciever has xover set to 120hz due to my small mains..only other option beyond that is 160hz.
110hz 85db
100hz 89db
90hz 91db
80hz 87db
65hz 94db
60hz 94db
55hz 96db
50hz 91db
45hz 90db
40hz 99db
35hz 90db
30hz 86db
25hz 84db
20hz 75db
15hz 74db
rnconync is offline  
post #105 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
First do you have all eq off on receiver ?

If so try these peqs
20hz +3
25 +3
40 -8
55 -6
65 -4
90 -3

Then rerun test tones and write down spl numbers. It may take 4-5 times running through the test tones to get it more balanced .
chalugadp is offline  
post #106 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

First do you have all eq off on receiver ?

If so try these peqs
20hz +3
25 +3
40 -8
55 -6
65 -4
90 -3

Then rerun test tones and write down spl numbers. It may take 4-5 times running through the test tones to get it more balanced .

Yes. .I don't believe my receiver eq'd anything. .I have a 4-5 yr old Yama ha receiver...

I will double check and try your suggested settings...and post back..
Thanks
rnconync is offline  
post #107 of 181 Old 03-16-2014, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Yes. .I don't believe my receiver eq'd anything. .I have a 4-5 yr old Yama ha receiver...

I will double check and try your suggested settings...and post back..
Thanks

I have a newer Yamaha and you need to make sure YPAO is off, I had mine on Natural and it was causing all kinds of problems.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #108 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Will
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post

I have a newer Yamaha and you need to make sure YPAO is off, I had mine on Natural and it was causing all kinds of problems.
will do..I'm pretty sure it is off as I have never used it...don't have the mic for it.

Last night we had some family over and watched part of the Lord of the ring the two towers when they blow up the wall and it was pretty dang cool...haha everyone was impressed...
cessna1466u likes this.
rnconync is offline  
post #109 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here are the adjustments I put in place on the PEQ
20hz +6db
25hz +3db
40hz -8db
55hz -6db
65hz -4db
90hz -3db
110hz +3db
120hz +3db

Here are the readings after eq...volume was a little lower on the reciever this time...it was at -20db instead of higher like I had it before. Xover is still at 120hz
140hz 81db
130hz 83db
120hz 80db
110hz 77db
100hz 82db
90hz 83db
80hz 74db
75hz 80db
70hz 81db
65hz 79db
60hz 78db
55hz 80db
50hz 74db
45hz 81db
40hz 87db
35hz 80db
30hz 81db
25hz 81db
20hz 78db
15hz 78db

Did I go too extreme with some of the equalizing?

I was supposed to put these into the PEQ and not the DEQ.. correct? What is the DEQ for?

It seems like I have had a little drop in oomph. .but I boosted the sub level back up on my reciever and seemed to have regained that a little
rnconync is offline  
post #110 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnconync View Post

Here are the adjustments I put in place on the PEQ
20hz +6db
25hz +3db
40hz -8db
55hz -6db
65hz -4db
90hz -3db
110hz +3db
120hz +3db

Here are the readings after eq...volume was a little lower on the reciever this time...it was at -20db instead of higher like I had it before. Xover is still at 120hz
140hz 81db
130hz 83db
120hz 80db
110hz 77db
100hz 82db
90hz 83db
80hz 74db
75hz 80db
70hz 81db
65hz 79db
60hz 78db
55hz 80db
50hz 74db
45hz 81db
40hz 87db
35hz 80db
30hz 81db
25hz 81db
20hz 78db
15hz 78db

Did I go too extreme with some of the equalizing?

I was supposed to put these into the PEQ and not the DEQ.. correct? What is the DEQ for?

It seems like I have had a little drop in oomph. .but I boosted the sub level back up on my reciever and seemed to have regained that a little
Yes peq. Deq is like dynamic eq with audyssey .

Your spl numbers are good. Couple of areas to change
40hz. -3
50hz. +3
80 hz + 2

Right now you have a 13db difference from your low of 74 to high of 87. You want to tighten that up to about 6-7 db ex// low 77 and high of 84.
If your overall bass is lower then you want just turn up bass in your trim level.
beck4353 likes this.
chalugadp is offline  
post #111 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

Yes peq. Deq is like dynamic eq with audyssey .

Your spl numbers are good. Couple of areas to change
40hz. -3
50hz. +3
80 hz + 2

Right now you have a 13db difference from your low of 74 to high of 87. You want to tighten that up to about 6-7 db ex// low 77 and high of 84.
If your overall bass is lower then you want just turn up bass in your trim level.
I seem to only have 8 EQ positions. So if I want to ads the two you mentioned I might have to get rid of the 110 and 120 levels. How do I turn it up in the trim level? Are you referring to the inuke?
How are you setting your sub level compared to the rest of your speakers? I have been using the test tone on my reciever with my spl meter and all my speakers are set to about 75db with the dial on the reciever at 0 db and the sub I usually set to about 80db with its test tone. .
rnconync is offline  
post #112 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
Yes use the 110 and 120 eq spots. The trim level is on your receiver. So your running sub 5db hot already ?
Where are the gains on the inuke ?
chalugadp is offline  
post #113 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

Yes use the 110 and 120 eq spots. The trim level is on your receiver. So your running sub 5db hot already ?
Where are the gains on the inuke ?
Gain knob for channel A is maybe 1 or 2 ticks from max..I'm running it in bridged mode so only using channel A
rnconync is offline  
post #114 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
So you have the limiter on ?
chalugadp is offline  
post #115 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

So you have the limiter on ?
not that I know of. .. How is this set? Only thing I have applied is peq and the high pass Butterworth 12 db filter at 20hz
rnconync is offline  
post #116 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
I forgot your using the inuke 1000. Don't need limiter .. did you remeasure after assigning peqs
chalugadp is offline  
post #117 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rnconync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Does it seem like I am doing something wrong or should I be getting more output from the amp and sub? my reciever sub level is set at about 0 db and gain almost all the way up on the inuke..
I haven't added the 3 new eq in and re measured yet...should hopefully get to it tonight or tomorrow
rnconync is offline  
post #118 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Ok Im back, you have a Yamaha right? I do too and this is how I have mine set up and it seems to working good for now. On the Yamaha I have the sub level at 0. I have the distance set to the correct distance, about 10 feet from me. I have the crossover for it set to 120hz.

On the Beringher I have the gain knobs about -3 from the max setting. What I did was I increased the gain in the crossover section to +1. This with the 0 on the Yamaha gave me that extra umph without having to raise the knobs to full volume on the inuke.

If you are able to connect a laptop to the receiver using some kind of audio input or burn a cd with the test tones to it it might better than using the test tones on the receiver. I know in mine its there for a quick second then its gone.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #119 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,426
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1138 Post(s)
Liked: 1110
Your not eqing to get more.bass . You are trying to even out the peaks and nulls so that you have relatively flat.response . Before eq you had a 10db peak..that could boom boom and give you more bass but uneven. In the end its your sub and you can customize it to your liking. By powering it with the inuke 1000 you are underpowering it somewhat . At full power it needs 1100-1200 watts.
chalugadp is offline  
post #120 of 181 Old 03-17-2014, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Are you connected to the inuke using your computer? If so look under the configuration tab do you see the last square that says Limit in yellow? You might have it limited? It should NOT look like this.

cessna1466u is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off