Basic REW for INUKE - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 24Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2015, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,733
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1066
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2015, 12:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Todd68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I guess people with just a stereo preamp and or pre HDMI processors and laptops cant do this or how can I program the INUKE if I have antique stuff?
Todd68 is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
MrGoomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd68 View Post
I guess people with just a stereo preamp and or pre HDMI processors and laptops cant do this or how can I program the INUKE if I have antique stuff?
Do you not have an inukedsp that has the controls on the actual device?
MrGoomba is offline  
 
Old 09-29-2015, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Todd68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGoomba View Post
Do you not have an inukedsp that has the controls on the actual device?
Yes, I guess I'll need to read the instructions. LOL I don't have the HDMI port on my computer, preamp or processor. Thought HDMI was necessary to do the response testing with the REW program. It's all new to me so I'll just need to read up on it.

Last edited by Todd68; 09-29-2015 at 05:51 AM.
Todd68 is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,733
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1066
Start reading here:
Simplified REW Setup and Use (USB Mic & HDMI Connection) Including Measurement Techniques and How To Interpret Graphs
There's a section on using RCA cables instead of HDMI (and Java instead of ASIO, which makes it easier, too).
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Windham CT
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 116
This may be a dumb question, but I just got asio4all working with REW, and while it's nice to be able to select individual channels for testing, rather than all channels at once like the java setup does, is there a way to select more than one channel at a time with asio4all? It would be nice to be able to say run a sweep with just the front l/r and subs without having to switch back to "java" mode, and then go either disable or unplug the speakers you don't want

Receiver: Emotiva Fusion 8100
Fronts: Klipsch klf-10 / Center: Klipsch klf-c7 / Surrounds: Klipsch klf-10
Subs: Two 18" Dayton PA460's + Paradigm PS-1200
Sub amp: Behringer Inuke3000dsp
Television: Sharp Aquos LC70SQ15U
Cryptic1911 is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Todd68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Start reading here:
Simplified REW Setup and Use (USB Mic & HDMI Connection) Including Measurement Techniques and How To Interpret Graphs
There's a section on using RCA cables instead of HDMI (and Java instead of ASIO, which makes it easier, too).
Michael
Thanks for the link.
Todd68 is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
MrGoomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryptic1911 View Post
This may be a dumb question, but I just got asio4all working with REW, and while it's nice to be able to select individual channels for testing, rather than all channels at once like the java setup does, is there a way to select more than one channel at a time with asio4all? It would be nice to be able to say run a sweep with just the front l/r and subs without having to switch back to "java" mode, and then go either disable or unplug the speakers you don't want
Do you have a guide for setting up asio4all? Seems like a nice tool. I hate disconnecting all my speakers when I only want to runs sweeps on sub.
MrGoomba is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
BCRSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGoomba View Post
Do you have a guide for setting up asio4all? Seems like a nice tool. I hate disconnecting all my speakers when I only want to runs sweeps on sub.
Nothing really to set up in ASIO4ALL. At least I didn't do any setup in it. I installed it and REW saw that it was installed and can use the hdmi drop down list to select which speakers or the subs I want to measure.

The Elusive 1099 (L/C/R)---DIY Volt 10 (surrounds 9.4)---SVS PB 12 Plus---SVS PC 12 Plus---2 DIY 18's sealed--2 Pico Wreckers (tapped horns)---AVR Denon 4311CI---Emotiva Xpa-3---Behringer Nu6000DSP & Nu3000DSP iNuke---TV Vizio 70---110" Motorized Screen---Epson 8350 Projector---Unraid Network Storage---Gateway SX 2370 HTPC with 120 SSD
BCRSS is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
corradizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: near Chicago
Posts: 2,294
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1039 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryptic1911 View Post
This may be a dumb question, but I just got asio4all working with REW, and while it's nice to be able to select individual channels for testing, rather than all channels at once like the java setup does, is there a way to select more than one channel at a time with asio4all? It would be nice to be able to say run a sweep with just the front l/r and subs without having to switch back to "java" mode, and then go either disable or unplug the speakers you don't want
In REW, next to your channel drop down, is another channel drop down. That's how you do two. So to measure left and right select channel 1 and channel 2 to the right, the subs are included automatically.
BCRSS likes this.
corradizo is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Windham CT
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Hm, I'll have to take a look when I get home. There were some other drop downs, but I could swear they were for something else. Maybe I just read it too quickly

Receiver: Emotiva Fusion 8100
Fronts: Klipsch klf-10 / Center: Klipsch klf-c7 / Surrounds: Klipsch klf-10
Subs: Two 18" Dayton PA460's + Paradigm PS-1200
Sub amp: Behringer Inuke3000dsp
Television: Sharp Aquos LC70SQ15U
Cryptic1911 is offline  
Old 09-29-2015, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Windham CT
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGoomba View Post
Do you have a guide for setting up asio4all? Seems like a nice tool. I hate disconnecting all my speakers when I only want to runs sweeps on sub.
I just followed post #171 by corradizo in this thread. Until I saw that, I wasn't even aware that you could use asio4all to separate the channels

Receiver: Emotiva Fusion 8100
Fronts: Klipsch klf-10 / Center: Klipsch klf-c7 / Surrounds: Klipsch klf-10
Subs: Two 18" Dayton PA460's + Paradigm PS-1200
Sub amp: Behringer Inuke3000dsp
Television: Sharp Aquos LC70SQ15U
Cryptic1911 is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 05:11 PM
Member
 
DaleNixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Are the UMIK-1 and the Dayton Audio UMM-6 on par with each other? I'm ready to order either one depending on how long the shipping times are. How long has the shipping time been on the UMIK-1 from miniDSP? I see they are located in Hong Kong. If it's coming from HK I'll just go with Parts Express and get the UMM-6 since they ship within a few days.

Thanks!
DaleNixon is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,816
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 470
Order from Cross Spectrum labs. They include better calibrations and are in the US. Have to see what they have in stock though.
rhodesj is online now  
Old 10-01-2015, 07:07 PM
Member
 
DaleNixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodesj View Post
Order from Cross Spectrum labs. They include better calibrations and are in the US. Have to see what they have in stock though.
Looks like either one shipped is $109 from Cross Spectrum Labs. The Dayton is about $95 at Parts Express.

Is the Spectrum calibration on the UMIK-1 worth $14 and the longer wait on shipping over the Dayton UMM-6 from Parts Express? Thanks!
DaleNixon is offline  
Old 10-01-2015, 07:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Todd68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleNixon View Post
Looks like either one shipped is $109 from Cross Spectrum Labs. The Dayton is about $95 at Parts Express.

Is the Spectrum calibration on the UMIK-1 worth $14 and the longer wait on shipping over the Dayton UMM-6 from Parts Express? Thanks!
I got a UMIK-1 from Amazon, sold by Madisound. The UMIK is $98.00 with free shipping and If you have Prime you can have it in two days for an extra $10.00 or so. At least that was my cost.
Todd68 is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 08:56 AM
Member
 
DaleNixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd68 View Post
I got a UMIK-1 from Amazon, sold by Madisound. The UMIK is $98.00 with free shipping and If you have Prime you can have it in two days for an extra $10.00 or so. At least that was my cost.
Cool...I'll probably get it there.
DaleNixon is offline  
Old 10-02-2015, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I had mine in 2 days from Spectrum Labs.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
Old 11-22-2015, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got my second Marty cube together and wanted to run REW yesterday on my wife's MacBook Pro, but sadly there was no bass being transmitted over HDMI. I played music and test sounds, but no bass. The sub works great with every other source, and even via AirPlay from the Mac.

Anyone have any ideas? There's no EQ on the Mac that I can find, and it worked fine the last time I tried a few months ago.

3D Blurays, Blurays and DVDs for Sale
Digital Movie Codes For Sale
Sony VPL- HW40ES / Sony STR-DN850 / OPPO BDP-103D / 3x DIY Soundgroup 893 / 2x SI HT18 MartyCubes / Behinger iNuke 6000DSP
SageFly is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 05:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vitod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pocono, PA
Posts: 3,702
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Figure I'd ask here. First time I'm going to use REW.

1. With multiple subs, do I measure each sub individually or all of them as one sub? IOW, I have front L&R subs with their own amp. Do I measure one, write down the results and then measure the other?

2. Use REW first and then Audyssey or Audyssey first and then REW?


Thank you!

Panasonic AE-2000, Carada BW 120", Paradigm Studio 40v3 x 2, Paradigm 690v4, Paradigm ADP 470v3 (rears), Micca M-8C x 4, Volt 6 x 2 (SR), SI DS4-18 in 12cuft X 2, Marantz 7702MKII, OPPO 103D, Emotiva XPA-3,
vitod is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 7,733
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1066
You should read through the REW thread, after you read and follow Jerry's guide linked therein:
Simplified REW Setup and Use (USB Mic & HDMI Connection) Including Measurement Techniques and How To Interpret Graphs
You will save many hours of frustration by doing so.
Have fun.
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
corradizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: near Chicago
Posts: 2,294
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1039 Post(s)
Liked: 689
corradizo is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 03:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
1st Cav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 81


Can you guys take a look at my first attempt at REW and let me know if I screwed up? I followed Austin Jerry's guide, along with the Simplified REW thread, and this one, hopefully I didn't completely jackleg it.

The measurement taken is of my Dayton sub 1200 in the main listening position with the mic (umm-6) about 6 inches from the wall that I hope to put my infinite baffle manifold in.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Last edited by 1st Cav; 04-20-2016 at 05:05 AM.
1st Cav is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
corradizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: near Chicago
Posts: 2,294
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1039 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Looks like you got it going! Your goal is to find a spot where the graph looks naturally flat. Your graph there needs to be without smoothing so we can see everything that is going on. Can you make any other spots ? Before doing that, measure the 1200 nearfield so we can understand it's native response and can compare how your room effects that response as you measure all the places you could install your IB. Measuring nearfield means put the tip of the mic about 3 inches from the center of your subs cone.

Measure from 15-300hz for all measurements and set your graph limits from 45db to 105db and from 15hz to 300hz, no smoothing.
1st Cav likes this.
corradizo is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 05:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
1st Cav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by corradizo View Post
Can you make any other spots ?




Sadly I only have one wall to work with, and it's the rear wall at that , but I'm determined to make it work. After taking the nearfield measurement I'll move the mic down the wall in 2ft increments and see which placement gives the best results.



Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
1st Cav is offline  
Old 04-20-2016, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
1st Cav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Nearfield measurement

Click image for larger version

Name:	Nearfield Sub.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	1393514

An overlay of all 4 positions:
Green - 1st position
Blue -2nd position 2ft right of 1st
Black - 3rd position 2ft right of 2nd
Yellow - Final position 2ft right of 3rd

Click image for larger version

Name:	AVS Overlay.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	1393522

I feel like I've done something wrong, even though I have no particular reason to feel that way, I just feel a little too comfortable right now. Which typically means I've screwed something up

Last edited by 1st Cav; 04-21-2016 at 08:37 AM.
1st Cav is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,361
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1670 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
You have a 20db plus range so lots of eq needed. Mainly reducing from 40-70hz and bumping up 20-30hz and 80-100hz.
chalugadp is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
1st Cav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
You have a 20db plus range so lots of eq needed. Mainly reducing from 40-70hz and bumping up 20-30hz and 80-100hz.
The inuke 3000dsp should be sufficient in eq'ing all of those issues correct? Or do I need to purchase an additional eq specific product?
1st Cav is offline  
Old 04-24-2016, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 6,361
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1670 Post(s)
Liked: 1505
Yes. If you have moved sub as much as you can to get less differences then eq time. Most should be pulling down as you don't want to boost more then 3db per peq generally. Try something like 3 db boost at 22, 26. Negative 6dbs at 35,45,55,65 and boost at 75,85,95. That's just a start.
It will take 3-6 adjustments to get it close.

D
chalugadp is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 04:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
corradizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: near Chicago
Posts: 2,294
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1039 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1st Cav View Post
Nearfield measurement

Attachment 1393514

An overlay of all 4 positions:
Green - 1st position
Blue -2nd position 2ft right of 1st
Black - 3rd position 2ft right of 2nd
Yellow - Final position 2ft right of 3rd

Attachment 1393522

I feel like I've done something wrong, even though I have no particular reason to feel that way, I just feel a little too comfortable right now. Which typically means I've screwed something up
Something doesn't seem right. I could be wrong but your graphs look way too similar for being two feet apart along that wall without the mic position changing. Your nearfield is almost identical to the room response except for level.

Outside of the nearfield measurement, I assume your mic was where you sit (mlp), didn't move and you just slid the sub down the wall yes? What kind of mic are you using? If usb mic, when you open the spl meter in rew and hit calibrate does it warn you that you need no calibration (it should tell you that you don't need to calibrate if you have a USB mic)? Could you try facing the driver towards the wall and then away from the wall? And pull some more measurements?
corradizo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off