Connectinge p4000 bridge mode with 2 si18 d4 HELP!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
deathinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, newb question here. I have ep4000 and 2 si18 d4. I want to know how I would wire them to the amp and make my amp pork bridge mode.

Av123 Onix Rockets RS1000 , AV123 RSC200 BIGFOOT, B&W WM6 White, Denon AVR-4311CI 9.2
DIY Stereo Integrity SI 18" Subwoofer X2, HTPC Running XBMC 14TB , Roku HD Player
Sony VPL-VW70 Pojector, Xbox 360 250GB, Yamaha RX-V573
deathinc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
First question I would have is have you wired the subs to make them a 2 ohm sub? Do you have the 2 subs in separate boxes and are you going to run them in separate channels from the amp?
cessna1466u is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
deathinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 2 subs I uave not wired then buy I know I have to run them bridge mode on the ep4000.

Av123 Onix Rockets RS1000 , AV123 RSC200 BIGFOOT, B&W WM6 White, Denon AVR-4311CI 9.2
DIY Stereo Integrity SI 18" Subwoofer X2, HTPC Running XBMC 14TB , Roku HD Player
Sony VPL-VW70 Pojector, Xbox 360 250GB, Yamaha RX-V573
deathinc is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 11:58 AM
Member
 
H8TWRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Childersburg, AL
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16







lf you wire them in series you will have a 2ohm load for the amp. If you wire them in parallel you will have a 8ohm load for the amp.

The EP is not rated for 2ohm bridged. I'm not saying it will not do it, but its not supposed to. Others on here may have done it before.
H8TWRK is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
I don't think that picture works in his case because he has dual 4ohm subs, he needs to figure out how he wants his amp to run. As you stated that amp in not 2ohm stable and I agree with you that he shouldn't run it that way. I think that is why he was told to run the amp in bridged mode. So he would need to run his subs in parallel mode down to 2ohms each then run the 2 subs together in series to raise them together back up to 4ohm mode. Does that make sense or did I screw it up?

So like this:



Then you would connect to the center two posts on the amplifier output. (The red ones) You need to change the dip switches in the back to bridged as well. You also need to get the signal to the amplifer. I don't know on these amplifiers if you need to come into both the A & B Channel or just the A when bridged, someone else might be able to help out with that.
cessna1466u is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 12:45 PM
Member
 
H8TWRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Childersburg, AL
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
OOps, thats on me mad.gif I did't see where he had D4. Sorry

i believe he is looking to series parallel.
H8TWRK is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
LOL, I get excited sometimes when I am actually able to help someone on here since it seems I am the one always getting help, so I tend to miss things as well. I think for this amp this will work better for him. I read on one of his other posts that LTD replied letting him know that in theory the amp can run 2ohm so maybe he should try it as a 2 channel amp doing 2ohm to each sub to see what he gets out of it. I think he would of been better off with the dual 2 subs with this amp so that he could have ran them at 4ohms. But no biggie we work with what we have. biggrin.gif
cessna1466u is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
deathinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks alot I will try do do so.

Av123 Onix Rockets RS1000 , AV123 RSC200 BIGFOOT, B&W WM6 White, Denon AVR-4311CI 9.2
DIY Stereo Integrity SI 18" Subwoofer X2, HTPC Running XBMC 14TB , Roku HD Player
Sony VPL-VW70 Pojector, Xbox 360 250GB, Yamaha RX-V573
deathinc is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
H8TWRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Childersburg, AL
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cessna, I believe when I ran my EP2500 bridged I only used one input. Side "A".
I ran it bridged on one 4ohm Mael-X

You are right about being excited to help someone rather than getting help all the time smile.gif
cessna1466u likes this.
H8TWRK is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

I've been running my EP4000 in 2 ohm stereo for more than a year now with my quad Dayton 15 HF, no problems.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cessna1466u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

I've been running my EP4000 in 2 ohm stereo for more than a year now with my quad Dayton 15 HF, no problems.

Awesome, he as H8TWRK said he would come into the A channel only and then to the two middle red outputs? So all he would need would be 1 RCA to XLR or RCA to 1/4" plug thing. Then to change the dip switches accordingly?
cessna1466u is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by cessna1466u View Post


Awesome, he as H8TWRK said he would come into the A channel only and then to the two middle red outputs? So all he would need would be 1 RCA to XLR or RCA to 1/4" plug thing. Then to change the dip switches accordingly?

 

Yeah

Mrkazador is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 02:26 PM
Member
 
H8TWRK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Childersburg, AL
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I think 2ohm stereo would be ok but the OP wanted to run bridged. Isn't that correct?
H8TWRK is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OPTION A


From Behringer for the EP4000
- 2 x 2,000 Watts into 2 Ohms; 2 x 1,400 Watts into 4 Ohms; 4,000 Watts into 4 Ohms (bridge mode)

As you can see the 2 Ohm stereo is 2,000 watts each side (4,000 watts total) and the 4 Ohm "Bridged" gives you... 4,000 watts total



Do this with each speaker and put 1 speaker at 2 Ohms on each side ...then
"y" the input if you have a mono sub out from your 5.1 source. to each input of the amp.


Advantage would be seperate volume control for each cabinet. If both speakers are in one cabinet then wire for Bridged Rockford Fosgate pic above and use one input and use the dip switches as mentioned.
kroekerta is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-05-2014, 10:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 15,988
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 856
a couple of clarifications and a couple of suggestions.

- that amp will deliver a real world ~2000 watts or so into a bridged 4 ohm load.

- bridged 4 ohm is pretty much the same on that amp as stereo 2 ohm.

- with dual 4 ohm drivers, wiring them in parallel would give 2 ohms per driver.

- connecting one driver to each channel at 2 ohms will give about 1000 watts per channel/1000 watts per driver.

- the amp is pretty much the same as the ep2500 amp that was bench tested by chuck in the "measuring amplifiers" thread.
cessna1466u likes this.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 04-06-2014, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
deathinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 View Post

a couple of clarifications and a couple of suggestions.

- that amp will deliver a real world ~2000 watts or so into a bridged 4 ohm load.

- bridged 4 ohm is pretty much the same on that amp as stereo 2 ohm.

- with dual 4 ohm drivers, wiring them in parallel would give 2 ohms per driver.

- connecting one driver to each channel at 2 ohms will give about 1000 watts per channel/1000 watts per driver.

- the amp is pretty much the same as the ep2500 amp that was bench tested by chuck in the "measuring amplifiers" thread.

So you suggest I that I should wire them to give me 2 ohm load rather than do bridge mode?

Av123 Onix Rockets RS1000 , AV123 RSC200 BIGFOOT, B&W WM6 White, Denon AVR-4311CI 9.2
DIY Stereo Integrity SI 18" Subwoofer X2, HTPC Running XBMC 14TB , Roku HD Player
Sony VPL-VW70 Pojector, Xbox 360 250GB, Yamaha RX-V573
deathinc is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off