DR-250 stack and Yorkvilles U215's! Which one will I like better? - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 422 Old 05-23-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,668
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Just posted a little while ago in the NanoAVR forum how to do the firmware update.
dgage is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 422 Old 05-23-2014, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Yes I saw that thanks.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #363 of 422 Old 05-24-2014, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
REALLY!
It was my HDMI cable, only one works.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #364 of 422 Old 05-24-2014, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Nice!!

JBL Pro Cinema
Reddig is offline  
post #365 of 422 Old 05-24-2014, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Rhino11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New SA Tx resident
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What do you mean the hole time you had the handshake prob it was just the cable. D)
Rhino11 is offline  
post #366 of 422 Old 05-24-2014, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Well I tried all my HDMI cables but the common cable that was in the loop was a redmere cable. I always had a redmere because it was the only one long enough to reach my LP. I had an old 15 footer so I tried that and the first time without a redmere cable in the nano chain. It had a redmere in one input or output all the time. This last time I tried 3 different HDMI cables with no redmere(just lucky this happened) and it worked again. Maybe the nano does not like the boost the redmere gives? I had to sit on the floor with the computer which was not comfortable. I am not finished with the bass management for the new amp in the mix so we will see what tomorrow brings. Maybe the cable at 30 feet was just too long? I did try 6 foot redmere cables as well with no luck. I am sticking with the problem being the boost.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #367 of 422 Old 05-24-2014, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Rhino11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New SA Tx resident
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sounds like it. Glad you got it working.
Rhino11 is offline  
post #368 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
I still run a Redmere from the 7020 to my projector though.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #369 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 193
In case anyone was curious about the inside of a U215:







gpmbc, martinq and Reddig like this.
lukeamdman is online now  
post #370 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,841
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 555 Post(s)
Liked: 1164
cool.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #371 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
stormwind13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Is that a burn mark on the blue mesh?
stormwind13 is offline  
post #372 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by stormwind13 View Post

Is that a burn mark on the blue mesh?

That was my first thought, but it's just where the ceramic magnet of one of the mids makes contact.
lukeamdman is online now  
post #373 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Very cool.

JBL Pro Cinema
Reddig is offline  
post #374 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
The crossovers are badass. The crossovers in my DR's suck in comparison but active EQ was in the design.

It was the HDMI cables as I can get it to work all the time now. Going to listen to my first set of DSP now using the Sunfire amp.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #375 of 422 Old 05-25-2014, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Real good to hear.

JBL Pro Cinema
Reddig is offline  
post #376 of 422 Old 05-26-2014, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
So everything is working and sounding great, however, I still don't know which setup I like better, this or the Sony AVR.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #377 of 422 Old 05-28-2014, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Nate Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hey lukeamdman ,when you had those Yorks apart did you see how the mids were wired? I'm going to be building an elliptical Synergy horn soon and I'm leaning towards 3 mids like they use on the Yorkville version. Trying to figure out how I want to wire them....
Nate Hansen is offline  
post #378 of 422 Old 05-28-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Hansen View Post

Hey lukeamdman ,when you had those Yorks apart did you see how the mids were wired? I'm going to be building an elliptical Synergy horn soon and I'm leaning towards 3 mids like they use on the Yorkville version. Trying to figure out how I want to wire them....

I think they just paralleled from one to the next. It definitely wasn't a series.
lukeamdman is online now  
post #379 of 422 Old 05-28-2014, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Nate Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Thanks, that's kinda how it looks in the pic.
Nate Hansen is offline  
post #380 of 422 Old 05-28-2014, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tuxedocivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ladysmith, BC
Posts: 5,101
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 659
At first I thought the XO was just the stuff attached to the input board. I was looking at it wonder how on earth that would take pro audio power and go three ways. Then I saw the mesh! smile.gif
tuxedocivic is online now  
post #381 of 422 Old 05-28-2014, 07:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
AV Science Sales 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: A beautiful view of a lake
Posts: 8,305
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 521
How is the compression driver attached to the back? I don't see a way to bolt it on?

Mike Garrett, AV Science Sales Call Me: 585-671-2968
Email Me: Mike@AVScience.com
Brands we sell: http://avscience.com/brands/ 
Call for B-stock projectors
Stewart, Seymour, SE, SI, Falcon, DNP & more.
RBH, Martin Logan, Triad, Atlantic Tech., MK Sound, BG Radia, SVS & Def Tech, Denon, Marantz & Yamaha .
AV Science Sales 5 is online now  
post #382 of 422 Old 05-28-2014, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lukeamdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 1,588
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 5 View Post

How is the compression driver attached to the back? I don't see a way to bolt it on?

The compression driver is attached to a board on the inside of the cabinet instead of on the back of the horn.

Take a look at the second-to-last picture. That's the BMS 4550 in the center of that board.
lukeamdman is online now  
post #383 of 422 Old 05-31-2014, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
So I ran BHD F-Irene for the first time ever today and WTF! I felt the pulse and my friggin screen was flexing! I am not sure about my spec lab settings but here it was:


AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #384 of 422 Old 05-31-2014, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Basically I have too much background noise in spec lab. I mean the whole graph is yellow with no sound. It seems like something is wrong with the D/A input and outputs.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #385 of 422 Old 05-31-2014, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 432
RedMere HDMI cable, 24fps, firmware upgrades, factory resets = WOW, just WOW!!!
I'm surprised the Oppo didn't have the same 24hz issue, must be a sony issue, sony must drop the LPCM in 24hz mode.


Have you ran the nanoAVR through RightMark yet?
I'd be curious to see what is raises the noisefloor and THD to compared to Dirac, or my DCX's for EQ processing.


I'm still blown away that the Datasat LS10, and XMC-1, and CX-A5000 have all been made obsolete by HDMI 2.0 and the soon to be Dolby Atmos format of 3D4K@60hz blurays.
LOL, the rate at which the industry has been cooking up new technologies recently just blows my mind, products are intentionally made obsolete months in advance before the previous generation even goes to market!!! rolleyes.gif
BassThatHz is offline  
post #386 of 422 Old 06-01-2014, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chrapladm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,955
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 101
MK are you saying the bass was incredible for you in Irene scene?

I know that movie has extreme bass but I dont have the system to really hear what the audio engineer had in mind.
chrapladm is offline  
post #387 of 422 Old 06-01-2014, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Depends on what extreme bass is. I felt a whoosh of air and pressure while my screen literally flexed! It is the first time I saw it move like that. I am glad it was only seconds. I am also on concrete floors so I would say it felt like the pressure you feel when closing or opening a sticky door.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #388 of 422 Old 06-01-2014, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
I ran that scene at 7 dBs below reference with the subs at reference or 7 dBs hot. Today I will do just a flat at reference scene. I still need to get rid the noise I am getting. Maybe the HDMI cable? This one works with my computer and nano though.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
post #389 of 422 Old 06-01-2014, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 3,208
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Is the noise constant or only with a signal or worse as the signal increases?

Unlikely to be the HDMI cable, as it is transmitting 1's and 0's, and it is hard to change a 0 into a 1 by accident.
(note: Ground loops can still apply to HDMI cables though.)
BassThatHz is offline  
post #390 of 422 Old 06-01-2014, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MKtheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hartford, NY
Posts: 14,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 509
It is there without any signal or no sound.

AVR-Yamaha A830
amps-5 Adcom 555 in 850 watt monoblock mode
sub amp-Sanway FP14K
LCR-Dual stacked BFM DR-250's
Surrounds- Dual stacked BFM W10's
subs-12 SI 18's ported 6hz.
MKtheater is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs
Gear in this thread - DR-250 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off