The wife wants subs - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 109 Old 06-14-2014, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 189
looking good, lemon!
lemonslush likes this.
kevings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 109 Old 06-14-2014, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Question, Where do you put the Speakon hole in the box? In the back behind the port on the side?
lemonslush is offline  
post #33 of 109 Old 06-14-2014, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 881
In the side is easiest but most put it in the back through the port wall to hide it.
chalugadp is offline  
post #34 of 109 Old 06-15-2014, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
In the side is easiest but most put it in the back through the port wall to hide it.
Yes, I thought drilling a hold through the back would be odd and I wouldn't want to drill through the back port all, so Ill probably go on the side. Picking up some poly-fil this weekend and 3m spray glue.

Did you just use flat head wood screws to hold the sub in or something else?


I am almost fished with the box. I need to add the top braces and sad off the wood filler. Drill the hole for my speakon connector. I was thinking about getting this one instead because I don't have a solder.http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

lemonslush is offline  
post #35 of 109 Old 06-15-2014, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 881
I will be posting my video build in a couple of hours and will answer it. #10 by 1.25"
lemonslush likes this.
chalugadp is offline  
post #36 of 109 Old 06-15-2014, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Sweet looking foward to it. Maybe Ill make some popcorn ( I make a mean black truffle popcorn BTW)
lemonslush is offline  
post #37 of 109 Old 06-15-2014, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Saw this thread and first thought 'what a cool wife". People already beat me to posting it though.

Have you decided on what driver you will end up going with and what amp? I suggest one of the inukes with DSP because you will need it. Have you ever used REW? It is a free download and is a super sweet program! Also, do you have any measuring equipment? You could go ahead and get some of that now so you can practice with REW and also see where the best place to put your sub is by using another sub for now. Double check that after you finish your build because your marty sub might want a different spot than the SVS.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #38 of 109 Old 06-15-2014, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 881
My video series is posted lemon. See if your wife wants two minimarty s
lemonslush likes this.
chalugadp is offline  
post #39 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Could I use 1 sub showing a 4ohm load like the dayton and bridge the 3000 with only using 1 channel? So I could get the full 3000 watts from it to the one sub?
lemonslush is offline  
post #40 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 188
When you bridge an amp, you use both channels to do so. That being said, I would not give the Dayton 3000 watts.

MY THEATER......The Thompson Theater 11.9 channels

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #41 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
splotten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
First off my wife really did say
Wife- " I think we need some subs for this room".
Me- "What about an 18"?"
Wife- "No, I think we need two of them".

After dinner today she even asked If I wanted to go to Home Depot to pick up supplies.

....
Watch out my friend! When you are done building you subs she will ask you for some uber expensive handbag, shoes or trip to Venice... ;-)

Good luck weaseling out of that while the walls are rattling :-)
splotten is offline  
post #42 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
She just got a new car so shes happy for the time being, but I can see some new jewelry in her future. She really wants to add a hidden room in our house, like behind a bookshelf so I might have to make that happen as a surprise. She messaged me this link today, dropping her subtile hints http://www.houzz.com/ideabooks/28061...ntent=gallery0. She says it would be good for when we have kids they can play there.
She actualy wants to put it in the upstairs media room (room I am making the subs for). She goes "see we could build the book shelves right here and that would help you out with sound quality right?" Shes a smart cookie.



Quote:
Originally Posted by splotten View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
First off my wife really did say
Wife- " I think we need some subs for this room".
Me- "What about an 18"?"
Wife- "No, I think we need two of them".

After dinner today she even asked If I wanted to go to Home Depot to pick up supplies.

....
Watch out my friend! When you are done building you subs she will ask you for some uber expensive handbag, shoes or trip to Venice... ;-)

Good luck weaseling out of that while the walls are rattling :-)
lemonslush is offline  
post #43 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 10:43 AM
Member
 
FireDust58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
With the Inuke3000, did you get the 4ohm SI and hook them up bridged or parallel?
In my previous post, I lied, I got the SI 18D4. So, I was able to hook each driver up into a 2 ohm load and have each sub driven by its own amp channel so I can tweak the settings independent of each other.

Looks like you were busy this weekend, lookin' good!
FireDust58 is offline  
post #44 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Finished all the braces, and did my coat of primer and one coat of bed liner. Not sure I like how its coming out. I may need to find an alternative.

lemonslush is offline  
post #45 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
kevings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Anaheim / Orange
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
When you bridge an amp, you use both channels to do so. That being said, I would not give the Dayton 3000 watts.
lemon, this is good advice, if you bridge the amp, you MUST use the limiter feature, especially if your to push the volume up.

regarding the enclousre, what exactly are you not liking...the bedliner finish, the box itself, etc. Perhaps what ever is bothering you, can be fixed? So what exactly is it?
kevings is offline  
post #46 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Lots of options, do u have a router ?
chalugadp is offline  
post #47 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
No router but I can get one.
Not sure I like the bed liner , but I will put on a few more coats and see how it comes out. I will need something thicker I think if it doesn't look good.

Could I run a 4 ohm sub briged on 2 channels? To get the full power out of the 3000? I could out two speaker connectors and wire up each to the speaker. Wouldn't that be giving it a 4 ohm load at each channel?
Man why can't the SI just be available

Last edited by lemonslush; 06-16-2014 at 07:13 PM.
lemonslush is offline  
post #48 of 109 Old 06-16-2014, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 188
You could but you would probably blow the Dayton. The Dayton is single voice coil so no need to use two speaker connectors on the box. Wiring both channels in parallel to the sub is called bi amping. Using the positive from one channel and the negative from the other channel is bridging. Being thought the Dayton is single voice coil, it is impossible to change the resistance unless wiring more than one driver in a circuit.
lemonslush likes this.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #49 of 109 Old 06-17-2014, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thanks for all the help guys. Time to order some drivers. Going to grab some of the roll on paint, I think that will fix the problem.

Last edited by lemonslush; 06-17-2014 at 07:01 AM.
lemonslush is offline  
post #50 of 109 Old 06-17-2014, 03:30 PM
Member
 
FireDust58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
No router but I can get one.
Could I run a 4 ohm sub briged on 2 channels? To get the full power out of the 3000? I could out two speaker connectors and wire up each to the speaker. Wouldn't that be giving it a 4 ohm load at each channel?
Man why can't the SI just be available
Yes, you can run a single sub @ 4 ohms bridged for the 3000. Do you plan on getting a 2nd sub in the future?

If you are only hooking up one speaker, than you only need one connector for the box and one cable. If you get a 2nd sub, and want to run those bridged together, then the wiring will get a little more complicated.

The SI is just a few weeks away - if you are really concerned about it, or are leaning towards the SI, just wait for it and you'll be happy. I understand the excitement and "rush" to get it done and fired up, but think about how long you will be enjoying this sub, Will you always look back wishing you did something different?

On the other hand, what is your concern with the Dayton? Just that you won't be getting enough power to it? If so, get the inuke 6000 for $100 more and then your concerns are laid to rest.

Edit: If you are set on getting the Dayton, and concerned about playing it loud, here is what I would do
1 sub = 3000 bridge mode
2 sub = 6000 each sub with it's own channel
lemonslush likes this.

Last edited by FireDust58; 06-17-2014 at 03:36 PM.
FireDust58 is offline  
post #51 of 109 Old 06-17-2014, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireDust58 View Post
Yes, you can run a single sub @ 4 ohms bridged for the 3000. Do you plan on getting a 2nd sub in the future?

If you are only hooking up one speaker, than you only need one connector for the box and one cable. If you get a 2nd sub, and want to run those bridged together, then the wiring will get a little more complicated.

The SI is just a few weeks away - if you are really concerned about it, or are leaning towards the SI, just wait for it and you'll be happy. I understand the excitement and "rush" to get it done and fired up, but think about how long you will be enjoying this sub, Will you always look back wishing you did something different?

On the other hand, what is your concern with the Dayton? Just that you won't be getting enough power to it? If so, get the inuke 6000 for $100 more and then your concerns are laid to rest.

Edit: If you are set on getting the Dayton, and concerned about playing it loud, here is what I would do
1 sub = 3000 bridge mode
2 sub = 6000 each sub with it's own channel
You make all to many valid points. Its really just me being impatient. In the back of my head I want the SI's. I already ordered the inuke3000 this morning from parts express. I did some measurements and my room is about 450 sqr ft with 8 ft ceilings which should be about 3133 cubic feet of space to fill.

How big of a room do you have your two 18's in?
lemonslush is offline  
post #52 of 109 Old 06-17-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
No router but I can get one.
Not sure I like the bed liner , but I will put on a few more coats and see how it comes out. I will need something thicker I think if it doesn't look good.

Could I run a 4 ohm sub briged on 2 channels? To get the full power out of the 3000? I could out two speaker connectors and wire up each to the speaker. Wouldn't that be giving it a 4 ohm load at each channel?
Man why can't the SI just be available
I might have a si18d4 for sale. Will know in a day or two .
chalugadp is offline  
post #53 of 109 Old 06-18-2014, 07:33 AM
Member
 
FireDust58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I just recently moved and don't remember the exact dimensions, but it would have been around 15 X 20 X 9 = 2700. In the back it had an open hallway that went to the rest of the house, so the room was by no means sealed. Prior to building these I had two Klipsch RW-12Ds, and one of these are considerably better than the two of those. Both in output and extension.
lemonslush likes this.
FireDust58 is offline  
post #54 of 109 Old 06-18-2014, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by antisuck View Post
Nothing useful to add, just wanted to say congrats on the awesome wife.


kevings and lemonslush like this.
Rebel975 is offline  
post #55 of 109 Old 06-18-2014, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I did what any grown man did when he can't make a decision. I asked my wife. She said order the SI's so I got two on order. Picked out my fan for the man mod and the odds and ends extra I need to hook them up. Now I need to figure out that REW program and pickup the MDF for the second box. I complained about making a decision between drives so much to my friends one of them actually decided to build his own Martycube Si18. He even pre-ordered his a few days ahead of me.

As for paint I picked up a gallon of the rustolium bed liner, it was almost $50 at walmart but they had two cans in very poor shape. I haggled with the manager and ended up getting 15% off. Best part was the casheer ringing me up asked me what 15% off the total cost would be. Go figure, gata love walmart.
lemonslush is offline  
post #56 of 109 Old 06-18-2014, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel975 View Post



^ this is aweesome
lemonslush is offline  
post #57 of 109 Old 06-19-2014, 04:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 38
This bed liner paint smells horrific. The entire left side of my house stinks of chemicals. I didn't open the garage door so that could primarily be the issue. I hope the smell goes away soon.
lemonslush is offline  
post #58 of 109 Old 06-19-2014, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Rebel975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Interesting. For what it's worth, Duratex has essentially no smell. I used it in my living room once.
Rebel975 is offline  
post #59 of 109 Old 06-19-2014, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
mhutchins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Chaluga, those are some beautiful sub enclosures you crafted!!
mhutchins is offline  
post #60 of 109 Old 06-19-2014, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,459
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhutchins View Post
Chaluga, those are some beautiful sub enclosures you crafted!!
Thanks,
How is your setup sounding ?
chalugadp is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Tags
diy 18" sub inuke

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off