AVS Forum

AVS Forum (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/)
-   DIY Speakers and Subs (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/)
-   -   Help with sealed enclosure for LMS Ultra 5400 (http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/1574938-help-sealed-enclosure-lms-ultra-5400-a.html)

GizzeGutten 06-21-2014 06:36 PM

Help with sealed enclosure for LMS Ultra 5400

2 Attachment(s)
Got two LMS Ultra 5400 and a FP14k clone from Sanway. Using WinISD to estimate but have some questions as I'm a noob.

TC Sounds recommends sealed enclosures of 2.1ft3 (Qtc=.744) and 4ft3 (Qtc=.591).

Planning to build one of these or something in between, and then do a HPF at ~11Hz.

Have plotted these two in WinISD, put signal at 2kW and looking at the excursion chart [after adjusting for (no) leaks (Ql=50) and (no) dampening (Qa=120)] we see this.
Attachment 130066

As can be seen, there is plenty of excursion left with the 2.1ft3 even when pumping 2kW into it, so question is, is it possible to EQ it even more without risking melting the coil?

With the 4ft3 there is not a lot of excursion left at 10 Hz, but as can be seen below, it has more SPL.

Attachment 130074

Which of these would have the tightest bass (will mainly be used for music), and will the difference be very noticable? Thinking about doing xover at around 60 Hz or below.

BassThatHz 06-22-2014 01:38 AM

A bigger box is almost always better.
All a smaller box gains you is less power efficiency and a higher -3db point that must then be EQ'ed with even more power.

There is no such thing as tightness.

Electromagnetic fields travel at the speed of light.
So the length of the speaker wire (and voice coil wire) has practically zero effect on the speed of the field being established or collapsing.
So what causes the cone to move, at all?

Velocity from a start of zero after time t is:
V = A * T^2
Thus how "fast" the cone moves (velocity) is proportional to the acceleration.

Newton's second law:
F = M * A
Thus A = F / M