Help with first DIY: DO SI 18 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 144Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2014, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,604
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Liked: 1165
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambesolman View Post
Thanks, I should be able to handle that. So it looks like 1/4" bolt, nut, a couple of washers and a wingnut?
Was it a 1/4" router bit as well I guess?
The larger router slot will be just bigger then the bolt, and the bolt will need a bit just bigger then it. Get the bolt and screw and then go over to router bits . if the router bit you find is just right size you only need one pass with router. Otherwise you will need two passes.

The advantage of this jig over jasper is you can adjust the size custom. If you want a tight fit for and 8" or 10", driver with hardly any play you can dial it in. Once you find the spot on scrap wood you mark it and its there.

Oh don't use MDF like the picture. It will wear away over time. Use a hardwood like maple or oak. Last you the rest of your life.
ambesolman likes this.
chalugadp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2014, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Thanks Donny!


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-05-2014, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
New twist...

My sister-in-law has a piece of black marble or granite that she said I could have. Could make a nice addition to the top of the sub. Of course she has no idea how big it is but was intended to go in the floor in front of her fireplace. A corner is broken off but may be able to recut it and use it to my advantage. It'd be really nice if it were big enough in case I build a second sub. Will find out this week!


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
Mfusick, LTD02 and chalugadp like this.
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 08:04 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,125
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambesolman View Post
I'm trying to find a jasper jig that will allow for the 18 5/8" circle I want to cut. However, I can't find one that goes bigger than 18 3/16

What are y'all using to cut these larger circles? Got a link?


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž

I just measured out past the 17 1/2" mark on my jasper and drilled a new hole for 18 1/2" using an 1/8" drill bit, worked perfect for all 8 cutouts for the corinthians...
ambesolman and Boxozaxu like this.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

ย 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

ย 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,956
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
I just measured out past the 17 1/2" mark on my jasper and drilled a new hole for 18 1/2" using an 1/8" drill bit, worked perfect for all 8 cutouts for the corinthians...
Cheater!
popalock is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 08:56 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,125
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 994
Hardly What's the new avatar pic? Air particle velocity to the MLP?

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

ย 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

ย 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,956
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Hardly What's the new avatar pic? Air particle velocity to the MLP?
I stole it from here.
popalock is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Boxozaxu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ambesolman View Post
Thanks, I should be able to handle that. So it looks like 1/4" bolt, nut, a couple of washers and a wingnut?
Was it a 1/4" router bit as well I guess?
If you already own the jasper jig and just want a simple solution, screw your router to a long flat board (1/4 hardboard would work) and then drill a pivot hole for the pin. A throw away jig just to keep things rolling.

(You know, beastaudio's suggestion is probably better if you do have room on the jig for an additional hole.)
ambesolman likes this.

Last edited by Boxozaxu; 07-08-2014 at 10:35 AM.
Boxozaxu is online now  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,226
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
I used a home made jig for all my sub box driver holes. Jigsaw is another option but usually not as good.
ambesolman likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Help with first DIY: DO SI 18

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll decide on a method when it gets time to start cutting some holes.



Picking up the marble/granite slab today after work. Once i get the demensions i can redesign the box again if need be. Hoping it's big enough for a whole top (or two) or at least a good size inlay. Gonna have to get it cut on either way. Does HD or Lowes do that?

Last edited by ambesolman; 07-08-2014 at 06:35 PM. Reason: g
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
HD and Lowes don't do that, but found a couple of places nearby that do. Gonna have to ride around with this slab of granite til Thursday when I can take it to get cut up. It's black and brown and should look pretty nice. The usable dimensions are roughly 60x19x1". It's rough around parts so I'm going to get them to cut straight edges with a tiny round over all the way around and cut it in half to give me two equal sizes. This way I'll have a matching piece if I decide to do another box Hopefully I can make it flush with the wood with a little wood filler when the time comes. Just hoping it doesn't cost an arm and a leg to get it done. Either way it should make it look pretty sweet!

Here's some pics!










Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
LTD02 likes this.
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,956
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Man, that is a nice slab'o rock right there.

I'm sure you could make something really nice with that. I personally would want it a few inches wider so I could do a overlay with an inch or two overhang all around, but making an inlay like you mentioned earlier sounds pretty cool. Maybe a bit more advanced than your standard box build, but the potential is there. I've seen people integrate granite into their designs on several different occasions and the added mass helps further dampen the box to reduce vibration, walking, etc..., but I don't think I've ever seen a build on AVS with an actual granite inlay.Anyone else?

Seems like you might possibly have enough to do two DO boxes...
Scott Simonian and ambesolman like this.
popalock is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 11:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Help with first DIY: DO SI 18

Thanks! Yeah a whole top with an overhang would be ideal but it's only about 18" wide so I don't know if it'll be wide enough to do that with the DO 18s and their mounting depths I'll have to play around with the measurements and see what I can figure out.

Edit: yeah definitely not wide enough. The mounting depth is 9.5" per speaker๐Ÿ˜•

Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
LTD02 likes this.

Last edited by ambesolman; 07-09-2014 at 11:31 AM. Reason: ๐Ÿ˜
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gorilla83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 3,591
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 407
Gorilla83 is online now  
Old 07-09-2014, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
You and me both 'rilla! I'll see if the stone cutter can give me any final dimensions tomorrow when I take it in, or at least a good estimate.

I have to work fri-mon then have to leave town for a couple of weeks. While I'm gone I'll finalize the box design, cut sheet and order an amp. When I get back, hopefully the 18s and stone will be waiting on me and I can get cranking on the box! I'm sure I'll have more questions in the meantime


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
LTD02 likes this.
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Went and dropped off the granite slab a few minutes ago. So they'll end up giving me two pieces that are 27.75 x 17.5". They'll smooth the edges and radius all corners. The best part is it's only gonna cost me about $100!!!
Can't wait to see how they turn out


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
LTD02 likes this.
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
Man, that is a nice slab'o rock right there.

I'm sure you could make something really nice with that. I personally would want it a few inches wider so I could do a overlay with an inch or two overhang all around, but making an inlay like you mentioned earlier sounds pretty cool. Maybe a bit more advanced than your standard box build, but the potential is there. I've seen people integrate granite into their designs on several different occasions and the added mass helps further dampen the box to reduce vibration, walking, etc..., but I don't think I've ever seen a build on AVS with an actual granite inlay.Anyone else?

Seems like you might possibly have enough to do two DO boxes...
Not a sub and not an inlay but it does have an awesome baffle: http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...ranite-Baffles
ambesolman likes this.
Maklar is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
popalock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Doha, Qatar
Posts: 3,956
Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 879
Send a message via Skype™ to popalock
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maklar View Post
Not a sub and not an inlay but it does have an awesome baffle: http://techtalk.parts-express.com/sh...ranite-Baffles
Dayum... that's some next level stuff right there!
popalock is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Help with first DIY: DO SI 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by popalock View Post
Dayum... that's some next level stuff right there!

Fershizzle




Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž

Last edited by ambesolman; 07-10-2014 at 09:58 PM. Reason: g
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-11-2014, 07:28 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,125
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 994
I bet that front baffle doesn't flex....

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

ย 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

ย 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Old 07-11-2014, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hah, turns out he did a sub with a granite top too. http://www.baniels.com/granite-subwoofer-top/
Maklar is offline  
Old 07-11-2014, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
That dude does some nice work


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-11-2014, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I believe he works for a granite cutting company so that helps out, still has great skills though.
Maklar is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 03:21 PM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 8,125
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 994
^^^^ No kidding. That is an impressive setup I wouldn't even consider an A-T screen with that type of beauty going on.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

ย 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

ย 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,604
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Liked: 1165
Yeah but that TV is puny
chalugadp is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,852
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
that guy in cali with the quasar builds did something with stone. I'll see if I can find it.

Listen.ย It'sย All Good.
LTD02 is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 05:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16,852
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 1170
LTD02 is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Those are some heavy looking subs! Great find LTD02
Maklar is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,701
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 412 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
^^^^ No kidding. That is an impressive setup I wouldn't even consider an A-T screen with that type of beauty going on.

Yeah, makes me wish I had more free granite

Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
Yeah but that TV is puny

+1



Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still ๐Ÿ‘Ž
ambesolman is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Maklar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: House of the Mouse, FL
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You might be able to get some remnant granite for fairly cheap as well. Lots of times granite stores will sell their left over from cuts a lot cheaper, I'm hoping to do something like that for a living room end table sub.
Maklar is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off